Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Exclamation ASUS ROG X HERO cold start PC power on then shut down after 3 second then power on

    Specs:
    CPU: Intel 8700k
    MB: Asus ROG X Hero
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-3200C16S-16GVK

    I OCed the CPU to 4.6 GHZ with XMP profile.

    I always disconnect the power cord from the wall socket when I power off the pc. But the next morning when I power on the pc from cold start, I always have a wire problem, when I press the start button, the computer start up (fan, spinning, motherboard light on), then shut off and then start up into bios, and computer works normally with no error of unexpected shut down.

    I just want to know is this normal? I have another computer 6700k + ASUS VIII Hero, which doesn’t have this problem.
    How can I fix this?

    Thanks very much for your help.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array XIIIIX PC Specs
    XIIIIX PC Specs
    MotherboardR4 BE
    Processor4930
    Memory (part number)Gskill
    Graphics Card #1GTX1080
    Sound CardX7 LE
    MonitorBig enough
    CaseLevel 10
    Keyboard Claymore
    Mouse Spatha
    Headset AKG
    Mouse Pad Rog big one
    Headset/Speakers Harman GLA
    OS W10

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    63

    Quote Originally Posted by 5308771 View Post
    Specs:
    CPU: Intel 8700k
    MB: Asus ROG X Hero
    RAM: G.Skill Ripjaws V F4-3200C16S-16GVK

    I OCed the CPU to 4.6 GHZ with XMP profile.

    I always disconnect the power cord from the wall socket when I power off the pc. But the next morning when I power on the pc from cold start, I always have a wire problem, when I press the start button, the computer start up (fan, spinning, motherboard light on), then shut off and then start up into bios, and computer works normally with no error of unexpected shut down.

    I just want to know is this normal? I have another computer 6700k + ASUS VIII Hero, which doesn’t have this problem.
    How can I fix this?

    Thanks very much for your help.
    Sounds like you have a Corsair AX1200i and the "power-loss " protection in bios enabled.
    For some reason it `s a combo that gave me a lot of problems when taking off the power completely
    Disabling in bios helps, but not cures it completely.
    Sometime`s the "protection/self-test" build in the Corsair AX plays up .

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by XIIIIX View Post
    Sounds like you have a Corsair AX1200i and the "power-loss " protection in bios enabled.
    For some reason it `s a combo that gave me a lot of problems when taking off the power completely
    Disabling in bios helps, but not cures it completely.
    Sometime`s the "protection/self-test" build in the Corsair AX plays up .
    Hi,

    Thanks very much for your help.

    I have the Seasonic G750 PSU. Do you know where is the "power-loss " protection in bios?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    1,494

    Same here in Evga. has being like these since ever. and more oc is on. on stock values does not happens. i stop seeing these on those scenarios. I see these as check . even make a self test on ram slots since check each xmp profile getting mount. these is how i see it do not worry about it. SInce the day I add a battery backup and current protection I stop power down the psu. Unless there is a huge thunderstorms then i turn off complete the power on the system

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Itzycharles View Post
    Same here in Evga. has being like these since ever. and more oc is on. on stock values does not happens. i stop seeing these on those scenarios. I see these as check . even make a self test on ram slots since check each xmp profile getting mount. these is how i see it do not worry about it. SInce the day I add a battery backup and current protection I stop power down the psu. Unless there is a huge thunderstorms then i turn off complete the power on the system
    Do you think this is the problem of PSU?

    I suspect this is the problem of motherboard, as i use the same ram and pus with the 7700k and rog Z270 motherboard, which do not have this problem.

    I sold them to my friend and just got the 8700k and ASUS X Hero.

    This is power on, shut down then power on is quite annoying. Hope someone can provide a fix.

  6. #6
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Quote Originally Posted by 5308771 View Post
    I just want to know is this normal?
    Hello

    Completely normal. The controllers need a double restart to fully initialize when booting after power has been removed.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    Completely normal. The controllers need a double restart to fully initialize when booting after power has been removed.
    Hi, Thanks. But how come my 6700k doesn't behave like this. WHINFIELD only

  8. #8
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,038

    Hello

    Different platform/architecture.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Praz View Post
    Hello

    Different platform/architecture.

    So there is no way to eliminate the double boot problem? Any suggestion would be appreciated.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    Carlyle2020 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI APEX w/o vrm heatsink
    Processor8086K/@5.0/1.26
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX 4000 CL19@17.17.37/360/2T/1.375
    Graphics Card #1OOO RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 ULTRA
    Graphics Card #2GTX 1060
    Sound CardOOO Xonar STX modified
    Monitor21: 9 LG 34 inch / flat
    Storage #11TB 960evo
    Storage #22TB 970evo plus
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseSilverstone FT2 +200 bucks of sounddampening
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Titanium 1000W
    Keyboard Cherry KC 1000 / OOO CORSAIR K63 + lapboard
    Mouse MX Master 2S
    Headset Sennheiser PC360 + Philips X2HR
    Headset/Speakers klipsch 4.1 pc speaker /cooling modified
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network Routeryeah right...
    Accessory #1 Silverstone EBA01 headphone stand / black
    Accessory #2 radio Keyfob to turn on and off from Garage
    Accessory #3 Adata USB3.1 512Mb SSD @480Mb ul/dl

    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    91

    Quote Originally Posted by 5308771 View Post
    So there is no way to eliminate the double boot problem? Any suggestion would be appreciated.
    Hello 5308771,

    my fellow Overclockers did already mention it, but let me also assure you that your "problem" is rather a sweet safety/longevity feature of premium power units. Not always triggered. But your bios config does seem to do the trick.
    I myself have a Corsair 1000W power unit from 2010 with a Rampage III Formula /i7950.
    Guess what? I have the same feature as you ! On OC it will trigger because waking up a motherboard is anything but gentle to the hardware.
    The double boot helps with longevity a lot. I ran my rig from 2010 until two weeks ago @ 4Ghrz. Jupp since 2010 !

    My Idea was to wait until the rig dies but that`s not going to happen i descided.
    So now i have a X Hero Wifi AC with a 8700K/Fortess FT02/7 year old Noktua ND-H15, running on extremely low voltage/temps for 5 Ghrz.

    And a very very old, very capable Asus Board to sell...

    So enjoy this feature long after people who bought a new rig @ the same time, but did use inferior products, see their hardware crisp up.

    Kind Regards


    Carlyle
    Last edited by Carlyle2020; 03-27-2018 at 09:53 PM.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •