Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35
  1. #11
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    Thank you

    You might want to let LLC to level 6 and the bump in voltage if that solved the freezing.

    It seems it was the cpu that was unstable.

    Set the CPU Core/Cache voltage to Adaptive then enter 1.180v in the "Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage Override", you can let the offset on auto for now. Then do a test, however much the voltage is going over you can set as a negative offset.

    I'll help you with it, let me know what the voltage is going to with 1.180v and LLC at level 6 while running the test.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rokha88 PC Specs
    Rokha88 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance 3000 Mhz 2 X 8 G
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 2070 Super Mini
    MonitorMSI Optix G27C2 + AOC CQ27G2U
    Storage #1Crucial MX 300 275Go SSD
    Storage #21To Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerScythe Fuma Rev.B X2 Fans
    CaseZalman Z11 plus
    Power SupplyAntec 620W
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you

    You might want to let LLC to level 6 and the bump in voltage if that solved the freezing.

    It seems it was the cpu that was unstable.

    Set the CPU Core/Cache voltage to Adaptive then enter 1.180v in the "Additional Turbo Mode CPU Core Voltage Override", you can let the offset on auto for now. Then do a test, however much the voltage is going over you can set as a negative offset.

    I'll help you with it, let me know what the voltage is going to with 1.180v and LLC at level 6 while running the test.

    Yes, the LLC level was already to 6 as you told me to put it at that level in one of your previous posts. I didn't change it since then.

    So I just did exactly what you told me to put 1.180v in additional turbo mode CPU core voltage override. I didn't change anything else.

    So there it is : https://imgur.com/a/2BEzZ, temps seem still OK and the voltage goes around 1.23v ~

  3. #13
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    It looks stable there but the voltage did jump up a good bit, so let's try an offset.

    Set the offset sign to the negative sign - and enter in -0.050v, then run the test again and see where the voltage is.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    7700K is a hot chip.
    If you want to cool it down and have any chance at OC you will need to delid and replace the toothpaste that intel is using for TIM.
    That's a good one JustinThyme!

    TOOTHPASTE, oh my ribs! LMAO

    On a serious note, I use GELID - GC-Extreme, and it works great.

    You can change settings as instructed, but you really need to change out some of your hardware since you are air cooling, if you want better temps!

    1. The Zalman isn't a good air cooled case - replace with Fractal Design Meshify;

    http://www.fractal-design.com/home/p...hify/meshify-c

    2. Case Fans - Noctua NF-A14 PWM x 2 (Front) - Noctua NF-F12 PWM x 1 (Rear)

    3. Get a Noctua CPU Cooler, here are some models;

    Noctua NH-D15
    https://noctua.at/en/nh-d15

    Noctua NH-D15S
    https://noctua.at/en/nh-d15s

    Noctua NH-U14S - I'd run two fans
    https://noctua.at/en/nh-u14s.html
    Last edited by SlackROG; 01-14-2018 at 11:22 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rokha88 PC Specs
    Rokha88 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance 3000 Mhz 2 X 8 G
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 2070 Super Mini
    MonitorMSI Optix G27C2 + AOC CQ27G2U
    Storage #1Crucial MX 300 275Go SSD
    Storage #21To Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerScythe Fuma Rev.B X2 Fans
    CaseZalman Z11 plus
    Power SupplyAntec 620W
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    It looks stable there but the voltage did jump up a good bit, so let's try an offset.

    Set the offset sign to the negative sign - and enter in -0.050v, then run the test again and see where the voltage is.

    Hey,

    That is done ! But therefore it seems not to have changed many ... There it is : https://imgur.com/a/alOKU

    The temps seem to have come again to a higher level, more than when I was in manual mode, no ?

  6. #16
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,936

    Quote Originally Posted by Rokha88 View Post
    Hello,


    1) I haven't done anything to my RAM settings, I have tried once to set to XMP profile (to get my 3000 MHZ instead of the 2133mhz), but my computer didn't boot anymore properly and I had to set the settings back to "auto"... Since then, no changes to it. I'm quite surprised that would be due to this as PUBG always worked perfectly until I changed the VCore settings.

    2) Oh ok, didn't know what was LLC actually lol, so it is ok, I will try this.

    4) The framedrops and freezes on PUBG seemed to disappear as I have put a little more voltage, more like 1.175 ~ 1.8. I tried to look at the "adaptative" stuff but there were some things I didn't understand (offset mode sign - offset voltage https://imgur.com/a/cgXn0) so I didn't dare to do anything at it.

    But I will try what you told me and keep you informed about it.


    Thanks again for your kindness.


    Adaptive mode simply needs for you to enter the final turbo voltage value you wish to use in the Additional Turbo Voltage box (i.e 1.18v that you're attempting to apply). The offset function can safely be left at auto. Note that if you intend on applying XMP at a later stage, you may need to revisit some of these settings.

    If you're experiencing lockups, I wouldn't recommend setting a lower LLC as the subsequent vdroop is only going to make the instability worse, level 6 is fine. If only overclocking core, simply apply an additional 20mV to the additional turbo voltage. However, note that the voltage can not be set lower than the minimum VID which is why you're seeing a higher Vcore underload.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ROG; 01-17-2018 at 07:54 AM.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Links PC Specs
    Links PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    ProcessorIntel I7 7700K @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance XLP 3600Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080Ti OC
    MonitorAsus MG279 144Hz, MHL
    Storage #1Corsair MP500 480GB NVME SSD
    Storage #2Hitachi Ultrastar 7K6000 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D
    Power SupplyCorsair HX750i
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
    Mouse Asus Gladius II
    OS Win 10 Pro (x64)
    Links's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    112

    Hi Guys!
    There are some messages, saying that after 1203 BIOS update, some CPUs get more stable OC.

    I have updated my BIOS today. I have saved all the BIOS settings to USB ( this time I thought, I became a bit more clever), but after the update, that ******* told me, that he doesn't want to load those settings, so I have to set everything back manually...

    AIDA64 stress test:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.png 
Views:	4 
Size:	31.1 KB 
ID:	70782

    CPU temp looks good to me.
    CPU core temps jump almost 10c -/+, but do not exceed 80c.

    Would YOU push this CPU to 4.8?
    On 1009 BIOS I sometimes got freezes in gaming @ 4.8ghz (1.28v). On 4.7 it was pretty stable.

    LCC is on Auto. Should I touch it? Cooling fans are set slower than usual to awoid the ramping up/downs because of the 7700k heat spikes.
    Vcore - adaptive 1.26v. Would for ex. 1.30 increase CPU temp a lot?

    Advce plz

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rokha88 PC Specs
    Rokha88 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance 3000 Mhz 2 X 8 G
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 2070 Super Mini
    MonitorMSI Optix G27C2 + AOC CQ27G2U
    Storage #1Crucial MX 300 275Go SSD
    Storage #21To Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerScythe Fuma Rev.B X2 Fans
    CaseZalman Z11 plus
    Power SupplyAntec 620W
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Hey people,


    I am coming back you as I have noticed something that caught my attention...

    As i have follow these steps :

    1) Set the AI Overclock Tuner to Manual
    2) Sync All Cores
    3) Set the CPU Core ratio to 45

    Is it normal that my CPU frequency is at maximum 4,37/4,38 Ghz on my task manager ? I'm not an expert in maths but shouldn't it be running at 4,5 Ghz considering the core ratio set at 45 ? How can I get it running at it's max frequency ?

  9. #19
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,382

    Play a game or run a stress test, this should put the cpu frequency at 4.5GHz.

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array Rokha88 PC Specs
    Rokha88 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance 3000 Mhz 2 X 8 G
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 2070 Super Mini
    MonitorMSI Optix G27C2 + AOC CQ27G2U
    Storage #1Crucial MX 300 275Go SSD
    Storage #21To Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerScythe Fuma Rev.B X2 Fans
    CaseZalman Z11 plus
    Power SupplyAntec 620W
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    Hi Nate152,


    This has been seen when playing games or when stress-testing, as when I don't use my PC that much, the values drop to lower levels - according to the balanced power management mode. I didn't notice it until now, but even when you take a look at my previous OCCT tests (see my previous replies), you can see that it is running at 4400 Mhz (for example : https://imgur.com/a/2BEzZ).

    I noticed when I first posted (when all the settings on the UEFI were on "Auto), it was running at 45xx Mhz. But when I have set all the parameters you told me, it stopped at 44xx Mhz. Weird.


    I have tried with the power management in Windows 10 at "maximum performances" and it didn't change a thing.
    Last edited by Rokha88; 02-20-2018 at 02:22 PM.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •