Results 1 to 3 of 3

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    A88X support NVME

    I just purchased an Asus ROG Crossblade Ranger FM2+ AMD A88X (Bolton D4) Motherboard, and I want to use the new Samsung M.2 960 EVO.
    Since my motherboard doesn't have an M.2 slot, I'm wanting to buy the Asus Hyper M.2 x4 mini PCI Express 3 adapter to get the M.2 to work.

    I just found out A88X doesn't support NVME, so I sent an email to Asus asking if there is a way I can get the M.2 to work on this board.
    At first they replied back saying no, then they replied back saying to change these settings in bios and it should work:

    1. BIOS->Boot->CSM (Compatibility Support Module)->Disable
    2. BIOS->Boot->Secure Boot->OS Type->Other OS
    3. BIOS->Boot->Secure Boot->Key Management->Clear Secure Key
    4. F10 (save and exit)
    5. Install OS only with bootable UEFI media.
    6. Re-enter BIOS after first restart during the OS installation, it will be shown within the BIOS
    7. BIOS->Boot->Secure Boot->OS Type->Windows UEFI mode
    8. BIOS->Boot->Secure Boot->Key Management->Install Default Secure Boot Keys
    9. F10 (save and exit)
    10 It should resume the installation, if not, completely power down the system and turn it back on after 10 seconds.
    11. Note: do not connect any external devices to the computer during the installation and best if only the M.2 SSD is installed won the system.


    So does that mean I can get M.2 to work with this board, or do you think the person that sent this doesn't know what their talking about?
    Also if I do all this, would all my 3.5 HDD's still work normally?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Here's an interesting thread about A88X + NVMe. Anything is possible with modded firmware (including rootkits and other hazards, lol). If ASUS does not explicitly provide an NVMe driver component in their BIOS then I don't think there's any way to gain the advantages of an NVMe interface on the motherboard - you could use an NVMe adapter card (in a PCIe slot) to gain NVMe compatibility, but it wouldn't provide true NVMe performance.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Asus Crossblade Ranger -newest BIOS (from 2017)- nvme Force 500 with PCIe X4 Adapter

    Is it possible to run a Corsair Force 500 nvme SSD combined with an x4 Adapter, or do i get trubble with the actual new BIOS, if ill get trubble
    is there a next BIOS announced to bring NVME cards running ? Id like to have a SSD running 3200 MB read / PCI e gen 3.0 i have with my
    AMD FM2+ A10-7870 ... i like to have it like ive done with my FX board Asus 970 M Pro 3 - nvme works fine - oe i think about to find an
    adapter card with a nvme controller and own bios , so ive to install i driver when i install windows 10 - like ive done in former times with Adaptec
    U320 SCSI controller ... that controller had an own BIOS and theU320 drive was bootable to use it as a C: drive
    The ASUS X16 (4x nvme RAID just works with Intel Boards) :-(
    Best regards from germany
    Last edited by flk1973; 12-19-2017 at 10:02 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •