Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array RoadKillerGR PC Specs
    RoadKillerGR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X 4.0GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M8C3000C15 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro+ VEGA 64
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro+ VEGA 64
    MonitorSamsung C32HG70
    Storage #1x2 500GB Samsung NVMe 970 EVO RAID 0
    Storage #2x2 2TB Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 II RGB 360
    CaseAnidees Crystal XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse HyperX Pulsefire Surge
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad HyperX Fury S
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    VCore increase under load

    Hello everyone! So I've decided to do some overclocking on my 2950X. I decided to run at 4.0GHz and I also decided to undervolt the CPU to 1.2 volts... I have passed a 4 hour OCCT CPU stress test and also 20 passes of IBT at maximum stress. On top of that I've used this configuration for about a week now doing some editing and gaming and the system has been stable so far. However when I monitor my VCore with HwInfo I see it increase under load. It goes from 1.2V to 1.221 or 1.243 depending on the load. Now I know about Vdroop and that to nullify it you need to adjust the LLC, however I've never seen VCore increasing under load whilst it's been set manually... Is this normal or is there something that I should do to combat this?
    Last edited by RoadKillerGR; 02-10-2019 at 12:08 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array feedmeink PC Specs
    feedmeink PC Specs
    MotherboardX299 Rampage vi extreme
    ProcessorI9 7980xe
    Memory (part number)Corsair vengeance lpx 4000mhz 32gb (2x16gb)
    Graphics Card #1Ek waterblock vega 56
    Storage #1Samsung 970pro 1tb m.2
    CPU CoolerEk full monoblock
    CaseLian li pc-011 dynamic
    Power SupplyEvga 1200 watt platinum
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Reputation
    69
    Posts
    187

    Not sure if you have done this, but if you are in adaptive, you want to enable c-state. When manual you want to disable c-state. If it truly is a v-droop issue, try adjust LLC lower. The higher LLC the more overshoot can occur

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array RoadKillerGR PC Specs
    RoadKillerGR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X 4.0GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M8C3000C15 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro+ VEGA 64
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro+ VEGA 64
    MonitorSamsung C32HG70
    Storage #1x2 500GB Samsung NVMe 970 EVO RAID 0
    Storage #2x2 2TB Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 II RGB 360
    CaseAnidees Crystal XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse HyperX Pulsefire Surge
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad HyperX Fury S
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by feedmeink View Post
    Not sure if you have done this, but if you are in adaptive, you want to enable c-state. When manual you want to disable c-state. If it truly is a v-droop issue, try adjust LLC lower. The higher LLC the more overshoot can occur
    I'm using manual voltage and I have disabled the EPU power saving mode. I've also disabled core performance boost. The LLC that I've been using thus far has been Level 1 as I haven't really experienced what I'd call "traditional" Vdroop as the VCore never goes below what I've set it at. However I do wonder what sort of effect LLC Level -1 and -2 could have...

    *EDIT*
    I just disabled Global C-State control... VCore still behaves the same way.
    Last edited by RoadKillerGR; 02-10-2019 at 01:32 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    73

    I have found that LLC affects vccin and not vcore. Higher LLC settings allow for a more stable vccin. IME, if the vccin drops too low, OC instability can occur.

  5. #5
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,400

    I think people are confusing their platforms here...

    @RoadKillerGR...have you disabled AFR?...can't remember what it's called in BIOS...Core Performance Boost..

    EDIT: whoops saw you already did that...hmmm...what happens with LLC on auto?

    You set any current cap in Digi+ or anything like that?
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-18-2019 at 05:10 PM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array RoadKillerGR PC Specs
    RoadKillerGR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Zenith Extreme X399
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen Threadripper 2950X 4.0GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW64GX4M8C3000C15 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro+ VEGA 64
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro+ VEGA 64
    MonitorSamsung C32HG70
    Storage #1x2 500GB Samsung NVMe 970 EVO RAID 0
    Storage #2x2 2TB Seagate Barracuda
    CPU CoolerEnermax LiqTech TR4 II RGB 360
    CaseAnidees Crystal XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse HyperX Pulsefire Surge
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad HyperX Fury S
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I think people are confusing their platforms here...

    @RoadKillerGR...have you disabled AFR?...can't remember what it's called in BIOS...Core Performance Boost..

    EDIT: whoops saw you already did that...hmmm...what happens with LLC on auto?

    You set any current cap in Digi+ or anything like that?
    Sorry for taking THIS long to reply. To be honest with you I kinda gave up on it because the system seems to be stable and I haven't experienced any weird behavior... With LLC set on auto the behavior is similar. I also did a test run on LLC -2 and the system crashed. I can confirm however that on LLC -1 the VCore stayed between 1.2-1.221 but I decided to keep it at LLC 1 because I felt like the system was more stable. I can also confirm that the CPU VCore behaves the same way even after I've updated the Mobo's BIOS to 1701. I Haven't set any cap in Digi+. I'm rather new to overclocking so I don't have too much experience. Would you consider this difference in VCore to be within margin of error? Or maybe just an inaccurate reading within HwInfo?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •