Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-9700K (3.6 GHz / 4.9 GHz - Coffe Lake)
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Royal Elite Silver RGB - 64 Go - DDR4 4266 MHz - CL19
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 OC
    MonitorAOC 144 Hz / VA (Curve)
    Storage #11 TB M.2
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseBe quiet!
    Power Supply750w Be quiet!
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Mini (Optical Linear Red Switch)
    Mouse Razer Viper
    Headset Logitech G Pro X
    Mouse Pad Artisan Ninja FX Zero Xsoft XL
    OS Windows 11

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    PC unstable when RAM are overclocked

    Hello,

    I'm writting you today beacause I'm facing an issue and I don't know how to resolve it. When I try to overclock RAM using (XMP 1 or 2) my pc is unstable.
    First of all I tried with 4266 mhz (XMP 1 or 2). it's very unstable and I get a BSOD after less than 10 min.

    I tried with XMP 1 and 4133 mhz, it's more stable but if I do not get a BSOD, applications like CSGO, Discord, Spotify.... often crash.
    I have reinstalled Windows 11. While overclocking my ram I have left AI overclock do the job fot the CPU. I checked manual config with XMP 2 and everything was right.

    Here is my config :

    CPU : Intel Core i7-9700K (3.6 GHz / 4.9 GHz - Coffe Lake)
    MOTHERBOARD : Asus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
    RAM : G.Skill Trident Z Royal Elite Silver RGB - 64 Go - DDR4 4266 MHz - CL19
    GPU : ASUS ROG Strix NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 OC
    STORAGE : 1 TB M.2
    COOLER : Noctua NH-D15
    MONITOR 1 : AOC 144 Hz / VA (Curve)
    MONITOR 2 : AOC 60 Hz / IPS
    KEYBOARD : Razer Huntsman Mini (Optical Linear Red Switch)
    MOUSE : Razer Viper
    MOUSEPAD : Artisan Ninja FX Zero Xsoft XL
    HEADSET : Logitech G Pro X

    Do you have any idea ?
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,791

    Hi Sadlquea,

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    When running high capacity/high speed ram such as yours, it comes down to if the cpu's memory controller or motherboard can handle it.

    You have Samsung TridentZ Royal 64GB at 4266MHz, that's asking a lot in my opinion but it seems you're getting close and may have a chance to get there.

    You're likely going to have to raise some voltages, I see XMP sets Dram voltage to 1.50v

    I'd try

    Dram voltage - 1.55v
    CPU VCCIO voltage - Up to 1.30v
    CPU System Agent voltage - Up to 1.30v - 1.35v

    These would be the maximum voltages I'd try. If you can't get 4266MHz stable, you may have to settle for a lower speed or try 32GB with two sticks.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-9700K (3.6 GHz / 4.9 GHz - Coffe Lake)
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Royal Elite Silver RGB - 64 Go - DDR4 4266 MHz - CL19
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 OC
    MonitorAOC 144 Hz / VA (Curve)
    Storage #11 TB M.2
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseBe quiet!
    Power Supply750w Be quiet!
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Mini (Optical Linear Red Switch)
    Mouse Razer Viper
    Headset Logitech G Pro X
    Mouse Pad Artisan Ninja FX Zero Xsoft XL
    OS Windows 11

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hello Nate152,

    First of all, thanks for your help.

    I have noticed that CPU VCCIO voltage was set to 1.35v
    I changed it to 1.30v and it was more stable with 64gb of RAM at 4266mhz.
    However it crashed one time, so I have setted the frequency to 4133mhz and I'm still testing. No issue for the moment

    I don't know why on Asus website the motherboard spec tell it support 4266mhz and on other website only 4133mhz

    Asus : https://rog.asus.com/fr/motherboards...ing-model/spec
    LDLC : https://www.ldlc.com/fiche/PB00257248.html
    Materiel : https://www.materiel.net/produit/201809210092.html

    Regards,

  4. #4
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,791

    I trust what the ASUS website says with supporting 64GB at 4266MHz. But it doesn't mean it's guaranteed to run, it's up to the cpu's memory controller if it can handle it.

    The voltages I listed can help stabilize high speed/high capacity ram, but too much voltage could eventually burn out the cpu's memory controller.

    I would still consider 64GB at 4133MHz outstanding.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-9700K (3.6 GHz / 4.9 GHz - Coffe Lake)
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Royal Elite Silver RGB - 64 Go - DDR4 4266 MHz - CL19
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 OC
    MonitorAOC 144 Hz / VA (Curve)
    Storage #11 TB M.2
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseBe quiet!
    Power Supply750w Be quiet!
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Mini (Optical Linear Red Switch)
    Mouse Razer Viper
    Headset Logitech G Pro X
    Mouse Pad Artisan Ninja FX Zero Xsoft XL
    OS Windows 11

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I got one BSOD with 1.30V vccio and 4133 mhz in two days and it was when I was streaming and playing CSGO.

    I succeed to stabilised my computer by downgrade VCCIO voltage.

    Should I downgrade it again to avoid BSOD ?
    Maybe it will be more stable and I will not get BSOD again

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z - 3600MHz 15-15-15-30-1T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPCP&C Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard ROG Falchion NX
    Mouse ROG Spatha X
    Headset ROG Delta S Animate
    Mouse Pad Steelseries Prism XL + ROG Scabbard II
    OS Windows 11 Home
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    312
    Posts
    16,791

    You could always loosen the timings a little to see if this helps stabilize things, loosening the timings may let you go higher with the frequency.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    13

    There are a few potential reasons why your PC might be unstable when overclocking your RAM. One possibility is that your power supply isn't able to handle the extra load, and another possibility is that your motherboard may not be designed to support overclocking.

    Another thing to consider is whether you're using compatible memory modules. Some modules are specifically designed for overclocking, while others are not. If you're not using compatible modules, there's a good chance that you'll experience stability problems when trying to overclock your RAM.

    Finally, it's important to make sure that your system is adequately cooled when overclocking your RAM. If the system gets too hot, it can cause instability issues and even damage components.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    Sad1queâ„¢ PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-9700K (3.6 GHz / 4.9 GHz - Coffe Lake)
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Royal Elite Silver RGB - 64 Go - DDR4 4266 MHz - CL19
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090 OC
    MonitorAOC 144 Hz / VA (Curve)
    Storage #11 TB M.2
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseBe quiet!
    Power Supply750w Be quiet!
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Mini (Optical Linear Red Switch)
    Mouse Razer Viper
    Headset Logitech G Pro X
    Mouse Pad Artisan Ninja FX Zero Xsoft XL
    OS Windows 11

    Join Date
    Nov 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Hello,

    I ran some test with aida64 with intel turbo activated and RAM speed set at 4133 mhz, VCCIO and VCCA are set to Auto.

    After 10 min I got an hardware failure. Moreoverver when I play a game that is called GTFO and when I set FPS to unlimited, my PC instantly crash when loading the map.

    My motherboard is a Asus ROG STRIX Z390-E GAMING, and RAM are G.Skill Trident Z Royal Elite Silver RGB - 64 Go - DDR4 4266 MHz - CL19 so it should be ok with overclock

    Also I have 750 W PSU. I calculated on a website and it told me 650W was enough

    Do you have any Idea ?
    Last edited by Sad1queâ„¢; 12-24-2021 at 10:14 AM.

  9. #9
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    190
    Posts
    2,421

    64gb over 4K is going to be tough. Not all Coffeelake CPUs will do this.

    Lower frequency to 4000Mhz from 4133 and see if things improve.

    Here is a previous venture on the Maximus Formula (Z390) for 4x8GB 4266 GSKILL. This alone required some concessions to tertiary timings to find stability.

    VCCSA is CPU specific and too much voltage can hurt stability just as much as too little, so tune accordingly.


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4266_Stable_SA.png 
Views:	0 
Size:	558.8 KB 
ID:	91490

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array rjbarker PC Specs
    rjbarker PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Z690 Apex BIOS 0811
    Processor12900K w EK Velocity 2
    Memory (part number)32 GB DDR5 - Dominator 5600 / Cl36
    Graphics Card #1Evga RTX 3080Ti FTW3 Ultra w EK Vector
    Sound CardOnboard USB Realtek
    MonitorDell Alienware 34" Ultra wide 120Hz Gsync
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 512G M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro 1 TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerEK Velocity 2
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1600i
    OS W11 HP x64 - 21H1
    Accessory #1 480 * 360 * 240 XSPC Radiators (15 Fans) w 4 Channel 200W Fan Controller
    Accessory #2 XSPC Photon Rez / Vario Pump combo
    Accessory #3 Fesser Flex Tubing - Bits Power Fittings & EK SLi Terminal
    rjbarker's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    49
    Posts
    375

    64G @ 4133 Mhz is a stretch indeed.....its all about your CPU Memroy Controller as others stated.


    If you must run 64G RAM (vs 32G), then knock the speed down until its stable, as in try 3800 - 4000 Mhz (leaving Timings alone).

    Or as was pointed out above, try 4133 but try loosening Timings.

    I felt pretty fortunate having 4000 Mhz DDR4 32G RAM run stable on simple XMP, but I did bump the VCCIO and SA up a bit regardless and it was also with a good kit of Royals and a Maximus Extreme Board.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •