Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 104
  1. #31
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by SebastianMan View Post
    After patching the BIOS with the new microcode, and at the moment of flashing the BIOS with the ASUS Software, I get this error:

    "The model of the bios image does not match the ROM memory of the installed bios"

    What could have gone wrong? I compared the weight of both files, the BIOS with Patch and without Patch and they weigh exactly the same, but I do not understand why this error is due?
    Are you absolutely positively without a doubt certain that you patched the correct BIOS image? You could try flashing the non-patched BIOS image you downloaded and see if it works. Also, did UBU rename the BIOS image to Z97ST.CAP after patching it? If the answer to both of those questions is YES, then I'm flummoxed.

    Other than trying an older version of MMTool for Aptio IV BIOSes found at http://http://voltground.com/haven/threads/13 there's nothing further I can suggest except to find someone more knowledgeable than me about updating the microcode in BIOSes. (That shouldn't be hard.)
    Last edited by Axle Grease; 03-27-2018 at 07:38 AM.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  2. #32
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array zocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Asus has updatet the microcode but for what is this bios patching?!

  3. #33
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by zocker View Post
    Asus has updatet the microcode but for what is this bios patching?!
    Intel has updated the microcode, and did it awhile ago. There's still no posted BIOS updates from Asus. What to you think this BIOS patching is for?
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  4. #34
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Axle Grease View Post
    Are you absolutely positively without a doubt certain that you patched the correct BIOS image? You could try flashing the non-patched BIOS image you downloaded and see if it works. Also, did UBU rename the BIOS image to Z97ST.CAP after patching it? If the answer to both of those questions is YES, then I'm flummoxed.

    Other than trying an older version of MMTool for Aptio IV BIOSes found at http://http://voltground.com/haven/threads/13 there's nothing further I can suggest except to find someone more knowledgeable than me about updating the microcode in BIOSes. (That shouldn't be hard.)

    Hello, yes, I try to install the "ORIGINAL" BIOS file downloaded from my motherboard's page and it recognizes it very well, but that same one, after patching it, jumps this error.
    ¿What other version could you try? ¿Could you send me the one you patched to test if that works? Thank you

  5. #35
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by SebastianMan View Post
    Hello, yes, I try to install the "ORIGINAL" BIOS file downloaded from my motherboard's page and it recognizes it very well, but that same one, after patching it, jumps this error.
    ¿What other version could you try? ¿Could you send me the one you patched to test if that works? Thank you
    What is the name of your bios file that UBU produced? As long as it is named properly you need to flash it using a FAT32 formatted USB drive and the flashback capability of your motherboard.

    This is how to do the flashback (it should be similar on your motherboard):
    https://youtu.be/ADcdnwMjd_I

    Also, I have the same CPU as you and my microcode updates looked very similar to yours (where it only updated some of them) and it works fine. I'm now clean in Spectre Check.

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by SebastianMan View Post
    Hello, yes, I try to install the "ORIGINAL" BIOS file downloaded from my motherboard's page and it recognizes it very well, but that same one, after patching it, jumps this error.
    ¿What other version could you try? ¿Could you send me the one you patched to test if that works? Thank you
    I'm confident you chose the correct microcode update for your CPU and that the result will be the same, but if you would like me to try patching the BIOS image for the Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1 (non USB 3.1 version) for you, I need to know the model of your particular CPU just in case.
    Last edited by Axle Grease; 03-27-2018 at 05:48 PM.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Quote Originally Posted by mlippold View Post
    What is the name of your bios file that UBU produced? As long as it is named properly you need to flash it using a FAT32 formatted USB drive and the flashback capability of your motherboard.

    This is how to do the flashback (it should be similar on your motherboard):
    https://youtu.be/ADcdnwMjd_I

    Also, I have the same CPU as you and my microcode updates looked very similar to yours (where it only updated some of them) and it works fine. I'm now clean in Spectre Check.

    Your mobo has a z97 chipset?
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  8. #38
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Axle Grease View Post
    Your mobo has a z97 chipset?
    No, my Maximus VI Extreme is a z87 but the CPUID he has listed in his UBU screenshots looks like that of a Haswell that matches mine (I have a i7 4770K personally).

    You can see though that Haswell's are supported on both (they are very similar socket 1150 boards):
    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/

    Intel® Socket 1150 for 4th Generation Core™ i7/Core™ i5/Core™ i3/Pentium®/Celeron® Processors
    Supports Intel® 22 nm CPU
    Supports Intel® Turbo Boost Technology 2.0
    * The Intel® Turbo Boost Technology 2.0 support depends on the CPU types.
    * Refer to www.asus.com for CPU support list


    https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards.../HelpDesk_CPU/

    Intel® Socket 1150 for the 5th/New 4th/4th Generation Core™ i7/Core™ i5/Core™ i3/Pentium®/Celeron® Processors
    Supports Intel® 22 nm CPU
    Supports Intel® Turbo Boost Technology 2.0
    * The Intel® Turbo Boost Technology 2.0 support depends on the CPU types.
    * Refer to www.asus.com for CPU support list

    It sounded like he was trying to use the flash utility and not the flashback method which is why I mentioned that method.
    Last edited by mlippold; 03-27-2018 at 07:34 PM.

  9. #39
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Axle Grease PC Specs
    Axle Grease PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Extreme w/ BIOS 3801
    ProcessorIntel i7-5960X
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-16GRR
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte AORUS GTX 1080 Ti Xtreme Edition 11G
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Corsair MP510 1.92TB (NVMe)
    Storage #22 X Samsung 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyAntec HCP-1300 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB with Cherry MX Silent switches
    Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
    Headset Kington HyperX Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine HD6
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900ACS
    Accessory #1 HTC Vive (1st gen)
    Axle Grease's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    153

    Cool bananas! Congratulations on successfully patching your z87 mobo bios.

    The challenge for me is to figure out a way to patch a BIOS for my Rampage 2 Extreme (x58) motherboard. The tools look.... unfriendly.
    "Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes. That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes." -- Unknown

  10. #40
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Axle Grease View Post
    I'm confident you chose the correct microcode update for your CPU and that the result will be the same, but if you would like me to try patching the BIOS image for the Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1 (non USB 3.1 version) for you, I need to know the model of your particular CPU just in case.
    Thanks, I leave all the information of my CPU so please help me. Maybe I'm doing something wrong and that's why it does not work for me.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CPUID.png 
Views:	94 
Size:	32.2 KB 
ID:	72583

    Motherboard BIOS: https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...HelpDesk_BIOS/

    Thank You!

Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •