Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    problem with G-Skill on Motherboard X99

    902/5000
    best regard.

    A few months ago I bought a G-Skill memory kit for my system, which is not exactly optimized for x99 systems, and I could not do well overcloking to the Ram, the case is that the technical support of G_skill gave me the supposed configurations of the bios so that my system was stable, but when running AIDA64 the system takes out blue screen and restarts, the only stable counterfiguration is 2.133 mhz with CL 15-15-16-36 2T at 1.20v, but I would like to know if there is a latency stable for a higher frequency like 2.666mhz or a lower latency than CL15 for 2.133mhz

    The settings that I got from G_skill support are: (it does not work)
    DRAM Frequency = 2666MHz
    DRAM Voltage = 1.20V
    CL Timing = 15-15-15-35
    Command Rate = 2

    Ram: G-Skill F4-3200C16Q-64GVK
    MotherBoard: Asus X99-Pro / USB 3.1
    CPU: Intel® Core ™ i7-5960X Extreme Edition

    I hope you can help me.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,832

    That platform is not quite as good at handling higher density kits. You will likely need to relax sub timings from defaults. Try 2666 at the kits rated timings of 16-18-18-38 2T, firstly.

    Tuning the VCCSA is key to finding stability on this platform, too. Especially with high density kits. Try VCCSA 1.15v and work up till 1.25v. Too much can be just as damning as too little voltage here. You will have to see what works best, every CPU is different. The same is applicable for VCCIO.
    Also try increasing the DRAM voltage to 1.3v for that frequency.

    If it proves too much trouble, return the kit and purchase one that is validated for your board.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ASUS; 01-20-2018 at 09:09 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,504

    When you set XMP profile for 3200 16-18-18-38...what happened...would the system boot?

    What happens if you try G.Skills suggestion but with 1.3v or 1.35v

    In BIOS...what is your VCCSA reading? SA voltage

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    That platform is not quite as good at handling higher density kits. You will likely need to relax sub timings from defaults. Try 2666 at the kits rated timings of 16-18-18-38 2T, firstly.

    Tuning the VCCSA is key to finding stability on this platform, too. Especially with high density kits. Try VCCSA 1.15v and work up till 1.25v. Too much can be just as damning as too little voltage here. You will have to see what works best, every CPU is different. The same is applicable for VCCIO.
    Also try increasing the DRAM voltage to 1.3v for that frequency.

    If it proves too much trouble, return the kit and purchase one that is validated for your board.
    regards,

    I only find the VCCIO CPU Voltage, but I can not find the VCCSA in my bios.

    It should be noted that I do not have any overclokibg to the CPU, the CPU is by default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180120_094405_Copiar.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	481.9 KB 
ID:	70773
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180120_094430_Copiar.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	465.9 KB 
ID:	70774

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    When you set XMP profile for 3200 16-18-18-38...what happened...would the system boot?

    What happens if you try G.Skills suggestion but with 1.3v or 1.35v

    In BIOS...what is your VCCSA reading? SA voltage
    I tried with the XMP profile that is 3200 and the system ran well, but I count AIDA64Engineer (stability test) the system takes out blue screen and reboots.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    maybe it could work at 3200 mhz with the XMP profile, but applying a little voltage in VCCSA, the problem is that I do not find that function in my BIOS

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array MikeAdu PC Specs
    MikeAdu PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1/3701 BIOS
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960X @strap 100/4,0/3.5 1,15V both/1.92V input
    Memory (part number)CMD32GX4M4B3333C16 (two sets,64Gb,8 slots)
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #3Asus GTX 1080 Ti Turbo
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung T260HD
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO waterblock,1x360mm + 2x240mm + 2x120mm radiators
    CaseCorsair T760 White
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Logitech G19S
    Mouse Logitech G700S
    Headset Logitech G35
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 Digital 5.1 Speaker System
    OS Windows 10 64bit/Windows 8.1 64bit/Windows 7 64bit

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    245

    Hi.
    CPU System Agent Voltage(VCCSA).
    I was confused as you in the beginning of new bios.
    Try to set SA to 1.15V and DDR voltage to 1.35V.And run test.If okay,you may try to lower voltages(DDR,SA).

  8. #8
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,504

    Yeah system agent voltage...you can apply an offset of say 0.1v and then try 0.15....0.2...see if that gets you around the 1.1v (or higher if needed) mark and more stable.

    There are also some options in the DIGI+ section you can try....set dram power to 120%...and phases to optimised

    You can also add a touch of VDIMM...say 1.36...1.37v

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Yeah system agent voltage...you can apply an offset of say 0.1v and then try 0.15....0.2...see if that gets you around the 1.1v (or higher if needed) mark and more stable.

    There are also some options in the DIGI+ section you can try....set dram power to 120%...and phases to optimised

    You can also add a touch of VDIMM...say 1.36...1.37v

    I decided to activate the xmp profile at 3200 mhz and I automatically adjust the value of VCCSA to 1.152v then activate the parameters in DIGI + section but in Aida64 I get an error.

    will it be that I should disable the XMP profile and put in 2666mhz?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180120_120500.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	306.5 KB 
ID:	70780
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180120_120500.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	306.5 KB 
ID:	70780
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20180120_122019_001.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	1.05 MB 
ID:	70781

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    39

    Although the AIDA64 shows that error, it has returned to show blue screen, but what I do notice is that the programs are a little unstable, since zbrush closes unexpectedly.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •