Page 129 of 166 FirstFirst ... 29 79 119 127 128 129 130 131 139 ... LastLast
Results 1,281 to 1,290 of 1651

Thread: Pg27uq

  1. #1281
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array kevinmaster5000 PC Specs
    kevinmaster5000 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS IX CODE
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-7700K Processor
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 16GB 3000MHz CL15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced Reactor SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X52
    CaseCorsair 570X
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 650W
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    135

    Quote Originally Posted by bubba123 View Post
    of if that's the case phew was really worried there.
    I pretty much suggested this earlier. The US has a much larger population, every company would be much more worried about managing the US than Europe. No American has recieved any sort of email regarding a flash update from their retailer/manufacterer. It is VERY likely to be an EU only problem.

  2. #1282
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    215

    Quote Originally Posted by bubba123 View Post
    of if that's the case phew was really worried there.
    we all don't know by now...

    we could speculate...
    guessing everything...

    but my idea of this subject is,
    that the firmware that marshallR mentioned was the release-FW they worked on until last minute - which is on every sold unit since release...

    and that they are working now on an update for this very firmware...

    everything i know for real is:
    there is a HOLD in selling this monitor not only in germany, but also in spain...
    and that ASUS is inspecting bugs in the firmware related to imagequality and more...
    and they are trying to figure out how big of a problem it is...

    because IF it is a problem that effects a specific batch,
    they have to recall this batch...

    could be only EU, could be specific modelnumbers around the world, could be all PG27UQs sold so far...

    my guess: blackcrush in 4K 144hz 8bit SDR is the problem... and Aura Lightning Effects not working properly...
    and as every sold unit has this problem i kind of believe, every model is effected!

    now the question is,
    at which point in time do newly sold displays have implemented the upcoming firmware,
    and what happens to those units, that only run on the 'buggy' releasedate-Firmware...

    my guess again:
    ASUS GER had decided independently to stop selling,
    to prevent from bad situations...
    and
    ASUS US had decided to figure out first what happens to their models - their userbase and if they have to do a recall too...

    again - just speculating here...
    but everyone pls put their hands up, if you have blackcrush and Aura Light Sync issues...
    Last edited by Sichtwechsel86; 06-25-2018 at 06:46 PM.

  3. #1283
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array kevinmaster5000 PC Specs
    kevinmaster5000 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS IX CODE
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-7700K Processor
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB DDR4 16GB 3000MHz CL15
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
    MonitorSamsung C27HG70
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 500GB
    Storage #2Mushkin Enhanced Reactor SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X52
    CaseCorsair 570X
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 650W
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Mamba Chroma
    Headset Sennheiser PC 363D
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    135

    Quote Originally Posted by Sichtwechsel86 View Post
    we all don't know by now...

    we could speculate...
    guessing everything...

    but my idea of this subject is,
    that the firmware that marshallR mentioned was the release-FW they worked on until last minute - which is on every sold unit since release...

    and that they are working now on an update for this very firmware...

    everything i know for real is:
    there is a HOLD in selling this monitor not only in germany, but also in spain...
    and that ASUS is inspecting bugs in the firmware related to imagequality and more...
    and they are trying to figure out how big of a problem it is...

    because IF it is a problem that effects a specific batch,
    they have to recall this batch...

    could be only EU, could be specific modelnumbers around the world, could be all PG27UQs sold so far...

    my guess: blackcrush in 4K 144hz 8bit SDR is the problem... and Aura Lightning Effects not working properly...
    and as every sold unit has this problem i kind of believe, every model is effected!

    now the question is,
    at which point in time do newly sold displays have implemented the upcoming firmware,
    and what happens to those units, that only run on the 'buggy' releasedate-Firmware...

    my guess again:
    ASUS GER had decided independently to stop selling,
    to prevent from bad situations...
    and
    ASUS US had decided to figure out first what happens to their models - their userbase and if they have to do a recall too...

    again - just speculating here...
    but everyone pls put their hands up, if you have blackcrush and Aura Light Sync issues...
    Unfortunately blackcrush is a DP 1.4 bandwidth issue. DP 1.4 can only do up to 4k 120hz 8bit before having to use DSC, which gives you that as a result.

  4. #1284
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    215

    Quote Originally Posted by kevinmaster5000 View Post
    Unfortunately blackcrush is a DP 1.4 bandwidth issue. DP 1.4 can only do up to 4k 120hz 8bit before having to use DSC, which gives you that as a result.
    no no ... u got it wrong....

    First: this monitor doesn't use DSC!
    DSC adds to inputlag and doesn't work with GSync by now -
    therefore you have to use chroma subsampling!

    the need for chroma subsampling is due to bandwidth limitations...

    the blackcrush is not induced by subsampling...!

    Some info about video-technology:

    RGB norm uses different black-levels
    RGB PC uses shades from 0-255 to represent 256 shades of black to white...
    VIDEO RGB uses shades from 16-235 to represent shades between black and white...

    you also can find that option in your playstation and xbox and in the NVidia control panel
    normally TVs do autodetect what black-level signal they get and adjust themselves!

    If set manually: you have to set your whole chain to the same value...

    limited soure on FULL display - looks washed out
    FULL source on LIMITED display - BLACKCRUSH, because the display clips every black-level-value from 0-15
    LIMITED on LIMITED and FULL on FULL looks as intended...

    the struggle is due to historical differences between PC and Video technology...
    movies use a black-level-range from 16-235 (even UHD BluRays) and PCs do output 0-255
    therefore - watching a movie on a PC and monitor doesn't quite fit the enhanced range of PC system...
    the player has to stretch and adjust the chrominance-range from 16-235 to 0-255 to don't give you a washed out look!

    Now to the chroma-problem:

    historically devs invented YCbCr norm (and subsampling) for broadcasting and video in general because they could save bandwidth...
    also due to historical reasons YCbCr uses LIMITED black-level-range from 16-235...

    chromasubsampling (like 4:2:2) uses YCbCr norm and its limited black level range (shades from 16-235) -
    if your TV/monitor is also set to a black level 'limited' everything should look fine...

    now - here is the problem:

    where my TV has an option to change black-level-ranges,
    to fit the source material...
    this monitor hasn't!
    It autodetects the black-level range...

    and for whatever reason... it does it wrong - and crushes the blacks!
    could be that the NVidia driver has an issue...
    but trying YcbCr with 422 and limited black-level-range on my OLED wasn't a problem...
    could be that the monitor detects limited black-level-range but has mismatched values...

    it should adjust itself to a range 16-235 (where 16 is darkest black and 235 is pure white)
    but it seems like it is crushing every value from 16-20 or so - and you get blackcrush...
    blackcrush is a clipping issue, where certain values are just not displayed...

    so - in short:
    chroma subsampling SHOULD NOT INDUCE blackcrush - it is not normal...
    the need for subsampling is due to bandwidth limitations -
    the blackcrush is not - it's an issue with this monitor not adjusting itself to a limited black-level-range!

  5. #1285
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    I have black crush, but only on sdr. Not on HDR. VID here :

    I am not sure if the crush is supposed to happen at 144hz 4k

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFoYFbllYbg&t=23s

  6. #1286
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by KOT0005 View Post
    I have black crush, but only on sdr. Not on HDR. VID here :

    I am not sure if the crush is supposed to happen at 144hz 4k

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFoYFbllYbg&t=23s
    I wonder if this what the firmware update is for ?

  7. #1287
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    215

    Quote Originally Posted by KOT0005 View Post
    I wonder if this what the firmware update is for ?
    yeah... i raised this question a few posts ago...

    could be - they work on it yet - because they market this monitor as 144hz and it's useless with blackcrush...

    they should definitely fix this!

    and as i explained one post earlier:

    NO IT'S NOT SUPPOSED TO HAPPEN!

    this is clearly an issue! and they better fix it!
    Last edited by Sichtwechsel86; 06-26-2018 at 07:07 AM.

  8. #1288
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    https://www.sweclockers.com/test/259...-och-lite-till

    issue is mentioned here, translate it

  9. #1289
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    UK Buyer here, (Wales)
    Scan has delayed my order stating that the Asus Rep has told them they are worried about QC and want more time to ensure there are no issues due to the high price.
    hopefully a good sign of QC!

  10. #1290
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    200

    Quote Originally Posted by Ragegreeny View Post
    UK Buyer here, (Wales)
    Scan has delayed my order stating that the Asus Rep has told them they are worried about QC and want more time to ensure there are no issues due to the high price.
    hopefully a good sign of QC!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	giphy (1).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	9.8 KB 
ID:	74435

Page 129 of 166 FirstFirst ... 29 79 119 127 128 129 130 131 139 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •