Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Is this just another RMA New Build?

    Hi all,
    I hoped we wouldn't meat like this Here I am though, and there you are, I hope better than me right at this moment at least with your PC?
    I will try to do this with the most pertinent info, as to weather or not I should RMA this Motherboard or maybe CPU or not? Always best to try and get the allusive second option. And just make sure that I have not missed any possible solution to not have to go through the RMA tear down and wait game.

    OK the Meat and Potatoes of my problem is, (this is a New Build in case you missed in subject line,) Booting from cold boot or warm, the system BIOS I assume, (<--Don't go there , the system stops at the enter BIOS Delete, F2, and just hangs there, no response. No input is excepted. My response is to press the ole reset and cross my fingers, sometimes it boots through to OS and sometimes it repeats. I also get the updating iRoG, and it says completed updating and starts but sometimes it go's into a loop and repeats up to 5 times so far, and then catches and boots to OS. I really love the features of this motherboard and hate to give it up for something or someone else's brand.

    Benched and had no issues arise at time, although the PCB box was a little high to my liking, I don't know why I don't by a good anti- static mat? What else have I done besides press a button? Rechecked every connection inside and out I hope? 4pin, 8pin, 24pin, Mollie, even though I have but one video card, checked drives and cables, ran with just OS drive checked without ram (Q-Code 55), one stick in all slots, ran mem tests, flashed BIOS to 2101, I know DRAM is in A1,B1 at the moment but really I noticed difference in performance with them in A2,B2 I normally run in the A1,B1 on most builds. Status Code, oops Q-Code shows (AA with OS running) and (00 when the BIOS stops during cold or warm boots.)

    Ah yes and change video card to a lighter one to check if maybe there was an issue there, that card was an Asus HD7770 and same situation. Tried another PSU of the 850W variety. Did I miss anything, Fans, CPU fan Check, works H100i on CPU header, tried different DRAM DDR3 1600 PC3-12800 4Gx2.

    Oh and before SPECS, System won't overclock at all and won't do even one full pass of a Stress test, PRIME95.

    FX-9590, Crosshair V Formula-Z, RGS 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000), 840 Pro Series 128GB SSD, Seagate Hybrid Drive SSHD 2TB, ASUS R9290X 4G5D, Lite-On DVD, LEPA G Series 1600 PSU, all wrap in a Corsair Vengeance Series C70 Gunmetal Black Steel ATX. Windows 8.1

    I did have one instance of voltage drop on CPU warning and no instability at the time but nothing since.
    Well if I missed something let me know please, be genital I don't get out much since I have ham head in a PC case most days and nights. Make the Pain go away! It puts the lotion on it's skin!
    Thanks for any help and now for a few pics. Click image for larger version. 

Name:	140630152602.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	153.0 KB 
ID:	38334Click image for larger version. 

Name:	140630152705.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	125.1 KB 
ID:	38335Click image for larger version. 

Name:	140630153415.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	132.2 KB 
ID:	38336Click image for larger version. 

Name:	140630153519.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	158.3 KB 
ID:	38337

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array chris635 PC Specs
    chris635 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorFX 8350 (at 5016 GHZ)
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 16 gb (at 2432 mhz)
    Graphics Card #1Asus Direct CUII 660ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus Direct CUII 660ti
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorAsus VG278HE 27"
    Storage #1OCZ Vertex 4 120 gb (OS Drive)
    Storage #21Tb Seagate Baracuda's X5, 1 2Tb Baracuda
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 Watt Supernova
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
    Mouse Razer Death Adder
    Headset Sennheiser HD 598, Razer Carcharias
    OS Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
    chris635's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    What do the q-leds on the motherboard say? The small led's for boot device,vga,dram and cpu. Also make sure the fast boot switch on the motherboard is set to the off position. I have had a problem with this before.
    Chris...Have a nice day.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Yeah thanks I knew I forgot something, it stops on the boot device LED I put another SSD in it's place and got the same thing but still would go into OS after two attempt's. Also with a WD 160GB Raptor. Also turn off all the AI suite II software, and also tried as you as you said had turned off fast boot, etc, I wish it was something as simple as the SSD or a BIOS setting. Thanks for your input.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array chris635 PC Specs
    chris635 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorFX 8350 (at 5016 GHZ)
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 16 gb (at 2432 mhz)
    Graphics Card #1Asus Direct CUII 660ti
    Graphics Card #2Asus Direct CUII 660ti
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Essence STX
    MonitorAsus VG278HE 27"
    Storage #1OCZ Vertex 4 120 gb (OS Drive)
    Storage #21Tb Seagate Baracuda's X5, 1 2Tb Baracuda
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    CaseCorsair 800D
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000 Watt Supernova
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
    Mouse Razer Death Adder
    Headset Sennheiser HD 598, Razer Carcharias
    OS Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
    chris635's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    180

    which sata port are using? Bottom two sata ports are asmedia. Are you using 1 of the top 6 ports?
    Chris...Have a nice day.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Quote Originally Posted by EdTheHead View Post
    Yeah thanks I knew I forgot something, it stops on the boot device LED I put another SSD in it's place and got the same thing but still would go into OS after two attempt's. Also with a WD 160GB Raptor. Also turn off all the AI suite II software, and also tried as you as you said had turned off fast boot, etc, I wish it was something as simple as the SSD or a BIOS setting. Thanks for your input.
    What chris635 is asking for is the Qcode led readout, This will help determine your problem should the system halt during post.

    Looking at your settings I think it may be the Bios.

    The FX-9590 has a tdp draw of 220 and will require changes in bios to cpu volts, to achieve stability.

    Other Bios changes come to mind. First try D.O.C.P to auto optimise. And save a profile in Bios. Then boot to windows and test for stability.
    When stable try CPU Ratio to 25x instead of AUTO. You will need patience to achieve a 24/7 stable OC.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array meankeys PC Specs
    meankeys PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Apex / Maximus IX APEX / Rampage V EX V10
    Processor7920X / 5960X / 6950X / 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z - 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #2Zotac 1080 Ti
    Graphics Card #3ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 OC
    Monitor3 X ASUS V248Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCool Express SS
    Power SupplyThermaltake Tough Power Grand 1200W
    Keyboard Cyberus
    Headset Tittan
    OS Win 7 64bit
    Network RouterASUS
    meankeys's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    104
    Posts
    1,553

    Welcome to the ROG Ed

    What is you temp? Did you check that the H100 is working properly. Also you might want to re-seat that cpu and check your tim.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Am using SATA6G_1 840 w/Pro Series 128GB SSD

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    38c idle forget under load like 41-42c?

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    What chris635 is asking for is the Qcode led readout, This will help determine your problem should the system halt during post.

    Looking at your settings I think it may be the Bios.

    The FX-9590 has a tdp draw of 220 and will require changes in bios to cpu volts, to achieve stability.

    Other Bios changes come to mind. First try D.O.C.P to auto optimise. And save a profile in Bios. Then boot to windows and test for stability.
    When stable try CPU Ratio to 25x instead of AUTO. You will need patience to achieve a 24/7 stable OC.

    Looking at your settings I think it may be the Bios.

    Yeah this made no difference booting will check the stress test for the heck of it, so I am at the end of my settings attempts I think time to get my RMA and try again.
    Last edited by EdTheHead; 07-01-2014 at 06:26 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    OK on 2 pass with stress test that's good, don't think I will finish as this will not fix the boot issue and I don't have the time to spend 4 hrs doing that when my main issue is BIOS stability was not my problem, this system rocks when gaming. I have like 10 days left to RMA this to reseller before I have to RMA it to ASUS.Unless someone has the settings I need for this setup to keep the system error stop? First system I have built that did not boot normally on default or auto settings.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •