Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    High CPU Temps and crashing when OC'd

    Since I've updated to BIOS 3504 (from BIOS 1302) and the ME Driver to the latest Version 11.7.0.1040 my CPU temps are extremely high and after the latest MS updates I can't even OC my CPU. Used to run smooth at 4.6GHz and 1.240V and temps would barely touch 60C under load on BIOS 1302. Now on BIOS 3504 and the new ME firmware, with CPU at stock, it idles in the 50's even in BIOS window.
    All these new updates coming from ASUS and MS have completely stuffed up my stable PC. Anyone know how I could revert everything back to BIOS 1302 and older ME firmware? With all the issues I'm having, I really don't care about Spectre anymore.

    OS: WIN10 Enterprise Build 16299
    Motherboard: MH8 / BIOS 3504
    CPU: 6700K
    Cooler: Corsair H110i
    RAM: 16GB Trident Z 3200MHz
    M.2: Samsung 950Pro (512GB)

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,414

    You can use BIOS flashback method to flash old BIOS. Check page 2-12 of your manual
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sin título.png 
Views:	43 
Size:	63.9 KB 
ID:	71291

    I guess you can uninstall ME driver through control panel and instal previous version...

    Maybe use a restore point from before the updates?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    Thanks for your reply. So with USB BIOS Flashback I can downgrade from BIOS 3504 to anything I want? Can I do this within the BIOS menu as well or you can only do a BIOS upgrade this way?

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,414

    Quote Originally Posted by aceisme View Post
    So with USB BIOS Flashback I can downgrade from BIOS 3504 to anything I want?
    Yes, in theory you can flash any BIOS this way

    In the BIOS there is another utility EZ flash but you cannot downgrade a BIOS by this method is my understanding...only upgrade..

    BIOS flashback is the best/safest/most reliable method in my experience anyway.

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,414

    I just had a thought aceisme

    That kind of temp change actually sounds more like something is wrong with your cooler. You sure that H110i is working OK....still mounted OK?

    If you touch the tubes coming from the block does one of them feel warm...or warmer than the other?

    Some of these AIO coolers can leak without leaking if you get what I mean...evaporating coolant slowly so air gets in the loop and then obstructs flow...

    Good test for this is to tip the case back and forward and side to side 45 degrees (all power off of course) and see if temps temporarily recover...
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-04-2018 at 12:19 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    Nah, nothing wrong with the cooler. If there was air in the loop you would hear it. This only started happening after the upgrades. I managed to bring the temps down by reducing the CPU voltage and now it seems more stable. CPU package sits around 39C on idle and the cores vary between 35-40C. I haven't tried loading the CPU or overclocking yet.

  7. #7
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,414

    What voltage?

    Temps still sound too high...idle should be about 30 degrees core temps AFAIK and while I think Intel have lot to answer for over this stuff, I'm not sure that much of a temp increase can be pinned on them...

    but who knows...try the BIOS flash

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    Ok, I've done a quick Cinebench test and temps do spike very high. Maybe I will check the cooler tomorrow. Something is definitely not right.

  9. #9
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,414

    OK, hope you find the problem either way!

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array aceisme PC Specs
    aceisme PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z F4-3200C16D-16GTZB 16GB
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980TI Classified
    Sound CardOn board sound
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro Series 512GB M.2 SSD
    Storage #2Intel SSD 540s - 240GB - SSDSC2CW240A3
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsedian 450D
    Power SupplyCorsair H850i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS WIN10 Enteprise

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    75

    I checked the cooler. There are no visible leaks, the pump spins at around 3,000rpm, the mounting is all tight and one tube is quite warm (with CPU package idle temps around 40C+) while the other tube is cold.
    With all that I think I can completely eliminate any problems with the cooler. To add to that, everything was fine before the ME firmware and software upgrade and deteriorated even more with the MS updates. BIOS 3504 ran hotter than my original 1302 BIOS but only by a few degrees. At the moment I've set the CPU at 4.0GHz max frequency. I might have to go even lower while I look for the problem. This is driving me nuts and I wish I never touched it. You know the old saying....if it ain't broken don't fix it.
    I'm surprised no one else is experiencing this issue. I'm happy to listen to any suggestions that do not involve format/OS re-install. Anyone from ASUS? Raja maybe?
    Last edited by aceisme; 02-05-2018 at 05:11 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •