Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Arczhron PC Specs
    Arczhron PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Hero IX
    Processori7 6700K @ 4.0ghz
    Memory (part number)16 gb DDR4 3200
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix OC 1080ti
    Storage #1Samsung M2 Evo 250 gb
    Storage #2PNY 250 gb SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Graphite 780t
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000w P2

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Motherboard Temperature

    Hey all,
    I have a Asus ROG Hero IX motherboard and I use Corsair Link (updated), to monitor all my temps. On Corsair Link, Temp #5 for the motherboard section stays at 0 then spikes to 127 for a half second then back to zero. I does not repeatably do it, just once in a while. Is this normal? I just want to make sure.

  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Amsterdam PC Specs
    Amsterdam PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus MAXIMUS IX HERO Z270
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K @5.1Mhz
    Memory (part number)D416GB 3000-15 Vengeance LPX bk K2 COR
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070 Ti Turbo
    Monitoriiyama X4071UHSU 40" 4k
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 960 m.2 256GB
    Storage #2ADATA Premier Pro SP900, 256 GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Cooling Hydro Series H115i
    CaseZalman Z9 NEO bk ATX
    Power SupplyCooler Master G750M
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Logitech G9X
    Mouse Pad Sharkoon
    Headset/Speakers Bose Compagnion 5
    OS Windows 10
    Accessory #1 Netgear GS105GE Switch
    Accessory #2 Technicolor TC7210

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    79

    I’ve the same mb, and was testing the latest Corsair link a week ago and saw a lot of bugs, but noting with spikes. Maybe you can install hwmonitor to see if there is a similarity.

    I removed the Corsair link because I hate software that consumed to much CPU usage, which the Corsair link did. Just like the Ai Suite and software to control stuff…. It looks fancy, but mostly crap code behind.

    I’ve connected my radiator fans directly to the mb and use qfan to control it. Also, the usb (water block) looks so crap. I just selected the right color, then disconnected it.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Amsterdam View Post
    I’ve the same mb, and was testing the latest Corsair link a week ago and saw a lot of bugs, but noting with spikes. Maybe you can install hwmonitor to see if there is a similarity.

    I removed the Corsair link because I hate software that consumed to much CPU usage, which the Corsair link did. Just like the Ai Suite and software to control stuff…. It looks fancy, but mostly crap code behind.

    I’ve connected my radiator fans directly to the mb and use qfan to control it. Also, the usb (water block) looks so crap. I just selected the right color, then disconnected it.
    I'm running into the same strange issue as the OP, using an Asus ROG Strix Z270E. I tried that hwmonitor tool and the exact same 0 to scary spiking is going on with Temp #5 in Corsair Link (Shows as TMPIN4 on hwmonitor).

    https://imgur.com/a/L69do
    https://imgur.com/a/dlm2Y
    Last edited by Skypage; 01-29-2018 at 02:53 PM.

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,370

    HWinfo does read Temp 4 and 5 wrong, mine shows 12c.

    I wouldn't be too concerned with it, it's been that way for a long time.

    Click the pic to make it bigger
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	flse readings.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	249.3 KB 
ID:	71004

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    HWinfo does read Temp 4 and 5 wrong, mine shows 12c.

    I wouldn't be too concerned with it, it's been that way for a long time.

    Click the pic to make it bigger
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	flse readings.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	249.3 KB 
ID:	71004
    Strange. You can see in the max column the weirdness I'm running into being picked up by hwmonitor as well. If it's nothing to worry about, that's good to know.

    https://imgur.com/a/GTeos

    I found this topic because I've been trying to track down why I've been having horrible crashes where my system locks up while gaming so badly, the only option is to hard boot, and I wanted to verify whether it's the motherboard that's causing my issues, or if I need to get in contact with Gigabyte about getting an RMA on the video card.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Does anyone have an idea what Temp5(Corsair Link)/TMPIN4(hwmonitor) on the ROG Strix z270e is supposed to be measuring? Out of nowhere it started appearing to actually work correctly for maybe 30 seconds and was showing about 69-70C.

    As an added aside, grabbed a copy of HWiNFO64 and for whatever reason, the temp that's giving me the erratic readings maps to Temp2 on there. Got me as to why, but that's what I'm seeing. :-/
    https://imgur.com/a/osMwk
    Last edited by Skypage; 01-30-2018 at 04:44 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array sdmf74 PC Specs
    sdmf74 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardMAXIMUS IX FORMULA
    ProcessorI7 7700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980TI K|NGP|N
    Graphics Card #2N/A
    Graphics Card #3N/A
    Graphics Card #4N/A
    Sound CardON BOARD
    MonitorASUS PG279Q, BENQ XL2420TE, HISENSE 55H9F
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 PRO M.2 512GB
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 970 EVO PLUS 1TB, SAMSUNG 850 PRO 512GB, SAMSUNG 850 EVO 1TB
    CPU CoolerEK VELOCITY RGB
    CaseCASELABS MERLIN SM8 (2 TONE)
    Power SupplyEVGA 1300G2 SUPERNOVA
    Keyboard WOOTING ONE, DUCKY ONE TKL RGB
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO HERO
    Headset SENNHESIER G4ME ZERO
    Mouse Pad REFLEX LAB XXXL
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PRO MEDIA 2.1
    OS WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC86U, ASUS RT-AC68U
    sdmf74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    301

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    HWinfo does read Temp 4 and 5 wrong, mine shows 12c.

    I wouldn't be too concerned with it, it's been that way for a long time.

    Click the pic to make it bigger
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	flse readings.png 
Views:	18 
Size:	249.3 KB 
ID:	71004
    Hey Nate are you still running the same motherboard / cpu overclock @ 5.2 daily? I was wondering if so how is your cpu holding up after all this time? Any issues or is that not your 24/7 overclock?

    Also can you tell me what temp sensor is the "motherboard" readout on ROG boards, specifically the IX formula/code?
    ASUS Maximus 9 Formula, Intel I7 7700k, EVGA GeForce GTX 980Ti K|ngP|n, G Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    EVGA supernova 1300G2, EK Velocity RGB, Samsung 970 evo plus 1tb, 960 pro 512gb(OS), 850 EVO 1tb, 850 Pro 512gb,
    Asus PG279Q 165HZ, BenQ 144hz, Hisense 55h9f, Windows 10 pro

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •