cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It's Offical No Bios update to enable Intel AES-IN for G74Sx, though CPUs support it

Clarkis117
Level 7
I have been calling ASUS Customer Service for over two months now, trying to get to the bottom of why certain Intel CPU features are not being supported by ASUS. The Advanced Encryption System (AES) CPU Instruction Set for example, it speeds up the process of encrypting information that uses AES, which is the defacto industry standard for secure encryption and used by everything from Wifi to HTTPs to Skype Calls and etc. The AES-IN instruction set has been present on Intel CPUs since Intel's Nehalem (microarchitecture) back in 2008. Though why ASUS isn't going to release a BIOS update to enable a feature that the laptops should have been shipped with is beyond me and partly why I am pissed. Though many I am mad because it took ASUS over two months to even give me an Answer, that was remotely intelligent on the matter. Response by ASUS below...

ASUS CASEID=RWTM20121010415543512-812

Dear valued customer,

Thank you for contacting ASUS Customer Service.

The BIOS for the G74Sx isn't going to be updated to support AES-IN.

If your ASUS product needs to be repaired or exchanged, please contact with your vendor first. If this is not possible, you will need to contact our RMA department for assistance.
1) If you have Internet access, you can visit this website:
http://vip.asus.com/eservice/usa_rmaserv.aspx
Complete the RMA Submittal Form and click on the submit button, and request an RMA
Please include your name, mailing address, telephone number, and the serial number of your product.
2) If you are in the USA or Canada, call our RMA department at 1-888-678-3688. Please have the serial number of your ASUS product handy when you call.
Sorry for any inconvenience this causes to you.

If you have another problem, please get contact with us ASAP.

Best Regards,
Carol
ASUS Customer Service