Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 33
  1. #11
    ROG Member Array Bronson PC Specs
    Bronson PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Z370 f
    Processori5 8600k
    Memory (part number)16gb Crucial Ballistix Elite @3466mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    MonitorAsus pg279q
    Storage #1Intel 730 256gb
    Storage #2OCZ Arc100 256gb
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    CaseCoolermaster MasterCase Pro 5
    Power SupplyBe Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10 550W
    Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
    Mouse Zowie EC1-A
    Headset Sennheiser cx3.00
    Mouse Pad Zowie gtf-x
    Headset/Speakers Audio Engine A2+
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC-066
    Accessory #1 Zowie Camade
    Accessory #2 Ben-Q Ew2775e
    Accessory #3 Blue Yeti on a Røde NT-1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hei, thanks for posting your settings.
    But i still dont reach 5ghz, thats ok then 4.9ghz is still ok.
    Also i am using crucial ballistix Elite, ddr4 @3466mhz, but i only reach 3200Mhz. i lowered the timings already since they only run at 3200mhz (15 17 34). i am currently running with 1T command rate.
    I also tried increasing the voltages to 1.4v but i still cannot go higher then 3200mhz?
    I found out BCLK overclocking is not recommended by asus, https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...K-Overclocking
    i tried it anyway, but i get lower benchmark results, so thats that for me.

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array samuel9521 PC Specs
    samuel9521 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-8600K @5GHz-Cache @4,5GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x8GB @3866MHz 16-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA
    MonitorAOC Agon AG241QX 1440p 144Hz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2WD Green 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 240
    CaseCorsair Crystal 460X
    Power SupplyEvga Supernova 650 G3
    Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L Combo
    Mouse Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L Combo Mouse
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad HyperX 900x420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z150
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterFritzBox! 7490
    Accessory #1 Honor 10
    Accessory #2 Honor Band 4
    samuel9521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Crucial recommends 3466MHz with timings 16-18-18-38, command rate 2N (or 2T), at 1,35V. Have you tried these settings?

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array Bronson PC Specs
    Bronson PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Z370 f
    Processori5 8600k
    Memory (part number)16gb Crucial Ballistix Elite @3466mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    MonitorAsus pg279q
    Storage #1Intel 730 256gb
    Storage #2OCZ Arc100 256gb
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    CaseCoolermaster MasterCase Pro 5
    Power SupplyBe Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10 550W
    Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
    Mouse Zowie EC1-A
    Headset Sennheiser cx3.00
    Mouse Pad Zowie gtf-x
    Headset/Speakers Audio Engine A2+
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC-066
    Accessory #1 Zowie Camade
    Accessory #2 Ben-Q Ew2775e
    Accessory #3 Blue Yeti on a Røde NT-1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Wow i just put in the numbers and ran Real bench, seems to be stable so far. I will keep those settings for now and test for stability during gaming etc.
    Before i only tried 3466MHz @ 16-18-18-36, command rate 2N@ 1,35V and 3466MHz @ 17-19-19-37, command rate 2N@ 1,35V and 1.4V.
    If this is working i want to push them even further, i got plenty airflow in my case and temps are very low so far.

  4. #14
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,872

    You can soak test stability by gaming, but if running into issues I'd recommend running Ramtest or HCI Memtest pro. Most games aren't known to be very intensive when it comes to the memory subsystem.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array samuel9521 PC Specs
    samuel9521 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-8600K @5GHz-Cache @4,5GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x8GB @3866MHz 16-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA
    MonitorAOC Agon AG241QX 1440p 144Hz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2WD Green 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 240
    CaseCorsair Crystal 460X
    Power SupplyEvga Supernova 650 G3
    Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L Combo
    Mouse Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L Combo Mouse
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad HyperX 900x420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z150
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterFritzBox! 7490
    Accessory #1 Honor 10
    Accessory #2 Honor Band 4
    samuel9521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by Bronson View Post
    Wow i just put in the numbers and ran Real bench, seems to be stable so far. I will keep those settings for now and test for stability during gaming etc.
    Before i only tried 3466MHz @ 16-18-18-36, command rate 2N@ 1,35V and 3466MHz @ 17-19-19-37, command rate 2N@ 1,35V and 1.4V.
    If this is working i want to push them even further, i got plenty airflow in my case and temps are very low so far.
    Nice,
    I think you shouldn't try to increase frequency, because your RAM is built to run @3466, but it could work increasing the voltage. Mine run @3866 at 1.42V, but it's their out-of-the-box speed.
    You can try lowering the timings, but this process is quite long because you'll have to test every combination of timings until you reach a stable value. It took about 2 weeks for me to find stable timings.


    I think you should try 15-16-16-35, 15-16-16-36, 15-15-15-36 or 15-15-15-35 (maybe they will run also at 14-16-16-34 or something like that, just look for timings of slower RAMs on the internet - slower RAMs work with lower timings).
    Start increasing the voltage to a value for which the correct overclock will surely work, something like 1.43V - 1.45V, and test the timings with games or with HyperPi (I recommend you to firstly run a 32M test with it and then play games, run benchmarks, etc).

    When you'll finally find stable timings, start decreasing the voltage and run the same tests of the previous step.

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    tricky to get 5g on i5?

    well 5ghz on an i5 8600k is easier than a i7 8700k, because of lack of hyperthreading. answer to the guy who stated it is tricky on an i5 to get 5ghz.

    it is all about that silicon lottery, I run 5ghz at 1.2v stable, when an AVX workload kicks in the voltage goes up to 1.3 though, i run adaptive. I am a little bummed over that. and I even tried using -5 offset for avx and still 0.1v higher than I want.

    I haven't tried over 5ghz yet, but I will do that later today, I hope I won the lottery, by reading you guys comments and at other forums it sure seems like it.


    peace

  7. #17
    ROG Member Array samuel9521 PC Specs
    samuel9521 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i5-8600K @5GHz-Cache @4,5GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 2x8GB @3866MHz 16-18-18-38
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA
    MonitorAOC Agon AG241QX 1440p 144Hz 1ms
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
    Storage #2WD Green 1TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master MasterLiquid Pro 240
    CaseCorsair Crystal 460X
    Power SupplyEvga Supernova 650 G3
    Keyboard Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L Combo
    Mouse Cooler Master MasterKeys Lite L Combo Mouse
    Headset Logitech G633
    Mouse Pad HyperX 900x420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z150
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Network RouterFritzBox! 7490
    Accessory #1 Honor 10
    Accessory #2 Honor Band 4
    samuel9521's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Quote Originally Posted by kalle-m View Post
    it is all about that silicon lottery, I run 5ghz at 1.2v stable, when an AVX workload kicks in the voltage goes up to 1.3 though, i run adaptive. I am a little bummed over that. and I even tried using -5 offset for avx and still 0.1v higher than I want.
    Well, try disabling SVID Support and set the AVX negative offset to 0, then try a manual setting of CPU voltage, without any kind of offset. You can see in my screens I posted how I set up the voltages.
    Moreover, try changing the DIGI+VRM settings, maybe an high value of the CPU LLC level is the cause of that 0.1 bump in voltage that you get.

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by samuel9521 View Post
    Well, try disabling SVID Support and set the AVX negative offset to 0, then try a manual setting of CPU voltage, without any kind of offset. You can see in my screens I posted how I set up the voltages.
    Moreover, try changing the DIGI+VRM settings, maybe an high value of the CPU LLC level is the cause of that 0.1 bump in voltage that you get.
    well if I use manual voltage, everything should be fine, same voltage what ever load I throw at it, but I am going to try it anyway because im not 100% sure.

    I am also going to try lowering the LLC (maximus x hero lvl 6 llc) and upping the adaptive voltage to see if the avx workload and normal load would start to come closer together. if I can have 5ghz with around 1.200 volt both avx and non avx with adaptive, im happy. the reason I want adaptive is when I watch youtube and stuff I don't want the cpu to have full speed and voltage.

    thank you for your time!

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array Bronson PC Specs
    Bronson PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Z370 f
    Processori5 8600k
    Memory (part number)16gb Crucial Ballistix Elite @3466mhz
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    MonitorAsus pg279q
    Storage #1Intel 730 256gb
    Storage #2OCZ Arc100 256gb
    CPU CoolerBe Quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
    CaseCoolermaster MasterCase Pro 5
    Power SupplyBe Quiet! Dark Power Pro 10 550W
    Keyboard Cherry MX Board 6.0
    Mouse Zowie EC1-A
    Headset Sennheiser cx3.00
    Mouse Pad Zowie gtf-x
    Headset/Speakers Audio Engine A2+
    OS Windows 10 Home 64bit
    Network RouterAsus AC-066
    Accessory #1 Zowie Camade
    Accessory #2 Ben-Q Ew2775e
    Accessory #3 Blue Yeti on a Røde NT-1

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    5ghz with 1.2v is winning the lottery, i run 4.9ghz with 1.36v/1.37v all cores and avx at 0.
    By the way the ram is not stabbel with my current settings, because my games crash frequently after 30/40min playing.

  10. #20
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Reputation
    29
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Bronson View Post
    5ghz with 1.2v is winning the lottery, i run 4.9ghz with 1.36v/1.37v all cores and avx at 0.
    By the way the ram is not stabbel with my current settings, because my games crash frequently after 30/40min playing.
    well it started to get a little unstable after a while, but 5ghz at 1.216 seems better now. but I tried for 5.2 ghz and I didn't get it to work, I tried all the way up to 1.35 volts. could go higher on the voltage but I don't feel comfortable with the temps. i might stay at 4.7-5.0 I haven't delided or anything so temps are way higher than I want them to be.

    im sorry for you not getting 5g have you tried higher switching frequency?

    have you guys delided yours?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •