Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    ASUS Rog STRIX Z370-E gaming motherboard, possible to get 8GPUs?

    Hello all, I recently purchased 8x 1070tis and the ASUS Z370-E Gaming motherboard. I looked through the manual and might have wrongly came to the conclusion that I could run at least 8 GPUs on the board.

    Currently I can get 6 GPUs recognized, I found in the manual that if I disable the front 3.1 USB that I could get PCIE_X1_2 and PCIE_X1_4 to work. That doesn't seem to be the case though as I have disabled the 3.1 front USBs in bios (and actually selected PCIE_X1_2&PCIE_X1_4). The only one that isn't getting recognized is PCIE_X1_2.

    I have swapped working cards into those slots to no avail. Any insight would be greatly appreciated considering there isn't much information out about this board yet.

    Here is a English link to the manual.

    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/...WEB_082417.pdf

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Wiwells PC Specs
    Wiwells PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING
    ProcessorIntel BX80684I58600K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX-GTX1060-O6G-GAMING
    MonitorAsus VS278Q
    Storage #12 x IBM SYSX SATA SSD 125GB RAID/0
    Storage #2WDEZ 1TB Blue
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L
    CaseCooler Master MasterBox MB600L
    Power SupplyCorsair CX550M
    OS Win10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I don't have a clue but I would gladly take 1 of those extra cards off your hands, I can't find 1 to finish my build.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Sorry to hear that Wiwells. I had to lurk for days on microcenter.com to find in stock cards. I drove 2.5 hours one way to pick them up. The 1070ti that I have in my gaming rig I got from lurking nowinstock.net, it is a great resource with a sound notification for when cards come in stock. They sell out fast, so have your payment information close to you.

    Hopefully this helps.

    Still haven't managed to get the 7 PCIE slots on the board to read 7 of my cards . Still stuck at 6. Hopefully can find a solution soon.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Wiwells PC Specs
    Wiwells PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z370-E GAMING
    ProcessorIntel BX80684I58600K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG STRIX-GTX1060-O6G-GAMING
    MonitorAsus VS278Q
    Storage #12 x IBM SYSX SATA SSD 125GB RAID/0
    Storage #2WDEZ 1TB Blue
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L
    CaseCooler Master MasterBox MB600L
    Power SupplyCorsair CX550M
    OS Win10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Got one, turbo 1070 for $430 thx for the tip, build complete*

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array salighie PC Specs
    salighie PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Z370-E
    Processori7-8700
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce 1070 ti
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce 1070 ti
    Graphics Card #3EVGA GeForce 1070 ti
    Graphics Card #4EVGA GeForce 1070 ti
    Storage #1Kingston SSD 240GB
    CPU CoolerRetail FAN / AIR
    CaseCustom RIG (Self-made)
    Power Supply2x EVGA SuperNOVA 750W G3 80+ GOLD ECO
    OS Win 10

    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I had a similar question regarding 6 GPUs. To get more than 7 cards on the mobo, you may need a 1:3 PCI-E x1 Multiplier Riser Card. Not sure that will work though, i haven't tried it (see the item on newegg ) or a 1:4 pci-e x1 switch hub expansion card (see it on ebay)

    I had trouble getting my four GTX1070 ti cards recognized. Then i read your post about disabling front usb 3.1 and gave it a try, along with a few other things in the bios:

    - Set DMI link speed to Gen2
    - Set pci-e x16 slots link speed to Gen2
    - Set PCIe link speed to Gen2
    - Enabled above 4G decoding

    eventually i got windows 10 to recognize the 4 cards (see pictures below for reference)

    But if you don't mind me asking, how did you get 6 cards recognized - i assume you are using pci-e x1 to pci-e x16 risers and that you are populating the 2 pci-e x16 slots and 4 pci-e x1 slots... but did you have to do anything else in the bios?

    thanks in advance.

    Here are the bios settings which i had to modify in order to get 4 GPUs recognized - not sure exactly why this worked (need to do more research)- but it did for me.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios_config_1.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	241.1 KB 
ID:	71329Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios_config_2.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	140.9 KB 
ID:	71330Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios_config_3.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	156.3 KB 
ID:	71331Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios_config_4.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	126.9 KB 
ID:	71332Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios_config_4.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	126.9 KB 
ID:	71332Click image for larger version. 

Name:	bios_config_5.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	259.2 KB 
ID:	71333
    Last edited by salighie; 02-05-2018 at 04:44 AM.
    I don't fail, i succeed in finding what doesn't work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •