Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 94
  1. #51
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    XMP work in 1009 but not 1203

    On my Z270F with 7700K installed, I have 32GB of G.Skill memory F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW which is on the approved list.

    Results of stock 1009 vs 1203 (only change is ignore monitor of CPU fan because of water cooling):

    1009: Works fine with standard and XMP profile

    1203: Works fine with standard profile (defaults to 2133MHz), but when load XMP, it won't boot. Symptom is that it will hang before video is started or sometimes the display will turn on and show a non-blinking cursor. Nothing further.

    I can repeatedly load either 1009 or 1203, make sure CMOS is cleared, and the results above are easily repeated.

    Why does XMP not work on 1203 when it repeatedly works on 1009?


    Thanks!

  2. #52
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Just FYI, I have 4 sticks of G.Skill F4-3200C16Q-32GVKB on my Z270F and it runs fine on XMP on 1203.

  3. #53
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Hi,
    I have bios ver. 1009 and I never install MEUpdateTool. The question is if I will update to bios ver 1203 do I still need to install MEUpdateTool?

  4. #54
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,762

    Quote Originally Posted by Azzadal View Post
    Hi,
    I have bios ver. 1009 and I never install MEUpdateTool. The question is if I will update to bios ver 1203 do I still need to install MEUpdateTool?
    Hi, as far is my understanding, If you install the 1203 bios, and the latest drivers for IME, and Chipset. is sufficient. no need to install MEUpdateTool. since all changes on those days, are included on the new fix, since are part of those. (my conspiracy theory is that when those meudatetools, was the fist attempt to fix the issue)

    If someone disagree with me please let me know. !!!

  5. #55
    ROG Member Array icapricorn PC Specs
    icapricorn PC Specs
    MotherboardIX Code
    Processori7-7700
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 (FTW)
    MonitorROG SWIFT PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 2Tb SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design - Define S w/Window
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech k800 Wireless Illuminated Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech Wired Trackball
    Headset/Speakers Vizio Smartcast Soundbar
    OS Win 10/64 and (on separate SSD) OS X High Sierra
    Network RouterFios
    Accessory #1 Inateck PCI-E to USB 3.0

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Newbie question. After I updated my IX Code to 1203, I noticed the XMP was disabled and needed to be enabled again. Do I also have to use Fan Xpert to calibrate the fans again? Not sure if a new bios wipes out all settings made by AI Suite 3.

    Thanks

    FYI, I also installed new Chipset and other late December/January 2018 updates posted on the Asus site for my motherboard. Do such updates also require me to enable XMP and run Fan Xpert?
    Last edited by icapricorn; 01-22-2018 at 02:23 PM.

  6. #56
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,373

    Hi icapricorn

    The bios resets to defaults after updating it, you'll need to reenter any changes you've made prior to updating.

    All I did was update the bios to 1203 and update windows 10 fall creators update and I'm protected.

    Here is the Spectre and Meltdown cpu checker.

    https://www.ashampoo.com/en/usd/pin/...wn-cpu-checker

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Meltdown.png 
Views:	82 
Size:	79.3 KB 
ID:	70835

  7. #57
    ROG Member Array icapricorn PC Specs
    icapricorn PC Specs
    MotherboardIX Code
    Processori7-7700
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3200C16W
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 (FTW)
    MonitorROG SWIFT PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 2Tb SSD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseFractal Design - Define S w/Window
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech k800 Wireless Illuminated Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech Wired Trackball
    Headset/Speakers Vizio Smartcast Soundbar
    OS Win 10/64 and (on separate SSD) OS X High Sierra
    Network RouterFios
    Accessory #1 Inateck PCI-E to USB 3.0

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi icapricorn

    The bios resets to defaults after updating it, you'll need to reenter any changes you've made prior to updating.

    All I did was update the bios to 1203 and update windows 10 fall creators update and I'm protected.

    Here is the Spectre and Meltdown cpu checker.

    https://www.ashampoo.com/en/usd/pin/...wn-cpu-checker

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Meltdown.png 
Views:	82 
Size:	79.3 KB 
ID:	70835
    Thanks. Still need a clear statement on Fan Xpert, which is run inside Windows. Does Fax Xpert -- or any changes made in AI Suite 3 -- make changes to the bios, or do the fan settings and AI Suite settings only kick in once Windows loads?

    Now that I've updated the bios, do I need to run Fan Xpert again?
    Last edited by icapricorn; 01-22-2018 at 02:55 PM.

  8. #58
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8


  9. #59
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I've been running 1203 for a week or so and no restart issues and I have a IX formula. In fact I have had no issues what so ever with my board or components. FYI, I cleared my cmos and then updated the bios via the ez flash, or whatever it is called. Download the bios, rename it, then turn off computer. stick the usb in the correct slot, and hit the button. It flashes for a bit and then once it stops start the pc. After some restarts go into bios and enter your settings again (be sure to record settings if desired).
    Last edited by hwnutz; 01-23-2018 at 09:00 AM.

  10. #60
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi icapricorn

    The bios resets to defaults after updating it, you'll need to reenter any changes you've made prior to updating.

    All I did was update the bios to 1203 and update windows 10 fall creators update and I'm protected.

    Here is the Spectre and Meltdown cpu checker.

    https://www.ashampoo.com/en/usd/pin/...wn-cpu-checker

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Meltdown.png 
Views:	82 
Size:	79.3 KB 
ID:	70835
    Thanks a lot for that link, just ran it and I'm good.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •