Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Cant get new build running

    Hello everyone,

    When I first finished the build I was getting a no-post with an 0d code error and the VGA light on. I pulled everything out of the case and set everything up on the mobo box to test outside the case and was able to get into my bios. The 0d error and VGA light were also gone, only the green boot light was on with an A9 code. I then installed everything back into the case and had no issues getting into bios so I installed Windows 10.

    After Windows finished I moved the computer from the area I was working on it to where my old computer used to be and now on start up I get a black screen and the VGA light is on again. The Q-code flips through a number of codes but eventually settles on Q-code 40 or 24. I checked all the power cords on the mobo and found that one of the two 4pin connectors that I use for the 8pin ATX only had two pins in and the other two were hanging off the side. Could that have permanently damaged my hardware? I also have an old RX 460, should I try that instead of my 580 to see if its a GPU issue?

    Specs:

    Ryzen 7 1800x

    ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero X370

    MSI Radeon RX 580

    G.SKILL TridentZ 16GB DDR4

    500GB SSD

    2TB HDD

    Thermaltake 850w PSU

    Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV case

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Network RouterCisco ASA 5516-X
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    > that one of the two 4pin connectors that I use for the 8pin ATX only had two pins in and the other two were hanging off the side

    Did you put it back? Try a different power supply?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by lightknightrr View Post
    > that one of the two 4pin connectors that I use for the 8pin ATX only had two pins in and the other two were hanging off the side

    Did you put it back? Try a different power supply?
    Yes I put it back in and still have the same problems. Have yet to try a different power supply.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Tried a different power supply and a different GPU and I still get the VGA light on with a black screen.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Network RouterCisco ASA 5516-X
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    Pics or it didn't happen (video would be better). I'm having trouble visualizing this.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I'll go through what has happened so far to try to clear anything up.

    When I first booted the computer up I was getting a no-post with error code 0d and VGA light. I was able to get into bios with version 1002 and 1701 while the computer was setup outside the case. I used a USB flash drive to update to version 1701 and everything seemed fine and dandy so I put everything in the case again. Boot up went just fine and I installed Windows 10. Rebooted to see how fast the reboot would be and then powered down to move the computer.

    I moved it about 5 feet to where it would be staying for good, didn't bump it or anything. Tried to start it up and got a black screen with VGA light on and either code 40 or 24. Noticed one of my 4pin ATX connectors not in place so I put it in correctly. Still the same issue. Tried to boot with a Corsair 1000w and an RX 460 with no luck. VGA light was still on and no video output.

    So I tried to clear the CMOS to reset the bios settings which brought me back to my original problem. An 0d code with VGA and boot lights on.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Build 051.jpg  

    Build 052.jpg  

    Build 053.jpg  

    Last edited by Rolyat; 01-16-2018 at 06:13 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,689

    Error code 0d Indicates a Bios setting error, possible boot or VGA error. (Post cycle will not continue till rectified).
    Code 24 is an indication that hand over to OS has occurred so not an error. Code 40 is system resumed from S4 sleep mode.
    Also list the Part Number of your RAM kit.?
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Error code 0d Indicates a Bios setting error, possible boot or VGA error. (Post cycle will not continue till rectified).
    Code 24 is an indication that hand over to OS has occurred so not an error. Code 40 is system resumed from S4 sleep mode.
    Also list the Part Number of your RAM kit.?
    Z4Z9556Q

    What would you recommend to get past this second no-post?
    Last edited by Rolyat; 01-16-2018 at 08:00 PM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array lightknightrr PC Specs
    lightknightrr PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen-7 1800X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
    Sound CardHT Omega eClaro
    MonitorSamsung 4K
    Storage #1Samsung NVMe SSD 960 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX200 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseThermaltake Chaser Mk-1 (Modified)
    Power SupplyThermaltake Toughpower DPS G RGB 1500W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro RGB
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming MM600 Dual Sided Aluminum Gaming Mouse Pad
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit OEM
    Network RouterCisco ASA 5516-X
    Accessory #1 Firewire Expansion Card
    Accessory #2 Black Magic Intensity Pro 4K
    Accessory #3 Mailiya USB 3.0 5-Port Expansion Card
    lightknightrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    152

    By VGA, you mean your video card, your monitor, or something else? Sorry if this sounds confusing, as VGA is a standard, a type of cable for connecting monitors to video cards (like DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort, etc.), so the nomenclature is getting to me. Or are there actually VGA LEDs / lights on the motherboard that I am unaware of (I don't know everything)?

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by lightknightrr View Post
    By VGA, you mean your video card, your monitor, or something else? Sorry if this sounds confusing, as VGA is a standard, a type of cable for connecting monitors to video cards (like DVI, HDMI, DisplayPort, etc.), so the nomenclature is getting to me. Or are there actually VGA LEDs / lights on the motherboard that I am unaware of (I don't know everything)?
    In the first picture I included in my previous post you can see the VGA light illuminated on the motherboard. There are q-leds on the mobo that light up If there is an issue with one of your components.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •