cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FPS drop when unplugged...-G750JX

markgoimon
Level 7
Im a newbie to tweaking softwares...please excuse my ignorance lol...

anyway...Is it normal that my fps drops drastically whenever I unplug my laptop? btw I currently work and live in myanmar where power outage happens randomly for some reason and I mean 2-5x a day... for about 10-30s having that said is it better to have this current set up (assuming it is normal)... or will it be safe even if i change it?

what I want btw is to have the same performance FPS wise in games despite having the laptop plugged or unplugged...

I have power4gear installed btw...
10 REPLIES 10

kkn
Level 14
its becouse its turning to battery back up and to prevent drain it fast.
its the power saving / performance on it.

markgoimon
Level 7
I know that much but given my situation will the battery life be affected if I say...switch it to max performance despite being unplugged...

and how do I do that if its possible...? 😄

thx for the reply

theclaw37
Level 9
No, it's not because of some power saving feature. The battery just can't provide the same amount of current at the 19.5V Voltage rating. Your power brick probably outputs 9.23A which totals to about 180W. This is the power needed to drive all your components at maximum performance, but your battery can only give out much less without damaging itself (i don't know how much lower the g750 battery goes but it does), so the components will be underpowered and thus, you get less fps in games.

so its not something I can change?

markgoimon wrote:
so its not something I can change?

markgoimon, not really, not FPS. You can uninstall Power4Gear, and force a Windows Power Plan on battery like High Performance - or Balanced, and that will keep the CPU speed up.