cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G75VW no splash screen / no boot

Neondwarf
Level 7
Hey guys,
Hoping to get some help. Today I was trying to reinstall Windows 8, via USB. To the best of my knowledge everything went smooth. I loaded the bios to lock 2nd HDD and the Disk drive, and when I restarted I ran into a big problem. The machine no longer boots. When I press the power key, the keyboard lights up for a moment and then goes dark. The screen does nothing. The led lights along the front all stay unlit (except the first, which I believe is just power on indicator). I have tried as many tricks as I can find including:

- unplug power and remove battery. Hold power button for 60 seconds. Replace power supply and battery then restart.
- holding ESC or f2 does nor get to the bios menu
- external monitor also starts dark

I'm not sure what to try next. Sadly, as a student, I fear the repair cost would be quite high as the machine is no longer in warranty. I need to try to make this one work, repair or replacement is just not in the cards right now. Hopefully someone has a suggestion that can help.

Thanks in advance.
Neon

AsusG75-VW
8 GB Ram
120 SSD Primary
500 HDD Secondary
500 HDD Secondary (second secondary, thirdary?)
4 REPLIES 4

Chabrina
Level 7
Yep i know what you are talking about i have the same problem power on only the keyboard lights come on an a totally black screen . After some research it is a known problem with the g75vw laptops as far as i know the only way is to send the unit in for repairs and after reading some review s asus after sales service sucks . If you come to a solution please email me pcf.ram.age@gmail.com

Goodluck and hope to hear from you soon

Chabrina
Level 7