cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help Me Understand How to Upgrade to 2 HDD/SSD's for Asus G75VX

josuna123
Level 7
Sorry if I'm a super noob for asking this question, however I did check the sticky threads around several sections of the forums but I still don't understand this concept. I have only upgraded RAM before so I'm clueless.

The G75VX comes with 2 HDD slots and it already has a 1TB HDD with windows 8. My question is how I should go about adding a SSD to the second slot? Should I just throw it in there next to the HDD and boot up of do I have to take out the HDD first and boot up with only the SSD? If such I'd the case, do I need to install a new copy of Windows 8 to my SSD or can I use the same Windows 8 from my HDD?

Once installed, do I have to setup my SSD as the boot drive and how do I go about managing files between them? Is it as simple as just choosing which HDD/SSD as the save location

I'll throw this in while I'm at it. I bought new RAM and its different brand from the stock, should I replace the sticks or add them all together?

Thanks in advance, sorry if these questions are answered elsewhere but I did check the stickies and I formed some ideas but I want to be 100% sure I'm right.

***EDIT***
I found this on another forum step-by-step what I was looking for and probably what you guys are looking for too. Here you go:

Actually, you don't need to backup all your Steam games.
This is the way I'd do it (when I have the cash for a new ssd):

1) Download all the drivers you might need to install windows and save them to a USB stick, also, now is the time to remember what your Steam password is, and maybe give your computer a little clean out.

2) Install the SDD into your case, and plug it into any available SATA port

3) (If you need to install a firmware update on the drive, boot of your HDD and install the firmware now, before you've got anything on it to potentially lose)

4) Temporarily unplug your HDD