Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Question Zenith Extreme Raid NVME + Raid SATA

    Hi,

    I'm building my new PC and gets stuck with this problem
    Is it possible to have both NVME RAID & SATA RAID enabled at the same time ?

    I have no problems making sata raid, or nvme raid, but when I enable both NVME raid and SATA raid at the same time, computer always starts immediately into UEFI, and can't boot Windows or install media

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by snakesnake View Post
    Hi,

    I'm building my new PC and gets stuck with this problem
    Is it possible to have both NVME RAID & SATA RAID enabled at the same time ?

    I have no problems making sata raid, or nvme raid, but when I enable both NVME raid and SATA raid at the same time, computer always starts immediately into UEFI, and can't boot Windows or install media

    I finally installed only with nvme raid, both nvme raid & sata raid at the same time don't work
    I had very bad figures

    3 x 960 pro raid0

    1 x 960 pro system disk


    So i spent the week trying to find where the problem was, and tried different biosses
    Here are the figures i get with 0801 beta bios (older)



    what's wrong with 0902 bios ? anyone with an nvme raid with 0902 bios can confirm ?
    Of course last drivers, win10 up to date

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    RAID arrays

    I have successfully configured both SATA (x2) and NVME arrays on my Zenith Extreme with a 1950x. Only issue I had was that I had to completely disable the compatibility support in the UEFI so that it was a true UEFI environment. My speeds are as expected on each RAID0 array. Also using 0902 UEFI.


  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by snakesnake View Post
    I finally installed only with nvme raid, both nvme raid & sata raid at the same time don't work
    I had very bad figures

    3 x 960 pro raid0

    1 x 960 pro system disk


    So i spent the week trying to find where the problem was, and tried different biosses
    Here are the figures i get with 0801 beta bios (older)



    what's wrong with 0902 bios ? anyone with an nvme raid with 0902 bios can confirm ?
    Of course last drivers, win10 up to date
    What windows version are you running ( win10 1709?)

    also I think you have to balance out the nvme drivers between the two cpu chip lanes etc as threadripper is basically 2 CPU's in one. at least thats what I figured from linus tech tips video on it.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzzavO5a4OQ



    since you have 3 i think you will always have it unbalanced.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by PsyberEMT View Post
    I have successfully configured both SATA (x2) and NVME arrays on my Zenith Extreme with a 1950x. Only issue I had was that I had to completely disable the compatibility support in the UEFI so that it was a true UEFI environment. My speeds are as expected on each RAID0 array. Also using 0902 UEFI.

    Hi, thanks you give me hope

    Did you create your arrays before installing Windows ?
    I think I tried CSM off but it didn't boot
    I'll try next week end

    Can you post your settings ?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by JpArizona View Post
    What windows version are you running ( win10 1709?)

    also I think you have to balance out the nvme drivers between the two cpu chip lanes etc as threadripper is basically 2 CPU's in one. at least thats what I figured from linus tech tips video on it.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lzzavO5a4OQ



    since you have 3 i think you will always have it unbalanced.
    Yes win 10 1709

    I saw this video
    I have 1 on the motherboad, and 3 in a hyper m.2 card
    I plan to buy a 4th
    I'll see the performance like that first, and if needed I'll buy another hyper card

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    45

    Quote Originally Posted by snakesnake View Post
    Yes win 10 1709

    I saw this video
    I have 1 on the motherboad, and 3 in a hyper m.2 card
    I plan to buy a 4th
    I'll see the performance like that first, and if needed I'll buy another hyper card
    First where did you get the Hyper Card, every time I try and get it Amazon or the like is sold out. Second, I saw a Linus Tech video where he had two NVMe on the M2 and two on the hyper card. The reason begin is the engineers at AMD told him the bus could get saturated so splitting it up like that maximized performance.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by vsimone67 View Post
    First where did you get the Hyper Card, every time I try and get it Amazon or the like is sold out. Second, I saw a Linus Tech video where he had two NVMe on the M2 and two on the hyper card. The reason begin is the engineers at AMD told him the bus could get saturated so splitting it up like that maximized performance.
    I bought it here
    https://www.computeruniverse.net/en/...-x16-karte.asp

    it's also available here
    https://www.alternate.de/html/product/1381919

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by snakesnake View Post
    Hi, thanks you give me hope

    Did you create your arrays before installing Windows ?
    I think I tried CSM off but it didn't boot
    I'll try next week end

    Can you post your settings ?
    I created the NVME RAID 0 with the Samsung 950 Pros before Windows and used that as the OS partition. I later built the Samsung 850 Pro SATA RAID 0 as a storage drive, then later than that built the second SATA RAID 0 out of the WD SSDs to use as a drive for Hyper-V.

    I was never able to get the NVME RAID built with CSM enabled. Spent an hour on the phone with a Tier 2 (or 3?) tech from ASUS. The document that he and I both had said to leave CSM enabled but set the individual parameters to UEFI only. I never could see the NVME drives on the DIMM.2 in UEFI that way. As soon as I disabled CSM it worked.

    If you installed Windows with CSM enabled and installed Windows to a MBR formatted drive vs a GPT formatted drive it will never boot without CSM as that is a legacy config. You'd need to disable CSM, potentially rebuild your arrays and then install Windows fresh as it would then format the volumes as GPT.

    Hope that helps!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by PsyberEMT View Post
    I created the NVME RAID 0 with the Samsung 950 Pros before Windows and used that as the OS partition. I later built the Samsung 850 Pro SATA RAID 0 as a storage drive, then later than that built the second SATA RAID 0 out of the WD SSDs to use as a drive for Hyper-V.

    I was never able to get the NVME RAID built with CSM enabled. Spent an hour on the phone with a Tier 2 (or 3?) tech from ASUS. The document that he and I both had said to leave CSM enabled but set the individual parameters to UEFI only. I never could see the NVME drives on the DIMM.2 in UEFI that way. As soon as I disabled CSM it worked.

    If you installed Windows with CSM enabled and installed Windows to a MBR formatted drive vs a GPT formatted drive it will never boot without CSM as that is a legacy config. You'd need to disable CSM, potentially rebuild your arrays and then install Windows fresh as it would then format the volumes as GPT.

    Hope that helps!
    That's funny how parameters don't work the same way for everyone
    I have CSM enable and all options to UEFI only and i was able to build my nvme raid, and install Windows in uefi mode
    I'll give it a try with csm disable. I'll delete all my arrays and try to activate both raid nvme and sata, and try to install Windows again
    If you can post an export of your full settings (you can do that in uefi) so I can check what parameters are different from mine

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •