View Poll Results: Would you use a standalone version of Fan Xpert

Voters
54. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    52 96.30%
  • No

    2 3.70%
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array RaffieKol PC Specs
    RaffieKol PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K (4.2 @ 1.2v)
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Hydro Series H115i
    CaseCORSAIR Carbide Series Air 540
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard CORSAIR Gaming K70 RGB RAPIDFIRE
    Mouse Logitech G303
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck
    OS Winodows 10 Pro
    RaffieKol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    63

    Fan Xpert (Stand alone app)

    I really wish Asus would make a standalone application for Fan Xpert

    Ai Suite has many problems and alot of us only use it for Fan Xpert to control the air flow of are PC or to make the PC quiet.

    So please ASUS is it possible to get a standalone version of Fan Xpert that is not bundled with AI suite as an option

    Maybe if alot of us request for it, it will happen? Maybe not?

    Either way its something I would love to have.

    "I know you can go into the bios and set it up from there, thats what I am currently doing, but I would prefer to set it up in windows"
    Last edited by RaffieKol; 01-16-2018 at 10:15 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by RaffieKol View Post
    I really wish Asus would make a standalone application for Fan Xpert

    Ai Suite has many problems and alot of us only use it for Fan Xpert to control the air flow of are PC or to make the PC quiet.

    So please ASUS is it possible to get a standalone version of Fan Xpert that is not bundled with AI suite as an option

    Maybe if alot of us request for it, it will happen? Maybe not?

    Either way its something I would love to have.

    "I know you can go into the bios and set it up from there, thats what I am currently doing, but I would prefer to set it up in windows"
    So u are a lucky guy cuz im right here with BIOS that alows me only to set minimum of 60% of my fans... I need to use speedfan that doesnt work 100% correctly.
    I also heard that some guys that got watercooled system cant control their pump power and its run on 100% on all the time.
    And thats folks all thanks to ASUS

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array RaffieKol PC Specs
    RaffieKol PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG MAXIMUS VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6700K (4.2 @ 1.2v)
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1070 OC
    CPU CoolerCORSAIR Hydro Series H115i
    CaseCORSAIR Carbide Series Air 540
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard CORSAIR Gaming K70 RGB RAPIDFIRE
    Mouse Logitech G303
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck
    OS Winodows 10 Pro
    RaffieKol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by lukiboss View Post
    So u are a lucky guy cuz im right here with BIOS that alows me only to set minimum of 60% of my fans... I need to use speedfan that doesnt work 100% correctly.
    I also heard that some guys that got watercooled system cant control their pump power and its run on 100% on all the time.
    And thats folks all thanks to ASUS
    I use the bios to setup my case fans
    I use AIO Water coolers like corsair for water cooling so I control the rad fans and pump with the AIO software,
    but I can definitely see how people with custom setups would have problems. A working standalone would be awesome...
    Last edited by RaffieKol; 01-17-2018 at 12:13 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    1,717

    I am using a Asetek unit and i can control my pumps perfect. no issues. my fans are doing fine by the bios. maintaining a 5.0 oc at 1.325 volts. nice and comfy I wish i can ask them with the new pump generation. I stop using software control apps to control those a year ago. On the area of a pump like a EK, for example, yep i hear some stories. but most of them use manual control like a D5 Vario. As many. But, it will be nice to have it. sometimes is nice to make adjustment on the fly. But as far the bios is doing a fine job. I try a long time ago the Ai suite but did not work for me. y try last year and does not pass 4.3 oc (6700K) i have not test with 7700k but since is working i leave my fans to the bios.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,852

    Quote Originally Posted by RaffieKol View Post
    I really wish Asus would make a standalone application for Fan Xpert

    Ai Suite has many problems and alot of us only use it for Fan Xpert to control the air flow of are PC or to make the PC quiet.

    So please ASUS is it possible to get a standalone version of Fan Xpert that is not bundled with AI suite as an option

    Maybe if alot of us request for it, it will happen? Maybe not?

    Either way its something I would love to have.

    "I know you can go into the bios and set it up from there, thats what I am currently doing, but I would prefer to set it up in windows"
    Can I ask why you'd prefer setting things up through the OS and not through the UEFI? Less overhead doing things the latter way, and no need for the service to run.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Can I ask why you'd prefer setting things up through the OS and not through the UEFI? Less overhead doing things the latter way, and no need for the service to run.

    I can answer that question. I need to control them through OS cuz my BIOS is only able to run fans at 60% MINIMUM. With AI Suite i could control them to what i like (30% in idle was perfect).
    My motherboard wasnt some cheap ****y one... Its sabertooth p67 and still i cant control my fans fantastic

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    127
    Posts
    1,852

    Quote Originally Posted by lukiboss View Post
    I can answer that question. I need to control them through OS cuz my BIOS is only able to run fans at 60% MINIMUM. With AI Suite i could control them to what i like (30% in idle was perfect).
    My motherboard wasnt some cheap ****y one... Its sabertooth p67 and still i cant control my fans fantastic


    No disrespect, but P67 is a little old now, don't you think? Well, fairly ancient really in this industry!

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    No disrespect, but P67 is a little old now, don't you think? Well, fairly ancient really in this industry!
    But it doesnt mean that i should't have control over my fans right? Other manufacuterers dont have this problem. Only ASUS, one of the most expensive motherboards manufacturer cant handle this.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Can I ask why you'd prefer setting things up through the OS and not through the UEFI? Less overhead doing things the latter way, and no need for the service to run.
    I use the AI suite 3 purely for fan control, why instead of bios?

    Easy, I use the default turbo setting which runs my dual fan 140mm cpu cooler at 35% in idle and has a nice fan curve for my other 6 case fans. I have another profile thats a little more aggressive for light gaming and a very aggressive profile for heavier/demanding games and the ability to pick which one with just a couple of mouse clicks instead of resetting my PC, changing the fan curves manually each and every time I want to change my fan curve.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I would be all for this. The monitoring and fan control aspects of AI Suite III are convenient and easy to adjust, on top of the increased control offered over the BIOS fan control. But almost every other aspect of AI Suite I just think... that I could really do without it. No doubt it's useful for those that actually use it, but they seem to be causing a lot of trouble for others. More choice is always welcome in my view.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •