Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 104
  1. #61
    ROG Enthusiast Array corndog1836 PC Specs
    corndog1836 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Formula VII
    Processor4790k@4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Trident X 2400 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA FTW3 1080TI 2012MHZ ek block
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1750GB 840 EVO SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate 7200RPM hhd
    CPU Cooler480 RAD 360 RAD CUSTOM LOOP
    CaseHAF X Cooler Master
    Power Supply1250w Seasonic X series
    Keyboard Black Widow Ultimate Razor
    Mouse Black Widow Chroma Razor CHROMA
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming XL
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia THX
    OS WINDOWS 10 CREATORS 1709

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Axle Grease View Post
    Keeping anti-virus software updated along with the OS and the web-browser is the best protection users with unpatched BIOSes can expect against Spectre exploiting code, short of disconnecting from the internet. Just doing that should stop *known* malware from executing. However, bad things can happen between when pernicious code is first released into the wild and when software updates are installed to block it, which could be days apart. That's why the CPU microcode needs to be updated ASAP, preferably without resulting in spontaneous reboots. I expect Asus will be waiting on Intel to release a 'good' microcode update. Any changes Intel makes will be applied to the microcode file for every CPU from the Pentium II and up, and then there's Intel's rigorous testing procedure. Oh... so then expect a brief wait.

    I can understand your trepidation over updating the BIOS, having to weigh the risks of infection and flashing botched Intel microcode. I think you're right in holding off, and might as well enjoy that final days of good disk I/O performance.

    The Linux Processor Microcode page there now is an older one. The one Intel pulled was dated Jan 8th (I think).


    HERE IS THE ANSWER FROM ASUS!!!!!!!!
    I GUESS WE HAVE TO DO IT OURSELVES with new microcode dated 3-12-2018 on intel website ....


    Hello Jerome Cornish,

    Thank you for responding to Asus Product Support, this is Olga O. again and I apologize if there will be no BIOS update for the Spectre 2 issue with your motherboard. I know how important it is to solve the issue as soon as possible. Let me further assist you.

    Upon checking the BIOS version version 3003 that was released from 2015/11/23.

    Unfortunately, our software engineers will no longer release any BIOS updates.

    If you have any questions or comments, you can simply reply to this email to contact us again. Thank you for choosing ASUS Products and Services.

    Please take note of your case number for future reference N1803152533.

    Regards,
    Olga O.
    ASUS Product Support

  2. #62
    ROG Enthusiast Array corndog1836 PC Specs
    corndog1836 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Formula VII
    Processor4790k@4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Trident X 2400 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA FTW3 1080TI 2012MHZ ek block
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1750GB 840 EVO SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate 7200RPM hhd
    CPU Cooler480 RAD 360 RAD CUSTOM LOOP
    CaseHAF X Cooler Master
    Power Supply1250w Seasonic X series
    Keyboard Black Widow Ultimate Razor
    Mouse Black Widow Chroma Razor CHROMA
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming XL
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia THX
    OS WINDOWS 10 CREATORS 1709

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    i followed ALL instructions twice and got a "selected file is not a proper bios" error. but I flashed it within bios "ASUS EZ FLASH UTILITY 2" and yes bios file weighs the same...

    me thinks I need to flash it another way.....help!!!!

    #######################################UPDATE##### ########################################

    ITS WORKS !!!!!!!!!!!!! must go old school from flashback port on back of mobo.........

    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ THANK YOU $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    Last edited by corndog1836; 04-08-2018 at 04:37 PM.

  3. #63
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by corndog1836 View Post
    i followed ALL instructions twice and got a "selected file is not a proper bios" error. but I flashed it within bios "ASUS EZ FLASH UTILITY 2" and yes bios file weighs the same...

    me thinks I need to flash it another way.....help!!!!

    #######################################UPDATE##### ########################################

    ITS WORKS !!!!!!!!!!!!! must go old school from flashback port on back of mobo.........

    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ THANK YOU $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$
    Cool bananas!

    That's interesting. It seems that the flashback method is the best one for a successful flash of modded BIOSes. I have always used it only because it was simpler, not because I thought it more likely to produce a successful result. I'll update the guide to recommend the flashback method.


    Edit: Oh, wait. I already did "recommend" it in the update notes. lol. In very loud caps.
    Last edited by Axle Grease; 04-09-2018 at 09:33 AM.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  4. #64
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Anyone here tried this patch work-around on a X99 Strix Gaming mobo??

  5. #65
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by mbze430 View Post
    Anyone here tried this patch work-around on a X99 Strix Gaming mobo??
    Since nobody has yet replied to your question, the only requirements are that your motherboard has a USB Flashback button, and an AMI Aptio IV or Aptio V BIOS. Yours has an AMI Aptio V BIOS. So far the procedure has worked for X99 and Z87 mobos when using USB BIOS Flashback . Not sure about Z97. I haven't heard back from a guy who was trying to flash one of those.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  6. #66
    ROG Enthusiast Array corndog1836 PC Specs
    corndog1836 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Formula VII
    Processor4790k@4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Trident X 2400 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA FTW3 1080TI 2012MHZ ek block
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1750GB 840 EVO SSD
    Storage #24TB Seagate 7200RPM hhd
    CPU Cooler480 RAD 360 RAD CUSTOM LOOP
    CaseHAF X Cooler Master
    Power Supply1250w Seasonic X series
    Keyboard Black Widow Ultimate Razor
    Mouse Black Widow Chroma Razor CHROMA
    Mouse Pad Corsair Gaming XL
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Promedia THX
    OS WINDOWS 10 CREATORS 1709

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Axle Grease View Post
    Since nobody has yet replied to your question, the only requirements are that your motherboard has a USB Flashback button, and an AMI Aptio IV or Aptio V BIOS. Yours has an AMI Aptio V BIOS. So far the procedure has worked for X99 and Z87 mobos when using USB BIOS Flashback . Not sure about Z97. I haven't heard back from a guy who was trying to flash one of those.
    I have updated my z97 Maximus formula VII motherboard with your instructions and then tested it with inspectre which is free from guru3d's website and yes it works with no WHEA errors
    Last edited by corndog1836; 04-12-2018 at 06:32 PM.

  7. #67
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by corndog1836 View Post
    I have updated my z97 Maximus formula VII motherboard with your instructions and then tested it with inspectre which is free from guru3d's website and yes it works with no WHEA errors
    Great! That's good to know.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  8. #68
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    have blocked step 7 , Can't you make a type order?

    ex:

    "cd C:\06-3c-03\UBU" never work :/

  9. #69
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by oufouf View Post
    have blocked step 7 , Can't you make a type order?

    ex:

    "cd C:\06-3c-03\UBU" never work :/

    Step 6) says to copy the microcode patch ( e.g. 06-3C-03 ) to the UBU folder, then step 7) is about making the UBU folder the Current Directory in a powershell. I'm not sure how anyone could construe something like CD C:\06-3C-03\UBU from those two steps.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  10. #70
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Confirmed working with Z87 Hero. Successfully patched the microcode last night.

    Thanks for posting the guide.

Page 7 of 11 FirstFirst ... 5 6 7 8 9 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •