Page 11 of 165 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 61 111 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 1647

Thread: Pg27uq

  1. #101
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    200

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR View Post
    Best to ask your local store. If you have one that is a specialist in high performance or displays they are more likely to stock.

    From ASUS' side we never want to limit a product availability. But sometimes there is a roll-out schedule if supply is limited and ultimately it's always up to our partners to decide whether to stock a product.
    Do you mind creating a separate thread on the intricacies of making this monitor e.g. FALD algorithm, quantum dot, high refresh rate on 4K panel etc.

  2. #102
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array briansu PC Specs
    briansu PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 6th Gen (Dolby Vision screen)
    MotherboardASUS Z270 Maximus IX Formula
    Processori7-7700K 4.5 GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz @ CL 14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2HGST Ultrastar He12 Helium
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy EVO - Gold
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series™ 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Ducky Channel Shine 5 Mechanical Keyboard Cherry MX Switch RGB Lighting - Brown
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed Terra
    OS Window 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Accessory #1 LG BH16NS55
    briansu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    157

    Hmm this article seems to conclude that an 8 Bit monitor is more than enough as the human eye can’t really perceive 10 Bit

    *https://fstoppers.com/education/can-...footage-166977

    https://fstoppers.com/education/can-...footage-166977*

  3. #103
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR View Post
    Best to ask your local store. If you have one that is a specialist in high performance or displays they are more likely to stock.

    From ASUS' side we never want to limit a product availability. But sometimes there is a roll-out schedule if supply is limited and ultimately it's always up to our partners to decide whether to stock a product.
    I actually do not believe that because last year I had to import a UX330CA (aka the fanless i3 one) from Lithuania, as it was - despite being shown as flagship ultrabook on ASUS website - never available in these countries _anywhere_:
    - USA
    - Germany
    - UK
    and I'm pretty sure you are not going to tell me that in these major countries magically all your "partners" at the same time decided they don't want to offer the fanless flagship ultrabook..
    In turn, it _was_ available in..
    - Canada (but with non-english keyboard only, some weird special Canadian layout)
    - France
    - Italy
    - Switzerland
    - Norway
    - Finland
    and a few more I forgot, but only in Estonia and Lithuania it would actually have (US) english keyboard, so that's why I imported from there.
    What the heck that was, I was so baffled, still don't understand. On the plus side, I got the 512 GB (they all have SSD only) version from that lithuanian shop for around 950$ which I considered a pretty good deal.
    Last edited by alporta; 04-09-2018 at 09:20 AM.

  4. #104
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    215

    Quote Originally Posted by briansu View Post
    Hmm this article seems to conclude that an 8 Bit monitor is more than enough as the human eye can’t really perceive 10 Bit

    *https://fstoppers.com/education/can-...footage-166977

    https://fstoppers.com/education/can-...footage-166977*
    well - you definitely can see a difference between a 8 bit panel and a 10bit panel just look at a red-green-blue shades test-pattern -
    one with 256 shades (as with 8 bit panels) and one with 1024 shades (as with 10bit panels)

    make sure to look at the 256 shades pattern on a 8bit panel
    and the 1024 shades pattern on a 10bit panel

    one can absolutely differenciate - even if the difference is just subtle at some frames -
    of course - 8bit also will look good enough to enjoy every content on it!

    But from dark-red to white-red with 254 shades inbetween there are some rough edges and that occurs in worst case as banding!
    With 1022 shades between dark-red and white-red there is less banding and much smoother transition!

    Today i inspectet my OLED TV a bit further -
    connected my gaming-laptop via HDMI2.0 -
    and it occured to my, that one can not switch between rec709 and rec2020

    BUT:
    if you switch HDR on via Windows Display Settings (not Nvidia Control Panel) the TV shows 4K/HDR/rec2020 in it's info-window

    So maybe standard is rec709 and to switch hdr on changes colorspace to rec2020 too...???

    Nvidia Control center was set as followed:

    3840x2160p @ 60hz
    YUV422 10bit

    Can someone confirm this?

  5. #105
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array briansu PC Specs
    briansu PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 6th Gen (Dolby Vision screen)
    MotherboardASUS Z270 Maximus IX Formula
    Processori7-7700K 4.5 GHz
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill Trident Z 3200MHz @ CL 14
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING
    MonitorASUS PG27UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Storage #2HGST Ultrastar He12 Helium
    CPU CoolerEK-Supremacy EVO - Gold
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series™ 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200i Digital ATX Power Supply
    Keyboard Ducky Channel Shine 5 Mechanical Keyboard Cherry MX Switch RGB Lighting - Brown
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Speed Terra
    OS Window 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Accessory #1 LG BH16NS55
    briansu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    157

    Quote Originally Posted by Sichtwechsel86 View Post
    well - you definitely can see a difference between a 8 bit panel and a 10bit panel just look at a red-green-blue shades test-pattern -
    one with 256 shades (as with 8 bit panels) and one with 1024 shades (as with 10bit panels)

    make sure to look at the 256 shades pattern on a 8bit panel
    and the 1024 shades pattern on a 10bit panel

    one can absolutely differenciate - even if the difference is just subtle at some frames -
    of course - 8bit also will look good enough to enjoy every content on it!

    But from dark-red to white-red with 254 shades inbetween there are some rough edges and that occurs in worst case as banding!
    With 1022 shades between dark-red and white-red there is less banding and much smoother transition!

    Today i inspectet my OLED TV a bit further -
    connected my gaming-laptop via HDMI2.0 -
    and it occured to my, that one can not switch between rec709 and rec2020

    BUT:
    if you switch HDR on via Windows Display Settings (not Nvidia Control Panel) the TV shows 4K/HDR/rec2020 in it's info-window

    So maybe standard is rec709 and to switch hdr on changes colorspace to rec2020 too...???

    Nvidia Control center was set as followed:

    3840x2160p @ 60hz
    YUV422 10bit

    Can someone confirm this?
    *

    Hmm OK thanks. If I get a 10 Bit Panel I won’t know what 8 Bit FRC looks like, which is why I prefer to upgrade in steps. *

  6. #106
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    200

    PA32UC review: https://pcmonitors.info/reviews/asus-pa32uc/

    This monitor has quite a similar specs to PG27UQ in term of HDR. Maybe we can expect the same level of FALD performance? I hope it's better though. I'm not really fond of 2 modes of HDR

  7. #107
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    215

    Quote Originally Posted by deadchip12 View Post
    PA32UC review: https://pcmonitors.info/reviews/asus-pa32uc/

    This monitor has quite a similar specs to PG27UQ in term of HDR. Maybe we can expect the same level of FALD performance? I hope it's better though. I'm not really fond of 2 modes of HDR
    The HDR modes are maybe equal to what can be found in TVs?

    HDR bright
    HDR dark

    MarshallR - does the PG27UQ has some of these modes?
    And what about the FALD settings? - what exactly do they do?

  8. #108
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by MarshallR View Post
    I'll try to answer some of the questions..



    It's certainly not cheaper. "IPS" is exclusive to LG. It's a patented and trademarked term. VA is the direct alternative used by Samsung, AUO etc

    The PG27/35 are AHVA displays. The panel used in the 27 is the AUO M270QAN02.2.

    PG27 uses Quantum Dot, yes. At this time I'm not sure if PG35 spec is fully confirmed but I'd expect it to be similar.

    The 10-bit/ultra-fast/DP1.5/HDMI2.1 thought is possibly ~2-3 years away I expect for both panel capability and Nvidia scaler IC inside (not to mention the graphics horsepower to run it). By then you'll be wanting 8K, DP2.0, HDMI 3.0 .... :P

    This display is best suited to anything Pascal generation. If you're intending to play triple-As at 144/4K you will at a minimum need a 1080 Ti and even then how far you're breaking beyond the 60FPS barrier totally depends on the game you play. There's no one to "blame" for this, it's just this is the limits of today's GPU performance. If you're playing older games (which will be non-HDR anyway) or less demanding titles then you'll get more FPS.
    I especially bought a second 1080ti kingpin edition to play 4k/60-90fps but i wonder how much fps i could gain by overclocking both. And far cry 5 require a sli of 1080ti to play in 4k/60fps so i think im in a good path but for how long? i dont know man XD

  9. #109
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    151

    Quote Originally Posted by FurnyQC View Post
    I especially bought a second 1080ti kingpin edition to play 4k/60-90fps but i wonder how much fps i could gain by overclocking both. And far cry 5 require a sli of 1080ti to play in 4k/60fps so i think im in a good path but for how long? i dont know man XD
    you would get a nice increase in fps but nothing like that magic number close 144hz @ 4k what you need in order to get that is 3 titanxp's or 3 1080ti's in modern games I was able to acheive 140+ fps in witcher 3 with titans

  10. #110
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MarshallR PC Specs
    MarshallR PC Specs
    MotherboardR5E10
    Processori7-5960X @ 3.95
    Memory (part number)HyperX 3300CL16 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Strix 1080 Ti OC
    Sound CardSupremeFX
    MonitorASUS PA328Q
    Storage #1SM951 NVMe (OS)
    Storage #2SM941 ACHI (Splash) / 8TB WD Red (Data) / 1TB Samsung 950 Pro (Games Store)
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken x62
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplySeasonic PD750W
    Keyboard G.Skill KM560 (MX Red)
    Mouse ROG Gladius (Gen1) & Sica (Gen1)
    Headset/Speakers Creative T20
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterRT-N16U (120M/10M)
    Accessory #1 2 meters RGB bling
    Accessory #2 iPhone 8Plus + AirPods
    MarshallR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    75

    [QUOTE=Sichtwechsel86;714424
    So maybe standard is rec709 and to switch hdr on changes colorspace to rec2020 too...???
    [/QUOTE]

    The maximum color space available on the PG27UQ is 90% DCI-P3.

    Beyond calibrating the panel, honestly I don't think focusing on color spaces is the best use of a monitor designed to playing games. If you want something geared towards professional, color-sensitive use, then go for PA32UC. The PG27 uses an Nvidia scaler chip specially focused on highest-end gaming applications. The PA uses a professional-grade scaler and LCD construction (which includes FALD) from another manufacturer, so even though they are both 4K HDR monitors with 384-zones of backlighting, they are still quite different. The firmware is still in active development so I don't want to say too much pre-launch about specific options.

    Please remember 3/4-way SLI is no longer in active development beyond benchmarking apps like 3DMark. It will not benefit mainstream games.

    You also don't have to reach 144Hz. Treat it like a top-speed. The whole point of G-Sync (and VRR in general) is you should be able to game smoothly and happily in the 60-144 range: you get the speed benefits of >60, but without hitting the bumpers at 144.

Page 11 of 165 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 13 21 61 111 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •