Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 57
  1. #21
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    And.... interesting problem where running afuwinx64 gui literally freezes the OS. Like a kernel level crash.. minus the actual crash....
    afuwin tool downloaded from, https://ami.com/en/download-license-...te_Utility.zip, .. so technically different/latest from @chris_tronic's original version... but that shouldn't matter. (it's version 3.09.03.1462).

  2. #22
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgioia View Post
    And.... interesting problem where running afuwinx64 gui literally freezes the OS. Like a kernel level crash.. minus the actual crash....
    afuwin tool downloaded from, https://ami.com/en/download-license-...te_Utility.zip, .. so technically different/latest from @chris_tronic's original version... but that shouldn't matter. (it's version 3.09.03.1462).
    I can concur the same exact issue

  3. #23
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by season_of_ages View Post
    I can concur the same exact issue
    Great it's not just me going crazy.
    And also means not anomalous to just me... good news.

    Yet you got somewhere down the path of performing the mod on this post earlier on in the thread, no ? https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge2#post723031
    So you managed to run afuwin ?

  4. #24
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgioia View Post
    Great it's not just me going crazy.
    And also means not anomalous to just me... good news.

    Yet you got somewhere down the path of performing the mod on this post earlier on in the thread, no ? https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...ge2#post723031
    So you managed to run afuwin ?

    Anyone know what they're doing with AFUWIN CLI ? ... :/ I think it's the only alternative for me.. as GUI keeps locking my OS up.

    UDPATE.. even CLI locks up... sheesh...
    Last edited by mpgioia; 06-09-2018 at 07:59 AM.

  5. #25
    ROG Member Array chris_tronic PC Specs
    chris_tronic PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G751 JY
    MotherboardAsus
    ProcessorIntel I7 4710HQ
    Memory (part number)24 GB
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 980m
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio
    MonitorIPS Panel
    Storage #1512 GB SM951 NVMe
    Storage #22 TB Hitachi HGST
    Keyboard QWERTZ
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by mpgioia View Post
    Anyone know what they're doing with AFUWIN CLI ? ... :/ I think it's the only alternative for me.. as GUI keeps locking my OS up.

    UDPATE.. even CLI locks up... sheesh...
    Did you try the Afuwin i send you?

    Greetings

    Chris

  6. #26
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_tronic View Post
    Did you try the Afuwin i send you?

    Greetings

    Chris
    As per email I sent you. Yes.. it worked with the Afuwin version you used.. the older version.. I managed to find it online somewhere.. the Afuwin version from AMI website didn't work.
    (So for what it's worth.. for others in this thread.. or looking to mod.. you'll need 3.05.## Afuwin.. I have it and can host it if others need it. PM me.)

    However.. @christian.. as per my email to you.. what's your comments on the NVMe DXE version 4 driver that has been released since you originally released the procedure.. versus the version 3 you used ?

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    any chance to reupload the files or get them by email?
    seem voltground is dead/down

  8. #28
    ROG Enthusiast Array mpgioia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    @Sargatanas, i'll PM you a gdrive link to them. I used the NVMe DXE ver 4 driver. Worked a treat.

    Above all else.. All kudos to Christian.. very very much so. Running a super quick Samsung 970 EVO NVMe drive thanks to him. .And yes, limitation in HM87 Intel chipset doesn't see anything beyond the same perf he received (noted at beginning of this thread with his screenshots.. mine are not any quicker .. unfortunately.. even with the NVMe DXE version 4 driver module use)
    Last edited by mpgioia; 06-12-2018 at 01:12 PM.

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    perfect - thank you very much
    gonna update my bios too as soon as my SSD arrived

    I thought this topic/system is already forgotten xD

    So if I understood it correctly: I won't see the SSD as a drive but it will be recognized if I'm going to install windows 10?
    Last edited by Sargatanas; 06-12-2018 at 01:16 PM.

  10. #30
    ROG Member Array chris_tronic PC Specs
    chris_tronic PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G751 JY
    MotherboardAsus
    ProcessorIntel I7 4710HQ
    Memory (part number)24 GB
    Graphics Card #1Geforce GTX 980m
    Sound CardRealtek HD Audio
    MonitorIPS Panel
    Storage #1512 GB SM951 NVMe
    Storage #22 TB Hitachi HGST
    Keyboard QWERTZ
    OS Windows 7 Ultimate

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    16

    yes, this absoutely true. Use the old AFUWIn 64 GUI for the non capsuled Bios Dump.
    Inject the DXE Driver and reflash.. Like I presented in my Guide..

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •