cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Migrate Windows form HDD to an SSD

selur100
Level 7
Hi

I bought a Samsung 850 EVO SSD 250 GB with the intention of speeding up my ASUS G750 JW. The laptop came originally with a 750 GB HDD dividided into an C: OS partition and a 😧 DATA partition.

I've never done this before, but here's what i did: I installed the SSD and formatted it to a NTFS drive. I then used the EaseUS program to clone the C: OS partition to the SSD.

Then my problem encountered: I wanted to boot up windows with my new SSD drive, and then afterwards format the old C: OS, following this guide http://lifehacker.com/5837543/how-to-migrate-to-a-solid-state-drive-without-reinstalling-windows .

Aften cloning and restarting, I pressed Esc, but it seems like Windows boot manager only appears on my old HDD.

How can i boot (if possible) from my SSD?

Any help / other suggestions much appreciated
4 REPLIES 4

selur100
Level 7
"After step three, you probably won't be able to boot into Windows on your SSD. This is because the Windows bootloader resides on the MBR, not the partition itself. After you've migrated to the SSD, you'll need to insert your Windows installation CD (or your Windows 8 recovery disk) and choose "Repair Your Computer" from the main screen. Choose Startup Repair from the menu, and your computer should reboot a few times and repair the bootloader." from the link. will creating a windows 8 recovery disk on an usb anyway help?

Last question, will backin up the 😧 DATA Drive, cloning the ENTIRE HDD to the SSD, solve this problem? , ref. the argument of Windows bootloader residing on the MBR.

billyray520
Level 10
Info still needed:

1. You had Windows 8 on the hdd?
2. How was it formatted: GPT or NTFS?
Asus Maximus V Extreme BIOS 1903, see specs above avatar.

Asus G73 jh A1 laptop, BIOS 213, vBIOS OD2, 8 GB Ram, 240 GB Intel SSD, 180 GB Intel SSD. Win 7 Pro. Purchased new from PowerNotebooks.com in May 2010.