Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Gothmoth PC Specs
    Gothmoth PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix B350-F Gaming & Crosshair 6 & 7 Hero
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe M.2 SSD
    Power SupplyEVGA G2 750 & EVGA G2 850
    OS Windows 10 64Bit 1903

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    48

    Crosshair 7 Hero - BIOS 2501 Issue - System not powering down

    i have update the bios to 2501 because i want to run a 3700x soon.

    after the update the system does not shut down.

    i select shut down in windows. windows seems to shut down, system goes to a black screen.
    but the system is still powered on. the fans are turning. power led is on etc.

    have to manualy power down the pc via power button.
    on next boot i get "F1 please enter bios" crap....


    i did nothing beside updating to bios 2501.
    i have loaded optimized defaults etc.

    from 10 times ony 2 times the system will power down correctly.
    Last edited by Gothmoth; 07-22-2019 at 09:17 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    1

    Had the same issue and solved it by doing 2 things:
    1) enable S5 state in apm settings in the bios
    2) disable Windows 10 fast boot https://www.windowscentral.com/how-d...st-startup?amp

    Hope it helps!

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Gothmoth PC Specs
    Gothmoth PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix B350-F Gaming & Crosshair 6 & 7 Hero
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe M.2 SSD
    Power SupplyEVGA G2 750 & EVGA G2 850
    OS Windows 10 64Bit 1903

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    48

    thanks!

    i have changed S5 state from auto to enabled in the BIOS and that seems to have fixed the issue.
    don´t know if fast boot is enabled by default in windows or not. i have not checked my settings yet (i am in a bit of a hurry).

    i never changed the S5 or fastboot settings.

    so it is confimed that this is an BIOS issue?!

    btw: how did you figure this out?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hi,*

    I have also a C7H Wifi with Ryzen 3700.

    I encountered the shutdown problems too... The system won't shutdown..

    Then I've disabled fast boot no the pc shutdown (APM s5 hasn't help)

    But no my PC shutdown even if I press restart in Windows

    Does anyone has the problem too??*

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array MacClipper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Are you guys updated to Win 10 1903 and using the latest AMD chipset drivers too?

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Greetings Guys,

    I do not know if this is the right place to address an similar power (I think ?) issue I have with the latest BIOS but allow me a try:

    My system is:
    CPU: AMD Ryzen 2700X
    MOBO: Asus C7H Wi-Fi
    RAM: G. Skill Flare X DDR4 3200 MHz
    GPU: Sapphire Fury Nitro+
    PSU: Seasonic Prime Titanium 750 Watt
    OS: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit Version 1903

    Version of BIOS: 2203 ==> With this version of Bios, I randomly receive some flickering before the Windows start up normally. When the flickering starts, the only solution for me is to restart my pc and then I enter into Windows normally. Usually when that happens, after I enter the Windows, I read a "Radeon Wattman stopped responding problem". That happens about once every five turn on tries.

    Version of BIOS: 2501 ==> I thought I give it a try two days ago. Although I never saw any flickering issue, I had some black screen after a short freezing while I was gaming, something like a PSU failure thing. It never happened with any of the previous Bios versions. When that happened, I had to hard reset the system from the power button so I always received a kernel error 41 code in the Event Log. I have installed Version 2203 again to monitor the situation and check if it is a PSU failure indeed or a Bios Version error.

    Have you had any similar problems?

    Edit #01: Unfortunately the same issue happen to me with Version 2203 a while ago. I will try changing the drivers I am using for my graphic card to the last stable version and I will report back here if that is the case... Although the freezing makes me think that this is some kind of a psu failure...

    Edit #02: I think I found out when the problem occurs. It must not be the Drivers of the Bios but the drivers of my graphic card. I made a clean install of an older version and no problems occurred so far.

    Friendly
    Oldar
    Last edited by Oldar; 08-09-2019 at 03:39 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Gothmoth PC Specs
    Gothmoth PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix B350-F Gaming & Crosshair 6 & 7 Hero
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe M.2 SSD
    Power SupplyEVGA G2 750 & EVGA G2 850
    OS Windows 10 64Bit 1903

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    48

    so today i update my B350 strix to the latest bios (Version 5204) and now this system is also not powering down... asus is such a ****show.

    is someone from asus actually reading the forums and forwarding these issues to the BIOS team?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Gothmoth PC Specs
    Gothmoth PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix B350-F Gaming & Crosshair 6 & 7 Hero
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe M.2 SSD
    Power SupplyEVGA G2 750 & EVGA G2 850
    OS Windows 10 64Bit 1903

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by MacClipper View Post
    Are you guys updated to Win 10 1903 and using the latest AMD chipset drivers too?
    yes.

  9. #9
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Shibozu View Post
    Hi,*

    I have also a C7H Wifi with Ryzen 3700.

    I encountered the shutdown problems too... The system won't shutdown..

    Then I've disabled fast boot no the pc shutdown (APM s5 hasn't help)

    But no my PC shutdown even if I press restart in Windows

    Does anyone has the problem too??*
    I have crosshair hero 7 Wi-Fi, 2700X. 1201 bios I believe. I just started encountering this issue. Clean installed Windows multiple times. Still getting the issue. I've set S5, S4-S5. Nothing seems to work. Issue started about 5 days ago.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    93

    Quote Originally Posted by BROKEN81 View Post
    I have crosshair hero 7 Wi-Fi, 2700X. 1201 bios I believe. I just started encountering this issue. Clean installed Windows multiple times. Still getting the issue. I've set S5, S4-S5. Nothing seems to work. Issue started about 5 days ago.
    I would try and update tot he latest BIOS 3004. I have had no issues with it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •