Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Silent 6700k

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array bizuka PC Specs
    bizuka PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HEROq
    Processori7 6700k
    Memory (part number)g.Skill Trident Z 16Gb 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 1060
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorBENQ XL4220T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 V2 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Ozone Strike Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck Heavy
    OS Windows 7

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Silent 6700k

    Guys after a long inactive period of time i'm back to this hobby.
    The objective is to get a stable @4.6 at the lower voltages (and speed vent) possible this will be my 24/7 profile.
    but first let me show you my machine

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180202_172221.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	695.9 KB 
ID:	71233
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180202_172256.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	547.9 KB 
ID:	71234
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180202_172453.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	702.7 KB 
ID:	71235
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180202_172605.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	504.8 KB 
ID:	71236
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20180202_172431.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	501.3 KB 
ID:	71237

    yes i have to clean the dust and manage the vent cables but i'm still tweaking the speeds (none of the vents are connected to the motherboard)
    the case is fully closed its only open in the back at the moment! the plan is to close it.

    Specs:
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    Corsair 110i GT
    Skylake 6700k
    gSkill Trident Z 16Gb 3000Mhz
    NZXT H440 V2 Black
    Corsair RM750i

    so i was stuck at @4.6 with a 1.32vcore, i was manage to get @1.295vcore.
    by lowering the core pll voltage from 1.25v(auto) to 0.9v (still room to lower the value)
    changing the pll bandwidth to 0 (it was the default i guess)
    by lowering the internal pll voltage to 0.9v
    (with this i gain like a -5ºC/-7ºC)

    after enabling the XMP i noticed that the auto values of VCCIO ; System Agent Voltage and PHC where way to high like 1.30 /1.35 at this moment they are at 1.1v max, and i didn't had any memory errors or bsods.
    all green frendly settings on bios are off.
    the stress test used was the realbench.
    i will upload my values later so you can take a look and my bios settings too
    please share your opinions with me, is it wise to lower the pll voltages like i did? should i try to lower them even more?
    at this moment i'm testing lower vcore voltages.
    like i said the hwinfo screenshot will come soon
    cheers!

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array bizuka PC Specs
    bizuka PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HEROq
    Processori7 6700k
    Memory (part number)g.Skill Trident Z 16Gb 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 1060
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorBENQ XL4220T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 V2 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Ozone Strike Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck Heavy
    OS Windows 7

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	rog.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	824.6 KB 
ID:	71270

    pll voltage is at @0.7v
    vcore is at @1.3v in bios

    what can i tweak guys?

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi bizuka

    Your temps are excellent, I see you're running in manual mode and looking at your minimum temps i have to ask, what is your room temp?

    You can easily try for 4.7GHz.

  4. #4
    TeamROG Folding@Home Array ottoyu34 PC Specs
    ottoyu34 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)Trident Z RGB (F4-3600C16D-16GTZR)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix GTX1080 Ti OC
    MonitorLG IPS LED 27"
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 850 PRO 1TB
    Storage #2Crucial MX300 525GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Ed.
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
    Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K65
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Razer Destructor
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-2300 2.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U
    ottoyu34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    805

    Are those Noctua 4pin PWM or 3-Pin?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array bizuka PC Specs
    bizuka PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HEROq
    Processori7 6700k
    Memory (part number)g.Skill Trident Z 16Gb 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 1060
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorBENQ XL4220T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 V2 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Ozone Strike Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck Heavy
    OS Windows 7

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Nate those minimum temps are when i start the computer like after 1 night off. the idle temps with my notcuas 140mm at 800rpm each are like 32ºC with the fans at full speed the idle stays at 19/20ºC after load sessions. i tried the @4.7 when i didn't tune the pll voltages with 1.35vcore i couldn't get a stable oc so i gave up but i could go for it !

    edit: its like 20/24ª C in my bedroom with the heater on.

    and yes ottoyu34 those noctuas are all 4pin pwm!
    Last edited by bizuka; 02-03-2018 at 11:26 PM.

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Nice !

    You'll likely need more Vcore for 4.7GHz.

    Up to 1.40 - 1.45v is safe as long as temps are under control and your temps say you can try for it.

    If you don't feel comfortable with the Vcore that high you can leave it where it is.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array bizuka PC Specs
    bizuka PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HEROq
    Processori7 6700k
    Memory (part number)g.Skill Trident Z 16Gb 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 1060
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorBENQ XL4220T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 V2 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Ozone Strike Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck Heavy
    OS Windows 7

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Nice !

    You'll likely need more Vcore for 4.7GHz.

    Up to 1.40 - 1.45v is safe as long as temps are under control and your temps say you can try for it.

    If you don't feel comfortable with the Vcore that high you can leave it where it is.
    nate, yup, probably i will need a @1.42 /1.45 vcore and run the cpu vents att full speed hmm don't think it is worthy atleast just for now.
    yesterday i got some bsods playing PUGB so i pumped the vcore to 1.31 at 4.6ghz.
    im going to take some screenshots at my bios settings so you can check them out!

    edit: the cpu cache min and max are at 41 do u think it is worth to pump it to 44/45?
    Last edited by bizuka; 02-04-2018 at 04:49 PM.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Yeah take what it will give you as the cpu core/cache voltage is tied together.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array bizuka PC Specs
    bizuka PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HEROq
    Processori7 6700k
    Memory (part number)g.Skill Trident Z 16Gb 3000Mhz
    Graphics Card #1MSI Geforce GTX 1060
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorBENQ XL4220T
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500Gb
    Storage #2Seagate Barracuda 4TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 110i GT
    CaseNZXT H440 V2 Black
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750i
    Keyboard Ozone Strike Pro
    Mouse Steelseries Rival
    Headset Sennheiser Game Zero
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Qck Heavy
    OS Windows 7

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Yeah take what it will give you as the cpu core/cache voltage is tied together.
    ok so yesterday i pumped the cache ratio min/max to 44 and the system seems stable. playing wolfenstein ii and pugb all day after stress stesting with realbench and the system seems pretty stable, going for 45 cache and doing some more tweaks before i took some screenshots to the bios btw the LLC is at level 5 and the voltage is in manual mode (no offsets in adaptive mode)

  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    To get the cpu speed and voltage to drop at idle you'll want to use adaptive mode, you should be able to set the offset mode sign to + or - and enter a value. You'll want the min. cache ratio on auto.

    You can try the cache up to 4600MHz, it doesn't seem to benefit with the cache higher than the core clock.

    Here is my overclock, I'm running in manual mode.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Hwinfo.png 
Views:	6 
Size:	243.3 KB 
ID:	71512

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •