Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array andrei_opp PC Specs
    andrei_opp PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel 7980XE
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseCorsair 400Q
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Asus Rampage VI Apex BIOS/UEFI Problem

    Hello!

    Did flash the Apex X299 from 0702 to 1102 (latest). After some days of very light use, basically only installs of the OS, as I powered on the PC it showed a message: Bios updating, do not power off.. So, it DECIDED ALL BY ITSELF that it needed to revert to the original UEFI the motherboard came with..
    What could have triggered this? Previous shutdown was normal, so even not an excuse for an F1 message "Enter BIOS to recover.."
    Am I missing something? Can some experienced cast some light into this? Has anybody been into this situation before?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,545

    I have not updated my board to this bios version but sometimes when there is microcode or firmware updates included in the bios file it switches to the second bios to update it. Check to see which bios you are now booting to, is it the same one as you wer'e on or is it the other bios?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array jpmboy PC Specs
    jpmboy PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex
    Processor7980XE
    Memory (part number)G.SKill 3600c15 (2x)2x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Titan V
    Graphics Card #2Titan V
    MonitorROG PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 900P
    Storage #24TB Raid 10
    CPU CoolerCustom Water
    Power SupplyAX1500i
    Keyboard Ducky
    Mouse ROG Spatha
    Headset Ultimate Ears Custom IEMs
    OS Win 10/Win7 Pro
    jpmboy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    118

    I flashed to 1102 about a week ago, and did a comparo of performance vs 1003. (posted elsewhere) So far, 1102 has been running fine on the VI Apex/7980XE here using a per core OC 2x4.6, 16x4.5 adaptive voltage on each core. What the OP experienced looks like a bios recovery function... is the board's battery good? Was the system run at stock or with an OC when this happened?
    When I flashed from 1003 to 1102, the rig did boot to the same screen, and did a restart (uneventfully).

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array andrei_opp PC Specs
    andrei_opp PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel 7980XE
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseCorsair 400Q
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I have not updated my board to this bios version but sometimes when there is microcode or firmware updates included in the bios file it switches to the second bios to update it. Check to see which bios you are now booting to, is it the same one as you wer'e on or is it the other bios?
    Hello!

    How do we check which bios the board is booting? I know the Apex has 2, but since I've updated to 1102, shouldn't it boot only on this one?
    If not, is there a possibility to update also the second bios? Anyway, on the 0702 which the board forced automatically (in fact it did update it - there was a message "Updating bios do not restart.." ), the board kept restarting and entering bios. Out of mabey 5 or 6 restarts it managed to load the OS once. After that, another 5-6 times in a row it entered in bios. The system was not OC-ed. Bios defaults.. Any clues?
    Thanks.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array andrei_opp PC Specs
    andrei_opp PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Apex
    ProcessorIntel 7980XE
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M2B3000C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo M2
    CaseCorsair 400Q
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850

    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by jpmboy View Post
    I flashed to 1102 about a week ago, and did a comparo of performance vs 1003. (posted elsewhere) So far, 1102 has been running fine on the VI Apex/7980XE here using a per core OC 2x4.6, 16x4.5 adaptive voltage on each core. What the OP experienced looks like a bios recovery function... is the board's battery good? Was the system run at stock or with an OC when this happened?
    When I flashed from 1003 to 1102, the rig did boot to the same screen, and did a restart (uneventfully).
    Hello!

    The board was not OC-ed.. System is only 5 days "old" so with these bios adventures no time to tinker around. I've bought the board with 0702 bios. Did you get yours with 1003? What are your OC settings for the 4,5 OC? Anyway, my system gives me headaches at standard settings, so I did not even dream of OC. In Win10 it crashes instantly when I try to work. W7 is somewhat more stable. 7980XE+Corsair Vengeance LPX3000, 4x16 GB, Samsung 960 Evo.
    Cheers!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •