cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

G550J Combo Audio Jack Problems

Jake_G
Level 7
Hi,
I am having an issue with my new laptop's combination audio (mic in/audio out) plug.

I cannot use regular headphones (3.5mm) green plug in my laptop, the plug goes in easily (almost too easily) and doesn't receive audio or appear in Windows as a detected audio device. If I put the cable in half way (or just a bit more) the device will appear and I will be given the choice to select 'Headset (audio and mic)' or 'audio out', but then of course the audio only comes through one speaker.

The only time I have been able to use a headset on my laptop is when I bought a splitter off of eBay that allowed me to plug mic in and audio out into two separate plugs and then the third plug goes straight into the laptop's combo jack, and that worked fine until the splitter broke.

So what is it? This is my first time using a device with a combo jack and I don't understand the problem I am having. I have tried multiple headphones and headsets and have had the same problem each time. Multiple Google searches for my problem returned 0 helpful results.
Please help.

The laptop is brand new and is an Asus G550JK-CN156H

Thanks in advance.
5 REPLIES 5

kkn
Level 14
notebook section

jbazooka
Level 7
I've had the same issues. Thinking about taking it to an Asus service repair center.

Falco57
Level 7
I took one back because of the same issues. At first, both it, and the replacement worked. Then, suddenly they both stopped allowing me to put the headphones in properly.

Sorry for posting not in the notebook section. I do not know how to move it.
Anyway,

Here's the story. Quite an ordeal, actually.