Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 119

Thread: Bios 3703

  1. #61
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR9 5900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3800MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA
    Sound CardMotu M2
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #11TB Samsung 970 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2plenty
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
    CaseNZXT H700
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    382

    For me, everything actually works so far, havent' really tried OC with the new bios but 4.6/3.0 is stable and Fallout 4 runs flawless. Yes, some things that requires lots of disk access are sluggish compared with before, but cpu/gpu-intensive tasks are virtually unaffected. File copying is also as fast as before, it's the random writing/reading to disk which is sluggish. Not that noticeable on a fast desktop, but on my laptop it hurts.

  2. #62
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    224

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    You are never fully safe on any computer. Nothing can fully protect you but common sense. You might not even be safe with the fixes. If they were 0% on understanding the issue who is to say they are 100% on the fix? Sweet dreams.
    Oh my God! If this is your answer, you are ignorant. Do you really think common sense can fix this issue? Rubbish! The only thing that fixes this issue is the BIOS update that says change cpu micro code. The latest BIOS for Maximus VIII is 3703. Common sense does nothing to solve this problem.

  3. #63
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    After experiencing the problems stated above under 3703 I rolled my BIOS back to 3401 and so far it seems to work fine again. I understand the need for safety, but when it causes more immediate problems to the point where I can't even use my PC for it's intended purpose, I have to give it a pass for the time being. Maybe the next version will be stable.

  4. #64
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by ondersma80 View Post
    Start by updating any existing thread you started instead of "me too" posts that do nothing. You must fix your board.
    I just hoped the last update would fix this problem, but it did not. I have seen several cases that are similar to mine, with no solution.

  5. #65
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ondersma80 PC Specs
    ondersma80 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero Alpha
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    Sound CardXonar DSX
    MonitorPG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #2Assorted SSD & HDD
    CPU CoolerNH-D14
    Power SupplySilencer MK III 850W
    Keyboard G105
    Mouse G700S
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 - I moved on from the technology of the previous decade.

    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    258

    Quote Originally Posted by emsir View Post
    Oh my God! If this is your answer, you are ignorant. Do you really think common sense can fix this issue? Rubbish! The only thing that fixes this issue is the BIOS update that says change cpu micro code. The latest BIOS for Maximus VIII is 3703. Common sense does nothing to solve this problem.
    Yes, common sense. Stay off the xxx, don't open unknown programs, stay off the warez sites, torrents, run anti malware. Troll on.

  6. #66
    ROG Enthusiast Array Adrian1976 PC Specs
    Adrian1976 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Hero
    ProcessorIntel I7 9700K @5ghz
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4 3000 Ram @ 3600
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Amp Extreme
    MonitorSony KD55XG9505
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro Rgb
    CaseCorsair 570 X
    Power SupplySeasonic Focus Gold 850w
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Headset Corsair Virtuoso
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM600
    OS Windows 10 X64

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by AkemManah View Post
    After experiencing the problems stated above under 3703 I rolled my BIOS back to 3401 and so far it seems to work fine again. I understand the need for safety, but when it causes more immediate problems to the point where I can't even use my PC for it's intended purpose, I have to give it a pass for the time being. Maybe the next version will be stable.
    Wise choice my friend, 3401 for this board is rock solid unlike other bioses I've tried, i'm not even updating this MB bios anymore until it's lifespan, there is simply no need.

  7. #67
    ROG Enthusiast Array scaramonga PC Specs
    scaramonga PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero Alpha
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700k @ 4.8GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ 3200 16Gb (8x2) DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX1080 FE - EK-FC 1080 H20
    Sound CardOnboard SFX
    MonitorASUS RoG Swift PG348Q - 3440x1440 21:9
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512Gb NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512Gb SSD + Samsung 850 EVO 1Tb SSD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Nickel CPU Waterblock
    CaseNXZT Switch 810
    Power SupplyCorsair 860i AX - Noiseblocker fan modded
    Keyboard A to Z + some numbers and symbols
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Sennheiser 598's SE
    Mouse Pad Roccat TAITO 3mm medium
    Headset/Speakers Creative T40 II
    OS Windows 10 Enterprise LTSB 2016 x64
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC68U on FTTC - Merlin F/W
    Accessory #1 Alphacool Ut60 Triple RAD
    Accessory #2 XSPC Drive Bay Res
    Accessory #3 EK D5 Vario

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Adrian1976 View Post
    Wise choice my friend, 3401 for this board is rock solid unlike other bioses I've tried, i'm not even updating this MB bios anymore until it's lifespan, there is simply no need.
    Yup, I agree.

    I'll ride it out till the end of this boards life, which isn't long off. Just not worth the hassle now, as 3401 has been running here for ages without a blip, besides, I'm not bothered one jot about this 'scaremongering' nonsense that my CPU is vulnerable, lol, as everything is vulnerable these days, who gives a ****?, really?, lol!

    I'll take FULL performance on my board, CPU, SSD etc, instead, thank you

  8. #68
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array SlackROG PC Specs
    SlackROG PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 16GB DDR4 2133 C13
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1060 06G-P4-6262-KR
    Sound CardMotherboard - Onboard
    MonitorMSI Optix G24C
    Storage #1Samsung 850 Pro SSD 128GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro SSD 128GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 550 G3
    Keyboard Kingston HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
    Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire
    Mouse Pad Kingston HyperX
    OS Slackware 14.2 x64 & Windows 10 x64
    SlackROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    287

    Quote Originally Posted by ezeht View Post
    I would run the Intel-SA-00086 Detection Tool and check to be safe.. I was just reading another post a guy did the MEI and Tool and then 3703 and shows as vulnerable again.. The bios might not have anything to do with the other and have to apply the fix again.. If you have the MEI chipset 11.7.0.1040 you should not have to install that again but yes you might have to install the ME Tool.. Sorry I see now we have diff mobos- download what you need for your mobos.. I would run the detection tool before and after so you know for sure..

    Intel® Management Engine Critical Firmware Update (Intel-SA-00086)
    Resources for Microsoft and Linux* users
    Intel-SA-00086 Detection Tool
    http://www.intel.com/…/sup…/articles.../software.html

    Ohh they have the Detection Tool for Linux too!

    >python intel_sa00086.py
    INTEL-SA-00086 Detection Tool
    Copyright(C) 2017, Intel Corporation, All rights reserved

    Application Version: 1.0.0.152
    Scan date: 2018-01-22 00:46:43 GMT

    *** Host Computer Information ***
    Name: foo
    Manufacturer: System manufacturer
    Model: System Product Name
    Processor Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00GHz
    OS Version: Slackware 14.2 (4.14.14)

    *** Intel(R) ME Information ***
    Engine: Intel(R) Management Engine
    Version: 11.8.50.3399
    SVN: 3

    *** Risk Assessment ***
    Based on the analysis performed by this tool: This system is not vulnerable. It has already been patched.

    For more information refer to the INTEL-SA-00086 Detection Tool Guide or the
    Intel Security Advisory Intel-SA-00086 at the following link:
    https://www.intel.com/sa-00086-support

    Is MEI chipset 11.7.0.1040 the latest version to install in Windows?

    After running this Detection Tool, it makes me wonder if I should still install some Win7 patches... Hmm

    I saw these listed for Win7

    Windows 7 SP1 and Server 2008 R2 SP1 — KB4056897 (Security only, issued 1/3/18)
    Windows 7 SP1 and Server 2008 R2 SP1 — KB4056894 (Monthly rollup, issued 1/4/18)

  9. #69
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by scaramonga View Post
    Yup, I agree.

    I'll ride it out till the end of this boards life, which isn't long off. Just not worth the hassle now, as 3401 has been running here for ages without a blip, besides, I'm not bothered one jot about this 'scaremongering' nonsense that my CPU is vulnerable, lol, as everything is vulnerable these days, who gives a ****?, really?, lol!

    I'll take FULL performance on my board, CPU, SSD etc, instead, thank you
    My god, I looked at the performance hit on my Hero VIII and it took a huge chunk out of my samsung 950 pro... Rolling back as well!
    PS, anyone see Linus Torvalds latest email about intels "garbage fix" ? haha the worst! 3401 it is!

  10. #70
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by scaramonga View Post
    All good here

    Yup, all working great here too. Some users seem to be experiencing storage slowdowns but I don't seem affected by that on the M8Hero-Alpha. My 960 Pro is running full speed. Great, stable, release!

Page 7 of 12 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •