Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Les_Garten PC Specs
    Les_Garten PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware OLD
    Motherboardz690 Maximus Hero
    ProcessorIntel i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)DDR5 64GB SK Hynix 4800mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX GeForce 3080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce Titan X (Old)
    MonitorAsus PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB OS
    Storage #2WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB DOCS
    CPU CoolerNoctua DH14 Chromax
    CaseAntec 1200
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A2+
    OS Winders
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    HDMI Display Slow to activate after Boot Hero z690 PG32UQ

    HDMI Display Slow to activate after Boot Hero z690

    I have a strange problem. I cannot see the post on my monitor. The monitor is an Asus PG32UQ. The MB is a Hero z690. GPU EVGA TitanX Maxwell.

    I have a 30' HDMI cable going to HDMI 2 on the monitor. When I boot the MB, the monitor get's probed a few times but never syncs. USB to my KB flashes a few times, The first thing I see is the windows logon screen. Nothing before that.

    If I take the PC into my shop and hook up to an older smaller Asus monitor, it works perfectly. That's what I used to install. Works on both IGPU and the Titanx

    If I hook back up to the PG32UQ and hook up a TV on Display Port with a HDMI to DP adapter, the DP TV will show the post and I can get into the BIOS as normal. The Asus PG32UQ though still works the same, during the boot, I'll see the post on the TV and nothing on the PG32UQ till thje login screen comes up. Before that though, I see the Blue Window and the swirling dots on the DP TV. If that isn't hooked up, I never see it on the HDMI to the ASUS PG32UQ.

    Where to look for this problem?

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    397
    Posts
    8,401

    I saw your post in the other thread so definitely keep that as the primary discussion but I wanted to ask if you have tried anything shorter than 30'? It very well be that you have the same issue as darkcg and the cable doesn't matter but the first thing ASUS is going to ask is if you've tried a different cable.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Les_Garten PC Specs
    Les_Garten PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware OLD
    Motherboardz690 Maximus Hero
    ProcessorIntel i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)DDR5 64GB SK Hynix 4800mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX GeForce 3080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce Titan X (Old)
    MonitorAsus PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB OS
    Storage #2WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB DOCS
    CPU CoolerNoctua DH14 Chromax
    CaseAntec 1200
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A2+
    OS Winders
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    I saw your post in the other thread so definitely keep that as the primary discussion but I wanted to ask if you have tried anything shorter than 30'? It very well be that you have the same issue as darkcg and the cable doesn't matter but the first thing ASUS is going to ask is if you've tried a different cable.
    Thanx for the reply.

    It works better on a shorter cable, but not 100%. The cable I am using is passive. I have an active Fiber Optic coming in tomorrow.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array Ecmslee PC Specs
    Ecmslee PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5900X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z Neo 32 GB F4-3600C16Q-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce RTX 3080 10 GB FTW3 ULTRA GAMING
    Sound CardJDS Labs Element II
    MonitorPG348Q, PG32UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Western Digital Black 6 TB 3.5"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i RGB PLATINUM
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplySeaSonic PRIME TX 1000W

    Join Date
    May 2021
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    37

    Have you installed and ran the EVGA Precision X1 software on your computer? There might be an update for your card that addresses this issue:
    https://forums.evga.com/NVIDIA-GPU-F...-m3486301.aspx

    NVIDIA also has an update for 3060 and 3080Ti cards that are experiencing blank screens:
    https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answ...00000076816300

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Les_Garten PC Specs
    Les_Garten PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware OLD
    Motherboardz690 Maximus Hero
    ProcessorIntel i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)DDR5 64GB SK Hynix 4800mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX GeForce 3080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce Titan X (Old)
    MonitorAsus PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB OS
    Storage #2WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB DOCS
    CPU CoolerNoctua DH14 Chromax
    CaseAntec 1200
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A2+
    OS Winders
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by Ecmslee View Post
    Have you installed and ran the EVGA Precision X1 software on your computer? There might be an update for your card that addresses this issue:
    https://forums.evga.com/NVIDIA-GPU-F...-m3486301.aspx

    NVIDIA also has an update for 3060 and 3080Ti cards that are experiencing blank screens:
    https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answ...00000076816300
    I did. Didn't make a difference.

    Here's the combo that doesn't work using HDMI to "see" the BIOS

    HDMI Connection-- Z690 Hero -- Win11 -- Asus PG32UQ

    I can get into the BIOS on an Older windows 10 z97 with the Titan X. That same Titan X and the Z690 cannot access the BIOS screen at all on the Z690 and Win11.

    The Z690 and EVGA 3080 Ti will not access the BIOS screen on the Z690 and Win11.

    I do not think Win 11 has anything to do with this because we are talking about the BIOS screen.

    I don't know what it is, but my Z690 hero board has weird problems with the PG32UQ monitor in HDMI

    I can connect to any other HDMI monitor, no problems. I can connect to the PG32UQ through DP, no problems. It's like there is a "Flutter" when the board tries to initialize the monitor. There is a lot of monitor probes, like 2 or 3 before the Win login screen comes up. I never see the windows Logo with the circling dots. It just comes up to the Login screen magically. I think this is a monitor issue.

    On the other hand this MOBO has a ton of bizarre issues as well, I've never seen in a MOBO. So it's really almost like a MOBO-Monitor bad match scenario.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array darkcg PC Specs
    darkcg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus Z690 Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 12900K
    Memory (part number)64GB (4x16GB) Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR5 5.200Mhz (SKU: CMT32GX5M2B5200C38))
    Graphics Card #1Zotac Geforce GTX 1070 Amp! Edition
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG32UQ
    Storage #1Samsung 980 PRO NVMe M.2 SSD 2TB PCI Express Gen.4
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO mSATA SSD 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair iCUE H150i Elite LCD
    CaseCorsair Crystal 570X RGB
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Asus ROG Falchion
    Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
    Headset/Speakers Sennheiser RS-170
    OS Microsoft Windows 11 Pro, Rocky Linux 8.5

    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    35

    Quote Originally Posted by Les_Garten View Post
    I did. Didn't make a difference.

    Here's the combo that doesn't work using HDMI to "see" the BIOS

    HDMI Connection-- Z690 Hero -- Win11 -- Asus PG32UQ

    I can get into the BIOS on an Older windows 10 z97 with the Titan X. That same Titan X and the Z690 cannot access the BIOS screen at all on the Z690 and Win11.

    The Z690 and EVGA 3080 Ti will not access the BIOS screen on the Z690 and Win11.

    I do not think Win 11 has anything to do with this because we are talking about the BIOS screen.

    I don't know what it is, but my Z690 hero board has weird problems with the PG32UQ monitor in HDMI

    I can connect to any other HDMI monitor, no problems. I can connect to the PG32UQ through DP, no problems. It's like there is a "Flutter" when the board tries to initialize the monitor. There is a lot of monitor probes, like 2 or 3 before the Win login screen comes up. I never see the windows Logo with the circling dots. It just comes up to the Login screen magically. I think this is a monitor issue.

    On the other hand this MOBO has a ton of bizarre issues as well, I've never seen in a MOBO. So it's really almost like a MOBO-Monitor bad match scenario.
    Have you posted this strange pair (Z690 Hero + PG32UQ) on the motherboard forum? Any news about these issues? I do not see any action from Asus nor official statements about this.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Les_Garten PC Specs
    Les_Garten PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Alienware OLD
    Motherboardz690 Maximus Hero
    ProcessorIntel i9-12900K
    Memory (part number)DDR5 64GB SK Hynix 4800mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX GeForce 3080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Graphics Card #2EVGA Geforce Titan X (Old)
    MonitorAsus PG32UQ
    Storage #1WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB OS
    Storage #2WD Black M.2 850SN 2TB DOCS
    CPU CoolerNoctua DH14 Chromax
    CaseAntec 1200
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 P2
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A2+
    OS Winders
    Network RouterpfSense

    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by darkcg View Post
    Have you posted this strange pair (Z690 Hero + PG32UQ) on the motherboard forum? Any news about these issues? I do not see any action from Asus nor official statements about this.
    The problem is actually worse than I listed above. If your are trying to get into the BIOS hitting DEL while trying to boot it will keep not going in, and will eventually cause a 98 error that can only be cleared by resetting defaults to the BIOS PLUS leaving the battery out for 24 hours.

    I posted in both Forums but that did not impress the admins, and to be honest, the support here is not much...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •