cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

upgrading to an ssd

kaelrysh
Level 7
hi guys,

it looks like my wife might be treating me to an ssd for christmas. woot!! thought it was too much of a not needed gimmick until i just bought my wife a zenbook with a ssd. now i stand corrected and feel the need for the speed.

but i am wondering a few things, as i am still a bit of a noob. i looked on the forums etc but couldnt find what i needed for the sw, just the older jw models. so my questions.

1. whether or not my g73sw is able to run a ssd or does it need a bios update? currently using whatever came with it.
particularly i want a sata 3 6gbs drive. but will the g73 run sata 3 or just 2?

2. this will mean a clean/fresh windows install. but where to get the g73 drivers from? whilst i notice this site has various drivers for the g53 [not the 73] they all appear quite old. do i get those, or do the drivers from the g74 work? or even the g75?

there was a third question, but i cant remember it now.
appreciate the help.

current system. g73sw, i72630qm, 2x 500gb hdds, 16gb ram. gtx460m. 3D panel.
4 REPLIES 4

Pitcher1
Level 9
1. please update BIOS form ASUS support site with 205 version, i think SATA 3 or 2 are able to use.
2. you can press F9 to restort your OS or install your OS image and downliad all driver and utility for Win7 on ASUS support site.

A_Guy
Level 9
You don't have to reinstall Windows. I know that folks say it's best practice, but it's a pain.

Here is how I installed my SSD without reinstalling Windows.

Part 1.
1. Partition the HD. Label the first one OS and the second one DATA
2. Create a new user with admin rights. Logging in with that user MOVE (not COPY) large chunks of the other user IDs data from C:\Users to D:\Users
3. You may have to resize the partitions as the contents of C: decreases and 😧 starts to fill up.
4. Reboot in safe mode. Delete C:\Users and create a junction from C:\Users to D:\Users