Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 LastLast
Results 101 to 110 of 119

Thread: Bios 3703

  1. #101
    ROG Member Array Kincaid PC Specs
    Kincaid PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus VIII Extreme [BIOS 3801]
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 32GB DDR4 3200 [F4-3200C16Q-32GTZB]
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2060 OC
    Sound CardASUS SupremeFX 2015 [on-board]
    MonitorSamsung SyncMaster PX2370
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 850 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i v2
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Silencer MK III 1200W
    Keyboard ASUS ROG Claymore [Red]
    Mouse Corsair M65 Pro RGB
    Headset Logitech G933 Artemis Spectrum 7.1
    Mouse Pad Razer Sphex v2
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX-Certified 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64, Linux Lite & Manjaro
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC5300
    Kincaid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    In theory, even though issues exist with the microcode update included in the 3703 BIOS the problematic part is the Spectre v2 variant fix. The Spectre mitigation can be disabled from the OS side of things using KB4078130 downloaded via the Windows Update Catalog. That should hopefully work smoothly for people who absolutely must update the BIOS. Obviously this will not fix issues in the BIOS update outside the scope of the microcode updates for Spectre.

    With the above being said some newer discoveries have been made regarding Meltdown & Spectre. Researchers have discovered some new wrinkles in things which have been dubbed MeltdownPrime and SpectrePrime. The current fixes for Meltdown & Spectre protect users however from the hardware side of things further changes are required. Refer to Tom's Hardware and read the article titled Newly Discovered Variants Of Meltdown/Spectre Exploit Cache Coherency Across Cores and/or do a web search for "SpectrePrime". Nothing to panic over but just something to keep in mind.

    PS: I'm still running BIOS 3504 on my Maximus VIII Extreme. I decided to wait for the dust to clear and any issues to make themselves known rather blindly jumping in head first. I expected issues and that's what happened.
    Last edited by Kincaid; 02-16-2018 at 06:40 PM.

  2. #102
    New ROGer Array nettech99 PC Specs
    nettech99 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero VIII BIOS 3504
    Processori7-6700K @ stock
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4 2400 @ 3200mhz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 1080 O8G 11gbps
    MonitorAcer XR341
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO
    CasePhanteks Evolv ATX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850i
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit 1709 16299.192

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by nettech99 View Post
    Had to regress back to 3504. 3703 was causing significant graphical stuttering and audio pops in Elite: Dangerous. Back to 3504 and running smooth. nvidia GPU drivers tried: 388.43 and 385.69.
    I tried 3703 again today. No stuttering this time. I keep a record of all system changes and the only thing that has changed is that DIP5 was upgraded (and I later uninstalled and re-installed AISuite3). Bizarre. nvidia driver 388.43.

  3. #103
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Hello, I ve got brand new 250GB Evo 960 and Z170 Sabertooth S Mobo and 3703 updated. What things i need to do before do a fresh install or is it Plug / Play.I heard something like disabling CSM ?

  4. #104
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array HeroVIII PC Specs
    HeroVIII PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero - BIOS 3802
    Processori5 6600K, 3,9 GHZ
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z 3.200 MHz CL16 4x8GB (F4-3200C16D-16GTZ)
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 1070 Ti Advanced
    Sound CardSabre SS9023P SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorSamsung SMART TV 55" 4K
    Storage #1Samsung SM 961 NVMe 256GB OS
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4TB. ASUS HYPER M.2 X4 MINI CARD with Samsung SM 951 NVMe 256GB Game
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S
    CaseCorsair 450 D, NZXT Sleeved LED Kit White
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x ( 2018 ), FURUTECH Evolution Power II, with FURUTECH F1 50 R NCF, F1 E 50 R NCF
    Keyboard Rapoo E2000P
    Mouse Rapoo Optical Mouse
    Headset Sennheiser HD 595, Sony MDR 1 AB
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo TX-NR5009, 7.1 B&W 603 s3 Series and ASW 750
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64Bits UEFI 1909
    Network RouterMitrastar
    Accessory #1 ASUS ROG FRONT BASE - FW 48
    Accessory #2 ASUS PCE-AC56, ASUS DRW-24F1MT
    Accessory #3 Microsoft Xbox One Controller + Wireless Adapter for Windows 10

    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    97

    From time to time I get the message from Q-Led 55, I have to press the Ram check button and that's it, but this did not happen to me before.

    Does anyone else have a problem?

  5. #105
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array x-rated PC Specs
    x-rated PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XI Formula - Intel Z390
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K @ 5 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3600C16D-16GTZR - 4x 8 GB, 4 GHz, 18-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE - 2,1/15,6 GHz
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium HD
    MonitorDell UP2715K - 5120x2880, AH-IPS, 10bit
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro - 1 TB, 3,5/2,1 GB/s
    Storage #2WD Red WD40EFRX - 4 TB, 64 MB, 5400 RPM
    CaseFractal Design Define R6 Blackout TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i - 1 KW, 83 A, 80Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum
    Mouse Logitech G403 Prodigy Wired
    Headset Sennheiser HD 660 S
    Mouse Pad Razer Manticor
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterHuawei HG8245H @ 1 Gb/s FTTH GPON
    Accessory #1 EKWB Velocity + Vector
    Accessory #2 EKWB XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM + 2x CoolStream XE 360
    Accessory #3 6x Noiseblocker NB-eLoop Fan B12-PS
    x-rated's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    203

    standard problem, i have often error 55 on boot, time to time 49, but no stability issues even with prime95 for few hours
    my memory is not in qvl, thats the life

  6. #106
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    I've updated again to this bios without problems until now.

    For people that want the microcode update to be protected against spectre exploit, but somehow don't want to upgrade to this bios, MS just released the skylake microcode (download link in a catalog update):
    https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2018...crocode-fixes/

  7. #107
    New ROGer Array BanziBaby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr.Wolf View Post
    I've updated again to this bios without problems until now.

    For people that want the microcode update to be protected against spectre exploit, but somehow don't want to upgrade to this bios, MS just released the skylake microcode (download link in a catalog update):
    https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2018...crocode-fixes/
    I would be careful with that Microsoft microcode update, after installing that it was crashing my AMD display driver (latest drivers) all the time. Had to press case reset button to reboot to get display back only for it to then crash the display driver again. Uninstalled the MS microcode update & no more crashes. This was with BIOS 3703.

  8. #108
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    What's your windows and CPU?

    You don't need the MS catalog update, because bios 3703 has the same MC version C2 for skylake that is in the windows catalog update.
    You shouldn't have problems because the update shouldn't do nothing, because the cpu already has that MC version from bios.
    I know other ppl with skylakes that installed it without problems, but everyone is a different case, thanks for sharing your experience.

    I read here that you already had those driver problems several times before you installed the MS update:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...193#post703193
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge4#post672492

  9. #109
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    I finally bit the bullet and updated to BIOS 3703. Quite happy with the BIOS stability however, high load multithread benchmarks took a 20+ precent hit in performance. No change in single core performance and a negligible change in IO performance. I assume from a gaming point of view you should hardly notice any change but for any rendering or multithreaded applications I think you will definitely feel it.

  10. #110
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    74

    Interesting to know that you measured 20+% cpu performace drop in multithread benchs, I think that's a more realistic number than the 10% performance hit that intel published for recent cpus.

Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9 10 11 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •