Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    ASUS Strix X399-E and 128 GB RAM, no POST!

    Like a lot of people experiencing the 8 RAM module problem with the zenith boards I experience the same for X399-E board. Did anyone get it to work for all 8 modules? Is there a beta BIOS for the X399-E?

    My RAMs are two sets of HyperX Fury 64 GB DDR4 2400 CL15 and I'm running the latest BIOS for the X399-E board.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    509
    Posts
    13,689

    I haven't got my hands on that platform yet...but one of the fundamentals will apply for sure...mixing kits of even the "same" type is going to be trouble and even more so for high density modules...

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

    Are you trying to set DOCP/XMP...if so, have you tried setting everything up manually

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I haven't got my hands on that platform yet...but one of the fundamentals will apply for sure...mixing kits of even the "same" type is going to be trouble and even more so for high density modules...

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...atoes-overview

    Are you trying to set DOCP/XMP...if so, have you tried setting everything up manually
    If mixing the kits would be a problem, then it would not work with a combination of 6 modules (which it does). Multiple users report the same behaviour. The only trouble is if alle modules should be used.

    I tried out DOCP, XMP, setting all to manual values (also increasing voltage, decreasing frequency), using all auto values, reseating modules, reseating cpu, exchanging the motherboard, clear CMOS...

    Why is it not possible to provide a fully functional BIOS for such a basic task as using all RAM slots is?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array martonbsandor PC Specs
    martonbsandor PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G551JW
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X399-E Gaming
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
    Memory (part number)4x8GB Corsair CMK32GX4M4D3200C16
    Graphics Card #1Asus GT730-SL Series
    MonitorSAMSUNG C27F390FHU
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 250GB 960 EVO M.2 PCIe 2280 MZ
    Storage #2TOSHIBA HDWD110 (931 GB)
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-U12S TR4-SP3
    CaseTesseract BF black
    Power SupplyCOOLERMASTER V650 Semi-Modular 650W
    Keyboard LOGITECH wireless combo MK270
    Mouse LOGITECH wireless combo MK270
    OS WIN 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hi,

    did You managed to solve things out with this issue?! I'm trying to synthesize all the issues solved or otherwise with this mainboard.
    Regards

    btw, what error codes do u get on the Q-code display..if any....
    Last edited by martonbsandor; 01-26-2018 at 11:46 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I had the same issue with my board, send it to ASUS for check and they told it is fine. In the end, I just got a 128GB kit that was validated by ASUS for the board and it worked with no issues.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by martonbsandor View Post
    Hi,

    did You managed to solve things out with this issue?! I'm trying to synthesize all the issues solved or otherwise with this mainboard.
    Regards

    btw, what error codes do u get on the Q-code display..if any....
    I, once again, contacted ASUS support and the finally sent me an internal BIOS (0503) and now it works flawlessly.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I've got another problem with STRIX x399-e Gaming - I installed second set of 4x16 (total 8x16=128) the same CMR64GX4M4A2666C16 and the PC not resuming from the Suspend to RAM mode - CPU and Memory doesn't start, power button continues to blink as it sleeps, but fans of the case, gpu, gpu leds are working. Only reset helps. No any other errors, while working it does fine. With one set (4x16=64) works great - resumes and sleeps.

    0503 BIOS onboard:-(

    ASUS Support ticket didn't bring much for the moment...

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array paulmarc PC Specs
    paulmarc PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X399 Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD ThreadRipper 1950X
    Memory (part number)128GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2nVidia GTX 1080 Ti
    MonitorLG 24" Gaming Monitor
    Storage #12x M.2 NVMe 480GB
    Storage #22x 4TB HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCougar 1050W Gold
    Keyboard Cougar 700K
    Mouse Logitech G700s
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Linux
    paulmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Lightbulb Automatic OC might be the issue here

    I struggled with 8x16GB at first, and wasn't getting any POST. Sometimes, system kept rebooting after 1-2 seconds.
    Changed the memory kit, same thing.

    Until I stopped Automatic OverClocking, in this place:
    UEFI BIOS -> Extreme Tweaker -> Core Performance Boost = Disabled.

    This was OC'ing my system, regardless of other presets, and was rendering my setup extremely unstable.
    I had to "Reset CMOS" on each boot, and it didn't last 2 boots before needing another "reset".

    My advise to you?
    1- (If possible) Use a single memory kit, since as mentioned, combining = issues;
    2- Turn OFF overclocking and see, if your setup's normal state is working.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by paulmarc View Post
    UEFI BIOS -> Extreme Tweaker -> Core Performance Boost = Disabled.
    Thanks, I really hoped for this kind of solution, but no this, not any-other I tried to discover with OC settings:-(
    Tried to put 2666Mhs, as my default was 2166, 1.2, 1.25 V - the same.

    But my problem is not so bad - system rock solid and boots fine, but resume from Suspend to RAM is not working - and i hope it should be solved with either some setting in BIOS (for now I'm not able to understand 80% of the options, especially in OC section) or with new BIOS version...

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array paulmarc PC Specs
    paulmarc PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X399 Zenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD ThreadRipper 1950X
    Memory (part number)128GB DDR4
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2nVidia GTX 1080 Ti
    MonitorLG 24" Gaming Monitor
    Storage #12x M.2 NVMe 480GB
    Storage #22x 4TB HDD
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseCougar Panzer Max
    Power SupplyCougar 1050W Gold
    Keyboard Cougar 700K
    Mouse Logitech G700s
    Headset Logitech G930
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Linux
    paulmarc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    Question Operating System & Drivers

    What's your OS?

    And do you have the latest VGA drivers?

    Humor me and reinstall the VGA drivers (I had this issue once).

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •