Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Disabling SATA 1 if Using M.2_1??

    Hi,

    I'm a newb here so please forgive my ignorance on this.

    I am using a Samsung NVMe SSD on slot M.2_1, which apparently you loose the use of SATA 1 when doing this.

    Do I have to go into the BIOS (under Advanced) and disable SATA 1 myself or is this automatic when using an SSD M.2 on slot 2_1? I did go in and disabled it but don't know if I need to?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    No need to manually disable any sata ports

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    No need to manually disable any sata ports
    Thanks. I'll go back in and enable it again and just won't put anything on SATA 1.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    If you setup M2_1 as PCIEX with a nvme SSD, you will not lose SATA 1.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by Deepcuts View Post
    If you setup M2_1 as PCIEX with a nvme SSD, you will not lose SATA 1.
    Ok, now I'm confused. I do have a Samsung NVMe SSD on the M.2_1 slot. So with that I don't loose any SATA ports - slot 1 is still good? I kinda suspected that as I didn't see any change with or without it enabled.

    In the Motherboard book it states" The M2_1 socket shares SATA_1 port when use M.2 SATA mode device. Adjust BIOS settings to use a SATA device". So I guess I'm confusing a NVMe SSD to be the same as a regular M.2 SSD?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    M2_1 can be setup as SATA or PCIex.
    You have a nvme SSD so you will set it up as PCIex for maximum speed, thus SATA 1 will not be shared or disabled with the M.2 port.
    Only if M2_1 is setup as SATA you will lose SATA 1

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    As the previous poster mentions, if you are using an M.2 drive in the first slot, the BIOS sets it automatically to PCI Express mode (which is what you want). You can continue to use SATA port 1 with this setting.

    If you manually tell the BIOS to run the M.2 drive in SATA mode instead, then you lose SATA port 1. There's no real reason to run it in SATA mode though unless you want slower speeds.

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Thanks all.

    Appreciate clearing that up for me.


    Cheers

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    on similar topic. I have install Samsung NVME on M2.2 . It is running NVME. However, i lost SATA 5 and 6 even though it sound like it not suppose to.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Deepcuts PC Specs
    Deepcuts PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X HERO BIOS 1901
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K @ 4.7Ghz 1.215V
    Memory (part number)CMR32GX4M4C3466C16 @ 3200Mhz 1.360V
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1080Ti OC 11GB
    Sound CardCreative Omni 5.1 USB
    MonitorDell 24' S2417DG
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 960 nvme 500 GB
    Storage #2Seagate NAS 8TBx2
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X62
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AXi760
    Keyboard Razer DeathStalker Chroma
    Mouse Razer Abyssus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterMikrotik

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    244

    If M.2_2 is set at x4, SATA 5 & 6 are disabled.
    This is my setup also.
    If M.2_2 is set at x2, SATA 5 & 6 are NOT disabled, but the nvme SSD has half the required bandwidth, thus lower speeds.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •