cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AsusROG-GL502VT failing to boot while updating from Win1607 to 1709 - solved

Saikat7
Level 7
I have been using Asus ROG-GL502VT since July 2016 and have been mostly happy.

But recently I am facing some problem while trying to update Win10 from 1607 to 1709. It gets stuck at the boot screen (with ROG logo) after rebooting during update. After waiting for 20 min to 1 hour I restarted the system and it recovers to the existing Win10 1607.

I have tried it 3 times, twice by using Windows 10 Update Assistant and once windows tried to update on its own – all three times it got stuck at the boot screen.

I checked the AsusLiveUpdate – in case there is some missing firmware or driver missing that’s creating this issue – but it says no update is available. The last update was on 16-09-04 – wonder if AsusLiveUpdate is working fine.

By the way, the 1607’s regular updates are happening fine – only when it tries to update to 1709 it’s getting stuck.

I wanted to check if all Asus ROG-GL502VT users are facing this issue or if some of them are able to update to 1709 without any problem.

Will really appreciate any help.

-- update --- 16-Feb-2018 --

The issue is now resolved by disabling SMART in BIOS. Please see the post below for more details.
5 REPLIES 5

kingKAI
Level 8
facing similar issues here. still on version 1607. have tried all available options but nothing works. seems like were stuck in 1607.

i updated to 1709 and various problem pop out, rollback to 1703, more likely stable than 1709, no problems at all

alexzhin wrote:
i updated to 1709 and various problem pop out, rollback to 1703, more likely stable than 1709, no problems at all

what is the make and model of your laptop? i mean, i cant even update to 1703. tried every possible solution. Howd u manage it?

After 7-8 failed updates over a period of 4-5 months I found this https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1034929 in another thread on this forum.