+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: AI Recovery Burner

  1. #1
    New ROGer Zachery Cook +10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2

    AI Recovery Burner

    Hello everyone! I'm new here and it's nice to meet all of you.

    So here's my dilemma, I just purchased a G75VW-DH72 laptop from BestBuy, here's a link to their site that has all the specs. http://tinyurl.com/b32q964. Now this is my first laptop or notebook and I was told with most you usually need four DVDs so you can burn recovory disks. But when I started up my new Asus laptop it didn't pop-up an recovery message, so I decided to look through the guide. I came across a part that said you can burn recovery DVDs by using something call the AI Recovery Burner on your desktop. Well I looked at my desktop and couldn't find it, so I decided to go to My Computer and search for AI Recovery Burner and it also found nothing. So what's the deal can i not make recovory DVDs? Am I supposed to download it somewhere? I've contacted both Asus and BestBuy and still have no answers. Is it because I have Windows 8?

    Any help would be appreciated. Thank You.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,193

    i'm afraid Ai Recovery Burner will no longer be available for models with windows 8. it's phasing out.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Zachery Cook +10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    2

    Surpirisingly just as you answered this I finally got a reply from Asus, sadly 4 days later. I'm not sure if anyone else ahs Windows 8 and is looking to make backups but this is the advice Asus sent me.

    http://www.technoon.com/how-to-creat...tem-image.html

    Thank you very much, I'm happy to hear that I wasn't simply just missing it but that there was a reason why I was missing it.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,193

    no problem. the downside of this windows backup feature is that it can only be used for the same hdd (i think i read it somewhere in this forum). in case you wanna save your product key, see here for the steps (look for 'Where can I find information on my Windows 8 product key?').

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt john_from_ohio +20
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    615

    Quote Originally Posted by rewben View Post
    no problem. the downside of this windows backup feature is that it can only be used for the same hdd (i think i read it somewhere in this forum).
    Wrong ... system image can be restored to any hard drive of same size or larger ... will not work to restore onto a smaller drive.

    SHOULD BE TESTED by pulling out original drive and using a different drive ... to make sure it does work.

    The system image keeps all the keys etc ... only fresh installs should require windows keys ... not restore from system image.

    Rewben do you just guess about these things?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,193

    Quote Originally Posted by john_from_ohio View Post
    Wrong ... system image can be restored to any hard drive of same size or larger ... will not work to restore onto a smaller drive.

    SHOULD BE TESTED by pulling out original drive and using a different drive ... to make sure it does work.

    The system image keeps all the keys etc ... only fresh installs should require windows keys ... not restore from system image.

    Rewben do you just guess about these things?
    no, john. i read a user reported that he could not use the win8 system image for another disk. i will try to find the original post about this. i think i should have tested that before i gave such information :/

    correct, the system image should install everything, including the key. i just point that out in case the user wish to do a fresh install.

    edit: the original post is here. he attempted to use a system image from a large drive to a smaller ssd. thanks, john for pointing this out! and sorry for the wrong info :/
    Last edited by rewben; 11-21-2012 at 06:32 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: White Belt Uglykiwi +10
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    77

    i got a new g75vx. yes the ai recovery had been removed

  8. #8
    Administrator Pitcher@asus +10
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2,441

    if you need AI recover, also can be visiting http://support.asus.com/Download.asp...n8_64_Z103.zip to download it.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast DRAKON +10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    51

    Great... except for the fact that it doesn't work for Windows 8 pre-installed laptops. To be honest I'm really disappointed with the software support from asus.

    Don't get me wrong I love the hardware but as it comes to restoring asus just screw up big time. Not only I pay for original Windows 8, not only I do not receive windows 8 key as a sticker on the back of the laptop as most brands does with pre-installed Windows OS, but I do not really have a tool to transfer the OS to another hard drive ( as supporting 2 HDD is part of the advertisement I would imagine Asus actually designed it to have 2 ). Of course I found alternative way and programs to do it but... honestly disappointed...

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Black Belt rewben +150 rewben +150
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    2,193

    @DRAKON, it's the lack of public awareness of the information that are readily available i think. there is a FAQ page at ASUS Support website, which highlights some of transitional changes in machines with preloaded w8, including the part that these machines will no longer have stickers along with the right steps to get the product key. the procedure for factory restore has changed, too (as highlighted in the FAQ page; it's now using windows 8's built-in feature for that purpose).

    then there are changes in the OEM preparation for the OS. i don't know if this is one of the requirements to become "Windows 8 compliant" for manufacturers.

    i'm curious: what's the partition layout of a machine preloaded with w8? no recovery partition?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts