Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 104
  1. #91
    ROG Enthusiast Array CMDRZOD PC Specs
    CMDRZOD PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 6950x 4.3Ghz 1.3V
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 32GB 3200Mhz 13-13-13-32 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #2Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #3Aorus HB SLI Bridge RGB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek HD Audio
    MonitorUN65HU9000 4k TV with SEK-3500
    Storage #1RAID 0 4x 4TB Seagate Blue SSHD
    Storage #2Intel 750 PCIE 1.2TB NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum M10 Doublewide
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500Axi
    Keyboard Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Mouse Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Headset Astro Gaming A50 wireless
    Mouse Pad Minecraft pad!
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 THX 300 watt using optical output
    OS Win 10 64 FCU
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U Merlin FW
    Accessory #1 Club3D DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 Active converter for TV
    Accessory #2 Phanteks PWM Fan Controller x2
    Accessory #3 Upgraded OC Front panel

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Just Flashed to latest mCode for MDS Vulnerability

    After reading about the latest zombie load attack on Intel CPU's I decided to see if there is a new microcode. Sure enough there is. Thanks again for having these instructions, once again they worked flawlessly. If you guys really want I can just post a link to the R5E.CAP I produced, which has the microcode 36h.

    Here's links to the microcode and R5E.CAP if you don't feel like patching yourself. Note: My CPU is 6950X. If you do not have this CPU then this BIOS will not help you. You will have to build it yourself using the instructions on the first page and the new mCode from the link below.

    Microcode:
    https://github.com/intel/Intel-Linux...0190514.tar.gz

    R5E.CAP I produced from building this myself for 6950X:
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1iW...HXFdz46I2Pvw-_

    Just booted it up and using it now. Seems no different from before, but I'm eagerly awaiting benchmarks and more news of what kind of performance may be lost due to mitigating this new vulnerability.

  2. #92
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by CMDRZOD View Post
    After reading about the latest zombie load attack on Intel CPU's I decided to see if there is a new microcode. Sure enough there is. Thanks again for having these instructions, once again they worked flawlessly. If you guys really want I can just post a link to the R5E.CAP I produced, which has the microcode 36h.

    Here's links to the microcode and R5E.CAP if you don't feel like patching yourself. Note: My CPU is 6950X. If you do not have this CPU then this BIOS will not help you. You will have to build it yourself using the instructions on the first page and the new mCode from the link below.

    Microcode:
    https://github.com/intel/Intel-Linux...0190514.tar.gz

    R5E.CAP I produced from building this myself for 6950X:
    https://drive.google.com/open?id=1iW...HXFdz46I2Pvw-_

    Just booted it up and using it now. Seems no different from before, but I'm eagerly awaiting benchmarks and more news of what kind of performance may be lost due to mitigating this new vulnerability.
    Man, I read about the exploit only a few hours ago. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. I'll try the patch for the i7-5960X tomorrow.

    Update: I tried flashing both modded and non-modded BIOSes using the USB BIOS Flashback method. For some reason that method no longer works.
    Last edited by Axle Grease; 05-16-2019 at 08:49 AM.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  3. #93
    ROG Enthusiast Array CMDRZOD PC Specs
    CMDRZOD PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 6950x 4.3Ghz 1.3V
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 32GB 3200Mhz 13-13-13-32 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #2Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #3Aorus HB SLI Bridge RGB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek HD Audio
    MonitorUN65HU9000 4k TV with SEK-3500
    Storage #1RAID 0 4x 4TB Seagate Blue SSHD
    Storage #2Intel 750 PCIE 1.2TB NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum M10 Doublewide
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500Axi
    Keyboard Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Mouse Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Headset Astro Gaming A50 wireless
    Mouse Pad Minecraft pad!
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 THX 300 watt using optical output
    OS Win 10 64 FCU
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U Merlin FW
    Accessory #1 Club3D DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 Active converter for TV
    Accessory #2 Phanteks PWM Fan Controller x2
    Accessory #3 Upgraded OC Front panel

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by Axle Grease View Post
    Man, I read about the exploit only a few hours ago. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. I'll try the patch for the i7-5960X tomorrow.

    Update: I tried flashing both modded and non-modded BIOSes using the USB BIOS Flashback method. For some reason that method no longer works.
    I had a 2GB stick. I formatted it to FAT16 and put the R5E.cap file there. USB flashback port is one closest to motherboard. At first I was pressing the Bios reset button, till I realized I was supposed to be holding the bluetooth ROG connect button. Worked fine then.

    Pretty sure an NTFS drive will not work.

  4. #94
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by CMDRZOD View Post
    I had a 2GB stick. I formatted it to FAT16 and put the R5E.cap file there. USB flashback port is one closest to motherboard. At first I was pressing the Bios reset button, till I realized I was supposed to be holding the bluetooth ROG connect button. Worked fine then.

    Pretty sure an NTFS drive will not work.
    I've been through the process dozens of times over the years, but now flashback just ceases to work on my R5E. The 16GB USB stick is formatted FAT32 and has an an image named R5E.CAP on it. Pressing the ROG Connect button 3secs or longer, until the LED indicator on the stick lights up, and the image would normally start loading. The LED indicator on the USB stick pulses quickly when it is being accessed. Now the USB stick LED flashes briefly. Nothing loads; not even a non modded BIOS downloaded from the ASUS website. All I have is the EZ Flash 2 utility in cmos setup which accepts only non modded BIOSes.

    I tried using another USB stick but it solved nothing. I also flashed an earlier BIOS using EZ Flash 2, then attempted to flash the same BIOS using USB Flashback and it failed again. Oh, well. 3902 is the latest BIOS for the R5E so I guess I'm going to be stuck with that for the foreseeable future.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  5. #95
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    So USB Flashback happily loads the BIOS image off my flatmate's USB stick...... but not mine. I compared the two sticks in Disk Manager. They're both formatted FAT32 "Healthy Primary partition", only his is also set active so he could boot off it. I don't get it.

    Version 3902 modded with Intel's latest microcode patch is now up and running.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  6. #96
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,457

    Looks like now and mine computer is fixed without my intention against Spectre and Meltdown.
    I didn't do nothing except last Motherboard BIOS 1903 for RVE10, last Win_10_64bit_1809 is installed from iso file and Widows is Updated.
    Probably only that it's necessary for Spectre-Meltdown.
    I think even 1902 BIOS for RVE10 is with Updated Microcode, 1903 is improved system performance.

    I like when ASUS update BIOS for more than 4 years old chipset.


  7. #97
    ROG Member Array huppra PC Specs
    huppra PC Specs
    MotherboardX-99 Asus Deluxe II
    Processor6850k
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 1080ti FE + EVGA Hydro Kit
    Sound CardSoundblaster AE-5
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1CORSAIR FORCE Series MP510
    Storage #2Samsung 850
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150I
    CasePhanteks Evolv ATX TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Corsair Glaive
    Headset Sennheiser HD 598SE
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1903

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Windows 10's May update complete breaks this bios for me. My system (X99 Asus Deluxe II) just get stuck in a boot loop until I downgrade to the previous one (1902). Prior to the May update I was running the custom bios with no issues.
    Last edited by huppra; 05-24-2019 at 11:02 AM.

  8. #98
    ROG Enthusiast Array CMDRZOD PC Specs
    CMDRZOD PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 6950x 4.3Ghz 1.3V
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 32GB 3200Mhz 13-13-13-32 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #2Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #3Aorus HB SLI Bridge RGB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek HD Audio
    MonitorUN65HU9000 4k TV with SEK-3500
    Storage #1RAID 0 4x 4TB Seagate Blue SSHD
    Storage #2Intel 750 PCIE 1.2TB NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum M10 Doublewide
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500Axi
    Keyboard Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Mouse Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Headset Astro Gaming A50 wireless
    Mouse Pad Minecraft pad!
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 THX 300 watt using optical output
    OS Win 10 64 FCU
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U Merlin FW
    Accessory #1 Club3D DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 Active converter for TV
    Accessory #2 Phanteks PWM Fan Controller x2
    Accessory #3 Upgraded OC Front panel

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    42

    Quote Originally Posted by huppra View Post
    Windows 10's May update complete breaks this bios for me. My system (X99 Asus Deluxe II) just get stuck in a boot loop until I downgrade to the previous one (1902). Prior to the May update I was running the custom bios with no issues.
    No issues here with the 1903 update. Just did a manual install of Win 10 x64 1903 with my custom Rampage V Extreme BIOS modded from the latest for this mobo

  9. #99
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    bios 3902 ASUS Rampage V Extreme (CPU Microcodes updated)
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ybK...ew?usp=sharing

  10. #100
    ROG Member Array huppra PC Specs
    huppra PC Specs
    MotherboardX-99 Asus Deluxe II
    Processor6850k
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 1080ti FE + EVGA Hydro Kit
    Sound CardSoundblaster AE-5
    MonitorAcer X34
    Storage #1CORSAIR FORCE Series MP510
    Storage #2Samsung 850
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150I
    CasePhanteks Evolv ATX TG
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850i
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Corsair Glaive
    Headset Sennheiser HD 598SE
    Headset/Speakers JBL LSR305
    OS Windows 10 Pro 1903

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by CMDRZOD View Post
    No issues here with the 1903 update. Just did a manual install of Win 10 x64 1903 with my custom Rampage V Extreme BIOS modded from the latest for this mobo

    Did it auto install the update that included mcupdate_GenuineIntel.dll in the windows\system32 folder for you? Because when I don't rename that file my multiplier goes from 42 to 38 in windows.

Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 8 9 10 11 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •