Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array danoz0r PC Specs
    danoz0r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRYZEN 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB Kit 3600 F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI OC
    MonitorAcer X34A Predator GSYNC
    Storage #1Samsung 960evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X Black Mirror RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair HXi 1000
    Keyboard Razer Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset SteelSeries Arctic Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Steelseries XXL
    Headset/Speakers Razer Nommo
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RoG Rapture GT-5300
    Accessory #1 ASUS PCE-AC88
    Accessory #2 HUE Led strip

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    21

    New GT-AC5300 Firmware 3.0.0.4.384_20287 issues

    Just updated to the new firmware (3.0.0.4.384_20287). Did a factory reset.
    I'm only getting the 2.4ghz and 5G-1 and no 5G-2. Do you guys have the same problem?

    Upon checking wireless log there is no 5G-2 broadcasting.
    Also in the wireless settings, the 5G-2 is set to "Current Control Channel: 0" and it doesn't let me change it.

    Could the 5G-2 be reserved for the AiMesh backchannel?

    Can Asus confirm this?
    Last edited by danoz0r; 01-27-2018 at 04:26 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by danoz0r View Post
    Just updated to the new firmware (3.0.0.4.384_20287). Did a factory reset.
    I'm only getting the 2.4ghz and 5G-1 and no 5G-2. Do you guys have the same problem?

    Upon checking wireless log there is no 5G-2 broadcasting.
    Also in the wireless settings, the 5G-2 is set to "Current Control Channel: 0" and it doesn't let me change it.

    Could the 5G-2 be reserved for the AiMesh backchannel?

    Can Asus confirm this?
    I am having the EXACT same issue.

    My 5G Gaming network disappeared, the router admin page is erratic, (asking for a username and password every time), showing "unable to find" and really wrong data... I tried rebooting the router several times...

    This firmware is just broken, and it DID broke my system. I am now unable to manage my router from the admin page, and my 5G gaming network is gone.


    This is an example of how the router behaves

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sdkTvo_yRL6XcBVJxtMRFQ.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	75.7 KB 
ID:	70960

    Asus, please help.
    Last edited by Catalonia; 01-28-2018 at 12:29 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array danoz0r PC Specs
    danoz0r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VI Hero
    ProcessorRYZEN 1800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB Kit 3600 F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 TI OC
    MonitorAcer X34A Predator GSYNC
    Storage #1Samsung 960evo 500gb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X Black Mirror RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair HXi 1000
    Keyboard Razer Chroma v2
    Mouse Razer Naga Trinity
    Headset SteelSeries Arctic Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Steelseries XXL
    Headset/Speakers Razer Nommo
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RoG Rapture GT-5300
    Accessory #1 ASUS PCE-AC88
    Accessory #2 HUE Led strip

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Catalonia View Post
    I am having the EXACT same issue.

    My 5G Gaming network disappeared, the router admin page is erratic, (asking for a username and password every time), showing "unable to find" and really wrong data... I tried rebooting the router several times...

    This firmware is just broken, and it DID broke my system. I am now unable to manage my router from the admin page, and my 5G gaming network is gone.


    This is an example of how the router behaves

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sdkTvo_yRL6XcBVJxtMRFQ.png 
Views:	5 
Size:	75.7 KB 
ID:	70960

    Asus, please help.


    Did You factory reset router after the update ? It's supposed to help.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Man, I was looking fwd for the new firmware. Not installing it now.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by danoz0r View Post
    Did You factory reset router after the update ? It's supposed to help.
    No, I haven't. But I've managed to downgrade to the previous version from last August and everything seems to work again.

    Is a shame for Asus how does it support it's "best" router. We haven't had any fix/update since August, and when they release one we get this extremely faulty firmware. Other Routers like the wonderful RT-AC88U had so many updates and fixes so often, (I used to have one that I've exchanged with this GT-AC5300). The only theory I have is that Asus is having trouble updating this Firmware for some unknown issues which they will never share with us, maybe a structural hardware design flaw... (Who knows...) Anyway, I regret so much my "upgrade" from the RT-AC88U to this GT-AC5300. I had nothing but issues since day one.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Sauger View Post
    Man, I was looking fwd for the new firmware. Not installing it now.
    No! Just don't upgrade until Asus releases a new "fixed" firmware.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    177

    I applied the new firmware without a problem. I see all 3 networks just as before, it kept all of my passwords and login info. Even my SAMBA drive. All intact.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprayingmango View Post
    I applied the new firmware without a problem. I see all 3 networks just as before, it kept all of my passwords and login info. Even my SAMBA drive. All intact.
    Well, we haven't... lucky you!

    Sometimes, same hardware can have different revisions or internal models that we aren't aware, or some specific configuration can actually mess up with the update... Who knows... Thing is, Asus should take care of this things and pass a decent quality control to avoid this to happen. At the moment here are two different users with the exact same issue. Too much of a coincidence.

    This update should be pulled out until they find out what is happening, fix it and release a new version with a decent quality control check. IMHO

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Sprayingmango PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Late 2017 MacBook Pro 15"
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme X299
    Processori9 7900X
    Memory (part number)G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3600 32GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA 2080Ti XC Ultra
    MonitorTriple Asus PG27UQ G-Sync
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 2TB NVME
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo 1TB NVME
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseCorsair 1000D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Lightspeed
    Headset No...just no. Sennheiser HD650s w/ Schitt Stack
    Mouse Pad Logitech PowerPlay
    Headset/Speakers Denon 7.2 Atmos w/ Polk Signature Series
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterAsus Rog Rapture GT-5300

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    177

    Quote Originally Posted by Catalonia View Post
    Well, we haven't... lucky you!

    Sometimes, same hardware can have different revisions or internal models that we aren't aware, or some specific configuration can actually mess up with the update... Who knows... Thing is, Asus should take care of this things and pass a decent quality control to avoid this to happen. At the moment here are two different users with the exact same issue. Too much of a coincidence.

    This update should be pulled out until they find out what is happening, fix it and release a new version with a decent quality control check. IMHO
    Yes you are right! TWO reported issues out of how many thousands they've probably sold world wide... They should immediately stop and delete it!!!!!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by Sprayingmango View Post
    Yes you are right! TWO reported issues out of how many thousands they've probably sold world wide... They should immediately stop and delete it!!!!!
    Yeps.

    They had to, and they just did.

    Now there's a new version (3.0.0.4.384_20308) that fixes this issues.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •