Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Issue getting into BIOS

    Hello I'm having an issue getting into the BIOS on a new build. When turning on it doesn't recognize that I'm pressing DEL or F2, and then it hangs on American Megatrends screen, which says "please enter setup to recover BIOS setting" and "Press F1 to Run Setup". Pressing F1 does not work.

    I've tried a few different keyboards and they all work, they're also able to restart the computer with ctrl+alt+del

    Currently running BIOS 1602 as it's factory loaded default. Hardware: Asus Rog Maximus X Hero (Wifi AC), Intel i7-8700k, Ballistix Sport LT 32GB RAM, Corsair H60 cooler, no GPU

    If it helps, the Q-Code hangs on A2, "IDE Detect"

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    366

    Try unpluging all other USB devices and use the safe boot button. I think the Hero has one.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Yes it does, just tried that but same result. Except now it says "Safe Mode! Please enter Setup to re-configure your system"

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Try posting with all SATA and M.2 drives disconnected.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    366

    Quote Originally Posted by ExyoMKE View Post
    Yes it does, just tried that but same result. Except now it says "Safe Mode! Please enter Setup to re-configure your system"
    Yeah,., I thought that may be what would happen - a long shot. Sorry,

    Have you tried your keyboard in all USB ports? Front panel?
    Last edited by geneo; 10-20-2018 at 11:19 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by ExyoMKE View Post
    Hello I'm having an issue getting into the BIOS on a new build. When turning on it doesn't recognize that I'm pressing DEL or F2, and then it hangs on American Megatrends screen, which says "please enter setup to recover BIOS setting" and "Press F1 to Run Setup". Pressing F1 does not work.

    I've tried a few different keyboards and they all work, they're also able to restart the computer with ctrl+alt+del

    Currently running BIOS 1602 as it's factory loaded default. Hardware: Asus Rog Maximus X Hero (Wifi AC), Intel i7-8700k, Ballistix Sport LT 32GB RAM, Corsair H60 cooler, no GPU

    If it helps, the Q-Code hangs on A2, "IDE Detect"
    Try using an alternate usb port and / or another keyboard...
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Code
    ProcessorIntel 8086K @ 5.1Ghz
    Memory (part number)32 GB (2x16) G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200 MHz CL14 @ 3733 16-16-36
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Dell
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID 0, 6 TB WDC Black HDD
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax
    CaseFractal Design R4 w/ tempered glass
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, ML Dynamo 300
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    27
    Posts
    366

    Quote Originally Posted by Phillyflyer View Post
    Try using an alternate usb port and / or another keyboard...
    "I've tried a few different keyboards and they all work"

    "Have you tried your keyboard in all USB ports? Front panel? "

    read

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Phillyflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    30
    Posts
    536

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    "I've tried a few different keyboards and they all work"

    "Have you tried your keyboard in all USB ports? Front panel? "

    read
    Caught that after the post.
    Asus ROG Maximus XI EXTREME
    Intel i7 9900K OC'D @ 5.2 GHZ @ 1.345V (1.296V LOAD) LLC 6 PRIME 95 STABLE 8 HRS
    XSPC RX360 Rad (6)Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850 RPM Fans In Push/Pull @ 1500 RPMS
    Swiftech Drive II / Swiftech MCP35X Pump
    Enermax Platimax 1200 Watt Power Supply
    32GB G.Skill F4-3866C18Q-32GTZR 3866 MHZ CL18 1.35V (OC 4266MHZ 17-18-18-41-2T @1.45V)
    MSI GTX 1070 SEA HAWK EK X SLI WITH ASUS HB RGB
    (5)Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB In Raid 0
    (2) WD 1TB Black Edition
    Corsair 900 D

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Tried all USB ports now.

    Just tried booting without the sata drive connected -- same results. Hangs on the Megatrends screen, Q-Code A2.

    Are we possibly looking at a faulty board? I know there's a longer warranty available, but It'd probably be less hassle to just return to the store within the 30 day period

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20181021_195038.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	1.24 MB 
ID:	76425 just to reiterate, this is the screen I'm stuck on. Only keyboard prompts that work are ctrl+alt+del

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •